We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SIMPLY THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Ranked #80 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I have stayed at the Savoia and Jolanda many ,many times and just when you think it can,t get any better it does.I travelled to Venice with my Daughter and from the moment we checked in we we,re treated more like family than guests from the Guy,s on reception, the,hotel porter,s and even the chamber maids which made us feel very welcome.We stayed for 4 nights but we wish we could have stayed longer my Daughter was almost in tears when we were checking out because we had to say goodbye to our friend,s but we know we will return (i have already made reservations for 2013).When we first checked in Tomas on reception introduced us to new members of front desk staff which was a very thoughtful gesture and to our suprise Alberto one of the new front desk staff remembered us from when he was a waiter at the hotel when he was younger and he even remembered what my daughters favourite drink is! Then along came Luigi who is one of the funniest and friendliest people we have ever met and very knowledgeable about venice.We always make our reservation,s with Jacopo( reservation,s manager) who is a true Venetian and who has also lived and worked in Britain , he is the most Friendliest and kind person we have met and we travel to other country,s quite a lot and have met lots of people!On our last morning(November 11th.) Venice experienced one of its worst Aqua Alta (high tides) in many years and the flooding was terrible water was waist high in places but again the hotel staff were as professional as ever making sure all guests were well looked after.The ground floor of the hotel was ankle deep but life still goes on and by mid day it looks like nothings ever happened and the hotel staff kept a smile on there faces through out it all which just shows me what a wonderful Hotel we had the pleasure of staying in!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank maureendavies55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

888 - 894 of 1,925 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2012

We have just returned after a 3 night break at this hotel and found everything great. Arriving from Venice airport we caught the Aliguna water bus (by far cheapest way to travel). The journey about 1 hour but on arrival in Venice we walked on the water bus straight into the hotel. The reception staff were very welcoming. When we were taken to our room we were more than impressed, especially because a basic room had been booked. It was luxuriously furnished in red and gold with a bathroom of gold mosaic tiles. The room overlooked the main lagoon. The breakfast is basic but substantial.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

Room Tip: Don't be wary of booking a basic room as they are large, beautifully furnished and very substant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john_normasutcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The reason to stay at this hotel is the location. It is minutes from San Marco and the S. Zaccharia vaporetto stop is right in front of the hotel entrance. It's an $100+ private water taxi ride from the airport (highly recommended, pricey, but you can relax on your way in). I found the front desk service to be a little curt, but whatever. Our room was a good size, and clean. We were facing an alley, but we weren't really in the room much to care. The breakfast in the morning was good, nothing special, so I recommend you grab your eggs and toast, then hit up a local cafe for an unreal Venetian cappuccino and donut. You can have two breakfasts--you are on vacation!
Overall, a clean and easily accessible hotel.
And one thing to note about Venice--there are street signs everywhere pointing you in the direction to the major touristy sites, so you're never really "lost." Feel free to wander around and soak it all in, because once you decided you've had enough and want to get back to the hotel, it will be relatively easy, just follow the signs.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The hotel is in a really good location - right opposite the San Zaccaria vaporetto stop - which is one of the best connected hubs for transport anywhere in Venice, And its only a very short walk to the Bridge of Sighs and San Marco. BUT it is right on the water front - and when Venice floods the hotel ground floor gets under water. Like the previous reviewer, we were very disappointed that the hotel did not manage the situation better. We had floods on two of our three days - breakfast was cancelled once, and next day people had to splash around in the dining room ( and also, I agree the smell was of foul drainage). We had to paddle to get from the hotel to the public walkways with our shoes in plastic bags to try and keep dry. ( Street vendors were selling plastic over-shoes at 15 euros a pair).

Now, you might say that I am being unfair - and this was a natural disaster so what do I expect? Sadly, though, Venice floods about 60 times a year - so I would have expected a four star hotel on the waterfront to be better prepared. and ready to look after its guests better.

Apart from how it handled the floods, what about the hotel itself? Well, again as has been commented - the front desk staff are very good - Hans and Peter particularly. We eat in the Hotel restaurant one night - the food was fine, but the service was very average. And for as for room service - well, an example - we ordered breakfast in our room because we had to get to the airport. At the time we had asked for it to be delivered, we got a phone call asking if we wanted Tea or Coffee. We asked for Tea, but even after a "hurry up" phone call, the breakfast ( with Coffee) arrived 25 minutes late. We just grabbed a roll, and ran for the boat.

One final point - there are many comments about rooms with views. But, the majority of the rooms do not overlook the lagoon, but a side alley. Ours was a large room and comfortable - but very noisy. The windows were firmly shut, but from very early morning ( like 5am) we were wakened by shutters banging and rattling from local traders as they got ready for the day.

Venice is a wonderful city - but our stay at this hotel certainly gave us some unexpected memories!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffhailz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The floods were real, the lobby was soggy when we arrived and same each morning, but it's what you get for having a location right on the water, and the staff managed very well. We got a triple room and I confirm some other reviews noting that these seem to be on the side of the building and without a view, plus the wifi was much weaker at the end of the hallway (we sat on the floor by the door to get two bars). Room was clean and bathroom was big and nice enough. Breakfast was fine if nothing spectacular.

But the location really was excellent and given that nothing else was really negative I would recommend to other visitors.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Spent four nights here. Superb location by San Zaccaria water bus stop. Nice room with partial view of Grand Canal. Had dinner on first night and found service and food very average.
We had floods on two of the days we were there. The staff responded very well, but we were disappointed that the situation was not better managed. We had to paddle in to breakfast on two mornings, sit on chairs in two or three inches of water, and breakfast to the smell of the drains. We would have expected a greater show of concern, or apology, or constuctive suggestions by the management. It would have helped if the duckboards from the hotel had joined up with those in the street. And could not a large hotel have a supply of wellington boots for sale or loan, for example?

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giorgio88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We traveled to Venice this mid ocotober/2012 and had a triple room reservation at Savoia & Jolanda Hotel. Quite a good surprise, due to overbooking we were given a marvelous suite, with a wonderful view of the great canal! The room was very clean, well furnitured, and very comfortable. Despite other comments, being at the edge of the great canal was not a problem: once you close the windows, silence is guaranteed! Breakfast was standard, nothing special. The hotel is only two bridges from Ducale Palace and S M Square, about 5 minutes walk. We spent about $100 euros from the train station to the Hotel by taxi, but nothing more than $20 euros to the airport if you choose to take the public transportation just in front of the hotel. It takes about one hours, but is inexpensive and efficient! Hotel staff is educated, speak good English and very accurate with information. The elevator is a cubicle but I think this is a minor point!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GersonP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#47 of 387 in Venice
1,936 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#14 of 387 in Venice
1,619 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 387 in Venice
3,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 387 in Venice
2,186 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#121 of 387 in Venice
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoia & Jolanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoia & Jolanda

Address: Riva Dei Schiavoni Castello 4187, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Venice
#54 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#92 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £76 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoia & Jolanda 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Venice Hotel Savoia & Jolanda is located in the historical center of Venice, a few minutes away from St. Mark Square, in a splendid position along Riva degli Schiavoni, in front of the Venice lagoon, from there it enjoys the unforgettable view of Saint Mark's Basin and the St. George Island. Its position allows one to reach easily the Mercerie and Via XXII Marzo with some of the world's finest shopping and to visit the Venice palaces, museums and the art galleries, lesser-known Venice like the more fascinating and secluded as the Sestiere Castello. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Savoia & Jolanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoia And Jolanda Hotel
Savoia Jolanda Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing