We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from the historic centre but excelent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
Ranked #33 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Far from the historic centre but excelent!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

It's close to the train station (ferrovia), bus station and when coming from the airport by bus or taxi it's very close too. The "vaporetto" station in near as well. The hotel is amazing, the breakfast is complete and tasty. The service is useful and avaliable at any time of the day! They speak english and give a map of the town but i recomend using google maps. I was really afraid that it would be old and dusty but it wasn't at all, although it's old decorated as you can see in the picture it is new. Completely loved it!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank anatprates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,264
    665
    86
    20
    12
See reviews for
468
1,150
45
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I booked this hotel to spend an extra day in Venice after finishing a cruise. I wanted something close to the cruise terminal and the bus stop so I could get to the airport easily after my stay.

The Hotel Olimpia was perfectly located for transport into and out of the city. While not close to the main attractions, in Venice it's not a long walk away to St. Mark's or the Rialto bridge, and part of the fun is getting lost anyway.

Exit from the cruise terminal people mover and bus parking lot is ~ 100 yards away. Lots of small bars/restaurants nearby as you walk through Dorsoduro

The staff was very friendly and helpful. I arrived at the hotel about 9:30 AM expecting to leave my bags in storage and not be able to get in my room until the afternoon. My room was ready and they took me straight to it, assisting with my baggage.

I've stayed in Venice several times and this was the largest room I've had at 4 hotels, at least one of which is well known and considerably more expensive. While not big, it was comfortable for Venice. It was very clean, with functioning A/C (it was in the mid 80s F the day I was there) and a view of their nice garden.

The only minor criticism I had is the shower/tub in the bathroom didn't have a shower curtain. I'm kind of an ox, so the bathroom got a good soaking. I'd add a shower curtain.

Breakfast the following day was good with eggs, bacon and sausage as well as the usual cold breakfast items.

Overall, the hotel exceeded my expectations with a comfortable, clean room, great location and warm, friendly staff. I'd happily recommend staying here again.

Room Tip: My room had a nice view of the beautiful garden of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solotraveler18938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Superb convenient location as our ATVO airport bus from Treviso Airport (one two way ticket @€18 ) arrived at Piazzale Roma, which was just few minutes walk from the hotel and it was visible from the square. However, on our first day of arrival, we walked the wrong direction towards ACTV ticket station, crossing the long bridge to the train station. How truly it is one can easily get lost even with a map on hand. Furthermore, the hotel booking.com print out showed the address as "santa croce 395". Santa Croce covers large area. The street name is actually "Fondamenta Rio Delle Burchielle” if you are referring to a map.
Check out this website for direction ( I discovered this after I am home) .http://europeforvisitors.com/venice/directions/best-western-olimpia.htm.

We stayed at "Iris room" which was at the annex, the apartment next to the hotel. It was secured with locked gate, but a bit of walking up/down the stairs was required as no lift available. The facade of the hotel looked old if compared to the Hotel Acleccino next to it. However, the room was very well upkeep. I am very particular about cleanliness, the housekeeper did an excellent job keeping every area clean. The bed and duvet were comfortable. The only negative comment I have would be the slow draining shower trap, which I guess it was blocked.

Breakfast was included and had good selection. There was a lovely garden where you can relax in and have breakfast. The hotel comes with free wifi too.

The neighbourhood was quiet and with many restaurants/cafes nearby the hotel. You may try Restaurant Ribot, Osteria Ae Cravate for a good & yet reasonable priced dinner in Venice, Cafe Majer for local pastries.

From Piazzale Roma vaporetto stop to St. Mark’s square took about 40 minutes. Alternatively, you can take a slow stroll of probably an hour. Shops line along the way to Rialto bridge-San Marco, so you will never get bored.

Recommend this hotel for anyone want to stay near Piazzale Roma.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HEinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

A great hotel in a great location. Centrally located so that you can explore every part of Venice at you leisure. It's also located very, very close to cruise terminal. My wife and I stayed in a beautiful room overlooking a picturesque garden. We opted for "superior" for more room and believe it was well worth the little extra we paid. The free breakfast was great and the breakfast room spacious and attractive. The beautiful garden I mentioned is right outside. There are also many great restaurants in walking distance and a fantastic bakery just minutes away. The staff was outstanding - a special thanks to Islam - so helpful and pleasant in the breakfast room. Will definitely stay there again

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Malachy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had been to Venice before and were looking for a hotel near the bus and train station, this price was good value but when we arrived we were pleased we had booked it all the staff spoke English and nothing was too much trouble they looked after our luggage as we were early, gave us maps and asked if we needed to know anything.
The hotel was clean, cool and the room was very good not large but what do you expect in Venice,everything worked in the room and breakfast was fantastic we sat in the large garden to eat it a beautiful place.
Would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Ontario,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Our travel agent suggested this hotel and it worked out to be perfect. Friendly staff, great clean rooms, an awesome free breakfast included and peaceful at night. This hotel is 100 meters from Piazza Roma so easy in and out for train, plane, or cruise ship. An easy walk to anywhere in Venice if you don't get lost which I think everyone must at some point. We seen many travellers lugging their suitcases up and down alleys hunting for their hotel getting frustrated. You will not be disappointed with Hotel Olimpia.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slagneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed at the hotel in May 2014, before and after our cruise trip. The staff were very friendly, Andreas at the front desk was excellent in informing us of various locations and events. It is across from the Piazza Roma and close to the People Mover to get to the cruise ship.
The hotel offered a trip over to Murano Island, with a min. of 4 people - took the water taxi over to see the glass blowing and they let us back off at St. Mark's Square.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms over the courtyard are quieter, and such a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 385 in Venice
3,582 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#81 of 385 in Venice
1,021 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#50 of 385 in Venice
2,127 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,793 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice

Property: HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
Address: Santa Croce 395 | Piazzale Roma, 30135 Venice, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Olimpia)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Venice
#33 Business Hotel in Venice
#40 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OLIMPIA HOTEL The hotel is located in the most convenient area of the historical centre of Venice.Facing a typical canal, close to the Basilica dei Frari, the School of San Rocco, a few minutes walking from the Grand Canal and the famous Rialto Bridge.The location of the Best Western Hotel Olimpia allows you to easily reach the Bus Terminal of Piazzale Roma ( 100 meters ), from where you can get public or private transportations to the Airport ( shuttle bus or taxi ), Cruise Terminal ( the monorail fast train People Mover ), train station ( 10 minutes walking or just 1 stop by waterbus )The Hotel has been recently and totally renewed, making our services more inviting: Reading Room, Bar, free WI-FI, internet point and a charming garden. A real bonus for the venetian standard. The breakfast room windows face a small romantic typical venetian canal.The bedrooms are decorated in a typical venetian style, dating back to the early 18th century, equipped with private bath/shower room, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, satellite tv and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olimpia
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing