We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended. Top value, top service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
Ranked #33 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Our second stay. This hotel just gets it right. No it is not a five star hotel but if you are looking for an excellent 3+ star this is it. The staff are friendly, knowledgable and willing to help in any way they can. The hotel is right on a small canal just behind the bus/train termini. You can walk with your bags - no problem with only one small canal bridge to cross. It is a quiet location with outside tables on the canal and a beautiful garden at the back which is perfect for breakfast. The breakfast is for this level very good. Good range of hot and cold, and everything is fresh and replenished often. Our room although small was gorgeous. Old world charm but clean and light and with everything you need including fast and free wifi. Close to the ferry for access to all the Venice highlights. An easy 30 min walk to San Marco etc. The walk was a highlight of our stay. Shops, banks, pharmacies etc all close and restaurants serving more authentic food than many around San Marco or Rialto. We would not even consider staying somewhere else.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,156)
There are newer reviews for HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 2,156 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

Definetly not luxury- but very clean. location near cruise ships is main feature. Multi-national clientel....mostly families. There is an elevator. Front desk is MOST accomadating.Check -in was a little hectic as I was early and they were overwhelmed with check-outs. No welcoming drink as a previous reviewer stated. Beautiful ample breakfast with magnificent garden seating. Front desk made arrangements with a private taxi driver to pick me up at the airport which was a huge help. The driver Roberto was excellent. He also was able to take me directly to the ship's boarding nd take my luggage aboard the ship. Made my travelling very easy.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank flossy210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This hotel was in the best spot , it was only 5 mins walk from the Bus stop which we caught from the airport which was only 6 euros on the Bus , you did not need to walk over 100 bridges to get there, when we arrived late around 10.00pm , they gave us a welcome drink which was very nice, and when we saw our room it was very nice , it was near some good restaurants , and 2 mins walk to the Ferry , if your going on a cruise its a short walk to the train to get there , would stay there again , as it also had good breakfast buffet
Christine
From NSW Australia

Room Tip: they are all good
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Christine L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Easy check-in following online reservation on short notice. Staff very helpful. Parking at Tronchetto garage, people mover to Piazzale Roma, 200 meter walk to hotel via one bridge. Basic rooms unable to use lift, quite a hike up stairs. Room fairly cramped, yet fair for price; shower small. Location back fired when we left early Sun am-people mover not open, had to hire taxicab for $40 euro (3-4 min ride).

Room Tip: Buy an upgrade room to be able to use lift(elevator).
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willisdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOlimpia, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Guests,
We are very sorry for not having completely fulfilled your expectations, but it is clearly specified on the reservation form, the peculiarity of the basic room you booked with us.
No elevator service, but porter service guaranteed checking-in and out.
Concerning the room size, we guess you knew European standards are far from the common standards provided in other countries and specially if the hotel is located in the heart of an historical city like Venice.
Nevertheless, all our room type are nicely furbished and cured down to the last details.
Our convenient location is one of the main reasons for choosing the Hotel Olimpia.
The People Mover public transport ( recently built mostly for cruisers ), starts on Sunday at 08.22 and it runs every 7 minutes.
Private land taxi service to the cruise port costs 20 euros ( roughly 26 USD $ ), the prices are displayed at the taxi station: 20 Euros to the port, 40 Euros to the airport.
We really don’t understand why you had to pay twice. We are extremely sorry about that.
Thank you for your review, it has been highly appreciated, since it give us the chance to further improve our services.

Kind regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I thoroughly recommend this hotel, the staff were very helpful and so friendly and the rooms were charming & very comfortable with a large modern bathroom. There was a big choice of food at the buffet breakfast, you can sit in the lovely garden for breakfast if you choose to. We stayed here 2 nights pre-cruise and used the People Mover to the port (1.30 euros ).
I can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 22Antonio22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel. Located within easy access from the airport, train station and cruise ships the staff were welcoming, friendly and extremely friendly. Rooms are very comfortable and breakfast in the courtyard is most relaxing and sets you up for an enjoyable day of sightseeing. If arriving by train it is easy to access the vaporetto (water bus) which takes you one stop to Place Roma. From there an easy walk with luggage, across one bridge and there you are, canal side and in a quiet, convenient location. Lovely bathroom, comfortable bed and free wifi made it an enjoyable stay. We had 4 nights and found some lovely small restaurants within easy walking of the hotel which provided inexpensive meals in wonderful settings. We will stay here again on our next visit to this magical city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Hotel Olimpia is a wonderful place. The staff are excellent and the accommodations are very updated, modern and clean. It is located close the the vaporato and the "train" to the cruise terminal. It has a lovely courtyard in addition to tables on the canal. The night we arrived one of our party fell after dinner and after a hospital visit had to fly home. The staff were very caring and arranged for transportation from the hospital to the hotel at 4 am. The hotel also arranged for a taxi and that driver carried their luggage into the airport. As we checked out, the staff asked us to send their best to the our party who had to leave. I can't recommend them highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tjl5360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#87 of 384 in Venice
1,066 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
3,740 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#27 of 384 in Venice
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 384 in Venice
1,864 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#4 of 384 in Venice
1,930 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice

Address: Santa Croce 395 | Piazzale Roma, 30135 Venice, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Olimpia)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Venice
#28 Family Hotel in Venice
#33 Business Hotel in Venice
#40 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £81 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OLIMPIA HOTEL The hotel is located in the most convenient area of the historical centre of Venice.Facing a typical canal, close to the Basilica dei Frari, the School of San Rocco, a few minutes walking from the Grand Canal and the famous Rialto Bridge.The location of the Best Western Hotel Olimpia allows you to easily reach the Bus Terminal of Piazzale Roma ( 100 meters ), from where you can get public or private transportations to the Airport ( shuttle bus or taxi ), Cruise Terminal ( the monorail fast train People Mover ), train station ( 10 minutes walking or just 1 stop by waterbus )The Hotel has been recently and totally renewed, making our services more inviting: Reading Room, Bar, free WI-FI, internet point and a charming garden. A real bonus for the venetian standard. The breakfast room windows face a small romantic typical venetian canal.The bedrooms are decorated in a typical venetian style, dating back to the early 18th century, equipped with private bath/shower room, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, satellite tv and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olimpia
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing