We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis of calm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection
Ranked #69 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have just had a lovely stay at this peaceful hotel, just a 5 minute leisurely stroll away from the "main thoroughfare" to San Marco etc (took us 20 minutes to stroll to Doge's Palace etc.). After seeing the location of a few other 5* hotels on our meanders we realised how lucky we were to have chosen a hotel in such a peaceful neighbourhood - others which are closer to main thoroughfares/San Marco etc must be incredibly noisy in our view!
This hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from a Vaporetto/Airport transport stop, so it is also in an enviable position for arrivals/departures. We treated ourselves to a private transfer from the airport , arranged by the hotel, which was a wonderful start! Our room on the first floor overlooked the canal at the front of the hotel and even though we were close to the main entrance it was very quiet at night. Beds were reasonably comfortable and the room & bathroom were spotless and a decent size.
The front desk staff were extremely helpful, especially Gaia, David & the Manageress. David showed us the large garden which winds it's way down to the private jetty overlooking Murano & Burano - just idyllic! We only ate breakfast at the hotel, which was fine - so not able to comment about other in-house meals.
One warning I would like to give is about the "free excursion" to Murano advertised at the hotel. A water taxi collects from the hotel and whisks you over to Murano - to the dock of one of the Glass Factories. We were herded straight into this factory - given a REALLY short talk/glass blowing demonstration and then herded straight into the showrooms. There was one "assistant" following each couple (very closely!) and we were given the "hard sell". We had been told that there was also free transport back to the hotel whenever we were ready to leave, however it was a very uncomfortable experience for those of us who didn't wish to buy anything. The prices are of course huge - the pieces were stunning, but far too expensive for us! I think it would be far more enjoyable to go to Murano on a water bus independently - and have the freedom to explore the island! One could leave the Glass factory complex (I had to ask where the exit was because there was no clear indication that we could see), but then getting back in was interesting because the door locks behind you - there is a buzzer/intercom system but if you can't get back in then there is no "free transport" back to the hotel...Anyhow - once bitten! We will never do that again! It was an experience! We are sure most hotels offer this type of "visit" to a glass factory - so just beware!!
This didn't reflect badly on the hotel at all - we didn't have any hard sell about this trip from the staff - there is just a notice about the excursion in the lobby which we just happened to see and then asked to be booked on!
We will most definitely be going back to Venice to see those places we didn't get the time to visit on our 3-day trip - and we will most definitely be booking to stay in this hotel again, because it was simply gorgeous!.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    347
    133
    66
    63
See reviews for
241
894
27
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at the Boscolo hotel, with my family of four. The property is beautiful and quiet. The rooms were very nice. The breakfast offered was very tasty. The only negative is the staff; they seemed very indifferent, unwelcoming. I asked about a fitness center and they look at me like I was crazy. I tried to use a Marriot e-certificate for one of my rooms and was told I couldn't because the hotel was privately owned and the owner didn't accept these certificates. Another example is the last few minutes of our stay; upon our check out; we waited in the lobby for a few minutes, my family, hotel manager and front desk assistant only ones in the lobby - when we got up to leave, they made no acknowledgement of us – a simple “good bye or safe travels” would have been nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padilladora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeneziaManager, Manager at Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to take a moment and thank you for sharing your comments with us as this is the only way to evaluate our service and improve it when needed.

The goal of our team is to meet and exceed guests' expectations and we aim at providing an excellent service to each one and single guest. Usually we receive very positive feedback for our front office staff and this is why we deeply regret the experience you had with our team. Please be assured that your feedback was shared with the appropriate department and team members.

Once again we thank you for taking your time to share your comments with us and we hope to have the change to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Rositsa Tsvetkova
For Martina Malusa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
320 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here on a tour and were very happy with this hotel. It had very friendly staff, the surroundings were great, there was a shady, green garden and we had a comfortable, quiet room. The bathroom and toiletries were very good. This hotel had the best breakfast we had on tour. There was free wifi but if you did not use it for 10 minutes you had to log in again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les6447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I spent two nights in the hotel, and this was my third visit.

The first night I stayed in a junior suite, on the fourth floor, room 407.
The room was not very appealing and I soon discovered that it is quite noisy: the door is not soundproofed and there is a lot of foot traffic / chatter in front of the door.
More importantly the room has three windows whose curtains do not black-out light. So I was woken up at 6 AM!

After I complained I was moved to another junior suite, room 211.
This suite was really beautifully appointed, very quiet and dark in the morning.
It is too bad that my stay was spoiled by a very bad night.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for rooms on the second floor the ceiling is higher and they seem to have been ren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guido M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeneziaManager, Front Office Manager at Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Mr. Guido,

Above all we want to thank you once again for having chosen Boscolo Venezia for your returning stay in Venice.

We also want to thank you for taking your time to share your comments with us. Obviously we prefer the positive comments but we highly appreciate all comments from our guests as we see it as an opportunity to learn and improve our service.

We are extremely grateful when we have repeater guests in our property and this is why we have complimentary upgraded your reservation to the Junior Suite. Our forth floor have only 9 rooms and it is usually considered a quite floor and we regret to understand that there was a foot traffic in front of the door and the room facilities did not satisfy your needs.

However ,as mentioned by you our front desk team is always happy to assist with all the request we received from our guest and we thank you for bringing the issue to our attention during your stay.

Once again we thank you for choosing us and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Rositsa Tsvetkova
For Martina Malusa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Firstly, let me say I was fortunate enough to stay at this hotel from Marriott points earned, otherwise I would not have been able to afford it. With that said, the hotel was spotless and has a beautiful smell of garden when you walk through the entryway and the staff made us feel as if we were royalty
The location was in a nice quiet area Cannaregio that allowed us to feel as if we were locals looking out the bedroom window every morning.
Far away fom the busy area to feel secluded, but only 3 small walking bridges from the main walkway to everything.
As a final thought, the public transportation boat was actually pretty good. Efficient and cheap for those who are ok with handling their own luggage. The stop at "ORTO" is less than a half kilometer (.2 of a mile for our American friends).
Best regards to all who visit Venice
Randy Winslow
Waterloo, Ontario Canada

Room Tip: Facing west in the morning is my preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGWinslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Well checked in tonight with my wife n son. The moment we entered the room there is a distinct foul odour which I went down and complained at the reception, n was told the housekeeping would come to clean it. After one hour nothing was done, again went down and was told the previous receptionist had left for the day without informing n hence they would send housekeeping now. It has been two hours from our second visit to the reception and the time is now 10.38 pm, and nothing has been done to rectify the same. The result is we have to spend the night in this foul odour room, which is really very pathetic. As a result we are waiting for the morning to check out though we had booked for two nights, n don't mind the waste of money for one night but this is a place which should be avoided at all costs, imagine two visits to the reception n still in sign of housekeeping. Please avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firoze_petigara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeneziaManager, Manager at Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Mr. Petigara,

We want to thank you for taking your time to share your comments with us and we apologize for the inconvenience you might have experienced during your stay in Boscolo Venezia.

After further investigation on the matter with our front desk members and housekeeping staff we would like to advise you that your room was inspected twice each time straight after you came down to the front desk to report the issue. As per our housekeeping staff both times there was no foul smell detected in your assigned room. The reason that you did not see the housekeeping staff personally in your room is most probably because you were down at the reception at that time. The Assistant Front Office Manager Martina Malusa recalls to have informed you personally accordingly.

We deeply regret that we were unable to offer you a room change as the hotel was fully booked and we had no available rooms left that evening.

Once again we apologize for the inconvenience you might have experienced during your stay and we hope to see you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Rositsa Tsvetkova
For Martina Malusa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

A peaceful location, just off the beaten track, very convenient for the water bus to/from the airport and only 20/30mins walk to St Mark's Sq if the mood takes you. The garden is delightful, the staff are friendly and helpful but the building struggles to retain it's full charm and character.
The room was garden facing, a good size and very comfortable and peaceful with almost everything required, however, working the TV was a mystery with no instructions/channel guides available and (disappointingly) no apparent way to play radio.
The bar is probably the biggest disappointment for a 5 star hotel, it is poorly stocked and not very inviting, despite it's proximity to the garden and the general presentation was definitely below the expected 5 star level.
All in all a great stay but there is certainly room to make this hotel really special.

Room Tip: No comparison, we were on 2nd floor and garden facing which was comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#42 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#50 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#68 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
SINA Centurion Palace
SINA Centurion Palace
#56 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection

Property: Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection
Address: Fondamenta Madonna dell'Orto 3500 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Venice
#26 Business Hotel in Venice
#48 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#55 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#91 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection Hotel Venice
Boscolo Dei Dogi Venice
Boscolo Dei Dogi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing