We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful retreat away from the crowds!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection
Ranked #70 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful retreat away from the crowds!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

We spent our first night in the Westin Europa & Regina, but only had a StarFriend rate for one night. Therefore, we booked this hotel for the second night. The gardens are AMAZING! It's the only hotel with private (and huge) gardens.

It's located in the quiet Cannaregio off Madonna dell'Orto. If coming from the bus station in Venice, it's a 1-min walk from the Orto stop (4.2/5.2 lines). You could also walk from the train station and it's a 20-min walk (assuming you don't get lost).

We were coming from San Marco, so we came through the Grand Canal and taking vaparetto line 1 to the San Marcuola stop. From there, it was probably a 10-min walk with 3 bridges I believe. If you've never been the Venice, this means you have to carry your luge up and over the bridge as there are not ramps.

The lobby is stunning with two large, beautiful Venetian chandeliers. Our room (305) was slightly smaller than our Westin room, but still sufficient for us. There was no view (overlooked the rooftop of a shorter building), but we didn't pay for one (most rooms in Venice don't have a view).

The bathroom was laced in marble and granite with plenty of hot water. It's very comparable to the Westin bathroom. The bed was a king (two twins combined) and a bit firm for my liking and the pillows a little flat. I still slept well.

The room was also warm when we entered. I've heard rumors that there are strict rules on HVAC in Italy. In April, you can still open your window and enjoy a pleasant breeze (50-55F at night).

Like I mentioned earlier, this hotel has some gorgeous English gardens. There are some chaise lounge chairs by the boat house (where you can arrive by private water taxi) where you can read a book and relax. We definitely felt like it was a different Venice with the quiet, serene beauty around us and with birds chirping in the early evening. The gardens supposedly require a reservation, but they let us right in.

Having now spent 36 hours in Venice, I would pick this hotel for a non-touristy stay in Venice. You can take their private water taxi to San Marco a few times per day starting around 10am and also be picked up (just make a reservation at the desk).

We didn't try the spa or food, which was expensive just like the Westin. Like many hotels in this class, things can add up quickly.

Overall, this luxury hotel is a true gem and worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    347
    133
    66
    63
See reviews for
241
894
27
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

This hotel truly was a palace. The most exquisite hotel I have ever dreamed of staying at. Views that were breathtaking. This hotel looked more like Versailles palace than a hotel. Delicious restaurant,spa. Venice is too beautiful for words and the location of BOscolo allows you to explore the city yet remain tranquil in the setting of a believe it or not, an English garden and the Venetian canal. Private boats owned by BOscolo will take you where you want to go. The staff,all the staff were not to be topped. Ivan, the con siege was wonderful. Took the time to make sure we saw everything we set out for and more. He personally would seek us out everyday to make sure we were happy. The restaurant manager, bartender and waiter were excellent. Our suite was delicious, decor of Italian Provincial. Murano chandeliers everywhere. We did find out through Ivan that BOscolo was a Palace at one time. As far as we are concerned it still is.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakton, VA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

The hotel was outstanding, staff attentive and helpful. Room was exquisite and service impeccable. The down side is that it advertises air conditioning, and it does have it, but it is not turned on!!!! The rooms were VERY warm for the middle of April. We opened the windows and he mosquitoes ate us up! The hotel provided us a fan, but it just moved very warm air around. If you go in he summer months, do ask if the hotel has turned on the air conditioning before you book!

Room Tip: Ask if the air conditioning is turned on before you make a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentdiner43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed at this property during the 2013 Easter vacation. I am a Marriott Platinum and this is one of my favorite properties around the world. From the moment we walked in we immediately knew we made the right hotel decision when Barbara and Merline checked us in. The hotel has a very warm and boutique feel to it yet has ALL the services you need. Kids loved the garden and played in it all day. Location is fantastic as you are not in the middle of the tourist area yet a reasonable walk from all the action. We loved the complimentary and luxurious boat service that the hotel offers to all the guests. The hotel is a converted palace and in more recent history used to be the French Embassy. Very popular with American tourists. HIGHLY recommend this place and we will be back.

Room Tip: some of the rooms face the canal and others face the open water. It depends on what you like but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rami s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Lovely hotel a little away from the main tourist part of Venice...but this is not a problem as Venice is small and very walkable. Good sized room for a European hotel. Small bar but attentive staff. Breakfast. Oils be iffy depending on the number working that a.m.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joksc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We arrived in Innsbruck AU with our US Ski Club and my wife was unable to ski, so we set off by Austrian Train through the Alps early one morning for Venice Italy. I reserved one night at the Boscolo Venezia Hotel on Fond Madonna dell'Orto 3500. Following four hours and a lovely train trip through the Dolomites and vineyards we arrived in Verona and quickly switched to a local train which took us one more hour direct to St Lucia Station. A short walk sufficed to the historic quaint Boscolo Hotel. The hotel was formerly the residence of the Duke of Tuscany in the 16th century and is comprised of 50 rooms in a quiet neighborhood of Madonna del'Orto. Last year it began an affiliation with Marriott as an "Autograph Collection" property. The room was luxurious with a king bed a gold lame spread and also complete with a Murano glass chandelier. The ensuite was equally posh and comfortable. We enjoyed a late night bottle of vino in the small bar and the hotel has its own water taxi to take guests daily anywhere in Venice. We wished we had seen more of the grand private hotel garden which we were informed was the largest private garden in Venice but our short late February stay precluded that. A delicious breakfast in the former formal parlor off the lobby followed our restful overnight stay. The parlor also had a series of glorious Murano lighting. The staff were friendly, attentive and professional and I heartily recommend the Boscolo Venzia Hotel in Venice. Wish we could return and stay for a week.

Room Tip: Venice is very dark at night, not much in the way of street lighting. If one strays or has a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_BNewburyport_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed there in April and found it to be excellent in many ways. Getting from the airport was a little concern considering the cost of water taxis at E100 per trip but a short walk left out of the airport to the vaporetti (water bus E27 return) which goes every 30minutes and the first stop is a couple of hundred yards from the hotel with no bridges to carry bags over. Another excellent aspect was the hotel having its own water taxi free to residents which goes to St Marks sq or to Murano which is a beautiful wooden launch like having a vintage taxi. Downsides to the location is that it is quite a walk to St Marks sq we were told it was a brisk 25min walk more like 40 mins which was okay for use particularly if you took the free water taxi there or back. It is however 10minutes walk to many shops and one of the main thoroughfares. The room was well decorated and of a good size super bathroom. The room was also so quiet a rarity in any city. The staff were very friendly and it has a large garden to relax in. Downsides to the hotel expensive food be it breakfast or restaurant. It also has some nice features such as some spectacular chandeliers. All in all we would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: we were on the second floor and a grade up from a basic double so very quiet and a little larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#43 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#50 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#68 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
SINA Centurion Palace
SINA Centurion Palace
#55 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection

Property: Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection
Address: Fondamenta Madonna dell'Orto 3500 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Venice
#26 Business Hotel in Venice
#48 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#55 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#91 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection Hotel Venice
Boscolo Dei Dogi Venice
Boscolo Dei Dogi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing