We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location a bonus..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection
Ranked #67 of 388 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We (family of 3) have stayed with friends at Boscolo dei dogi (25-28 July), to celebrate dear friends birthdays. I had prebooked superior room (E600+ per night plus extra bed at E300+ !! For 14 yr old daughter). As previous reviews, the quality of breakfast and hotels's water taxi's a real bonus. The front of house staff at reception are excellent, the bar and restaurant staff were "ok" (bar one waiter who was super with amusing stories of his time in England). Overall, the experience has been very good, our room was lovely and the location whilst a little way out gives you the option of walking around or enjoying the water taxi's.
Thank you for a memorable few days.

Room Tip: We had room on 4th floor, whilst no real view (neighbours back yards) was quiet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WestBTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

736 - 742 of 1,658 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife, 2 daughters (13 and 9) and I stayed at Boscolo in Venice for 3 nights (July 21st - 24th, 2014). I agree with some of the comments made in prior reviews especailly related to "value for money", "size of suites", "location". etc.

We really liked Boscolo - especially, the location and hospitality if the staff. If you are a person that likes more of the residential neighborhood expereince in Venice, then Boscolo is great - very nice for families.

The hotel offers free water taxi rides to Marco's but you will need to abide by certain timings - last free ride back to the hotel is at 7:10 pm (not great if you want to hang out at the square).

There are multiple restaurants, great shopping and good people all around the hotel - there is also a nice super market within a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

The garden is great - the kids loved exploring various features of the landscape and they really enjoyed staying in a room at the detached house close to the lagoon.

The price is high but if you are like me with a family, I would highly recommend this hotel.

By-the-way, we walked back from Marco's square to the hotel after stopping at the Grand Canal for lunch. The walk was not bad at all with frequent stops at various stores along the way. It was well worth the walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the detached house at the back of the hotel - these rooms overlook the Lagoon and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Murali-Sunkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed two nights at this beautiful boutique hotel in a quiet corner of Venice. Our very large junior suite was lovely and accommodated a small family quite well. When it came to service, however, the hotel came up short. Emails sent in advance of our stay to inquire about parking and logistics were flat out ignored. The front desk staff had very little knowledge of the area and referred only to the typical touristy restaurants and sites. Finally, the internet worked at a snail's pace and required multiple log ins each hour to stay active. I can imagine how difficult it is to run a business in a city of canals. While I would likely stay here again, I'd love to see the hotels service reflect its prices and location.

Room Tip: The corner suites (211 in our case) had very high ceilings and many windows looking out on Venice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeneziaManager, Front Office Manager at Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Mr Matt,
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your valued feedback.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced.

At Boscolo Venezia Authograph Collection our aim is to provide an excellent hotel experience to our guests and it seems this time we could not live up to our standards. Although we are really disappointed not living up to your expectations nor to our standards I hope you may consider it as one off and not reflective to our service we try to deliver every day.

It would be our honor to win your trust back and provide you an outstanding stay upon your next visit.

Best Regards

Martina Malusa
Front Office Manager Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

A 5 "star" hotel? Doing a euro trip at the moment, and despite being the most expensive accommodation, at ~$625AUD per night per room, booking well in advance, we are given a room on the ground floor, our window view is a wall about two metres away (of the same building), and our door is adjacent to the service/laundry room, so it's always noisy..I have pictures as well. For the same category room, you can be several floors up overlooking the water, this is just not right. I'm not advocating that every room needs to be the perfect view, but I think charging $625 for a room that we got is an absolute joke.

The useless guy (rude, ignorant) at the front desk tells us how the hotel is fully booked and that other rooms on higher floors cost the same per night, seemingly incapable of figuring out why we were not happy. A room in some tiny side building on the ground floor next to the service room with no view compared to a nice quite room with at least some kind of view? What's the difference right? Obviously he can't do anything and he didn't design the building, but rooms like this should not exist at this kind of hotel. Upon further enquiry (after telling us there were no available rooms), there was another two rooms free on the first floor - again not part of the main building. One has NO windows, the other has a window below waist height...overlooking a what, 2x2 metre court yard

I'm sure if you get a decent room this hotel might be pleasant, but I would not be happy to support the greedy guys that run this place that rip off the unknowing travellers that get rooms like this.

I'll also not forget to mention that this hotel is right in the bottom right corner of Venice, as far away from the main attractions as possible

Also don't book through travel agents, learnt this the hard way. Book yourself and ask for a good view, the best hotel we stayed at was one we booked ourself, at a location (Luzern, Switzerland) that our agent said that had no vacancies at any hotel, which wasn't even remotely true - highly recommend the Grand National Hotel, flawless room, service and everything.

But back on track, don't go here

I have pictures if anyone wants

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Inspector36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeneziaManager, Fron Office Manager Assistant at Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Customer,
I would like to thank you for taking your time to share your comments with us.
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced during your stay at Boscolo Venezia.

As much as we like to receive positive comments from our guests , we extremely appreciate all comments negative or positive, as we see them as an opportunity to grow and improve our service. I assure you that your suggestions will be taken into consideration. Our team is entirely devoted to our guests and our main goal is to meet and exceed guests’ expectations.
We are deeply sorry to heard that the staff was not attentive to your bad feelings and requests, please be sure that we have already taken serious internal measures.

Regarding the issue about the location of the Hotel, I confirm you that it is not close to the main attraction, but please be informed that we try to compensate it with a free shuttle service for all our guests from the Hotel to St. Mark's square and back.

We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.
I hope to have the opportunity to apologize once more at you next visit in Venice.
Please feel free to contact us back.
Kind regards
Marilisa M.
Front Office Manager Assistant
fo.manager@venezia.boscolo.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

we stayed a nite after being on the disney cruise this july 2014, a truly wonderful experience, all staff gracious , helpful.. being from the US it was a great experience in venice... close to all , but truly a secret garden and a wonderful breakfast.. away from hustle bustle.. i would stay here again

Room Tip: we had a room over looking the waterside facing murano island the pier was quite lovely at nite t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 99tess2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The only hotel that we stayed in after 12 days in Italy that was "affiliated" with a large well known international hotel chain (Marriott) was this one & it was our biggest disappointment. It started out very nicely with a bottle of Prosecco sent to our room (we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary). We should have drank it immediately & left. Instead we decided to relax a little after both a train ride from Bologna plus the necessary water ride to the hotel, before heading out to explore the infamous city of Venice. Suddenly it sounded like it was raining outside & we literally looked out the window but the sun was still shining. We then realized that the 'rain' was a torrent of water coming down from the room above in the small passage between our door & the room. We immediately called down & about 15 minutes later someone appeared (it seems the guest above liked to take very long showers) so naturally we had to be moved - our choices were a strange, albeit extremely large room in the middle of the floors (meaning you either had to climb stair up or down to reach it) or a small garden room by the hotels back dock. We chose the later only to find that it was also a favorite of the mosquitoes (no the bug repellent supplied did not work). No A/C (yes it was unseasonably hot in October, but really) + no screens on the window = NO AIR! No one seemed to care. No one apologized for having to move us (yes we were already unpacked). Now I understand that none of this was their fault, per se, but neither was it ours & they acted as if it was a huge inconvenience that we had to be moved. They did care that we take their 'free' ride to Murano which is to a specific factory with some of the most overpriced glass I've ever seen & when we said we wanted to walk around Murano we were told we couldn't & had to wait for the hotel's water taxi or we would have to pay to get back to the hotel (hmmm... we didn't buy anything, think that was an issue - DUH). It is a 20 - 30 minute walk to St Marks which only works out well when you are going there but after walking through Venice for 5 or 6 hours is exhausting on the way back.

The staff was aloof at best, annoyed & condescending at worst. There are more tales to tell, but suffice to say that as a grand finale to an absolutely fabulous trip, it was a huge letdown. I would not consider this a 5star hotel by any means (although it is beautiful & historical) & wonder how much influence Marriott has on them. Maybe they just don't like Americans using all their points to stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank adpm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeneziaManager, Front Office Manager at Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Boscolo Venezia.

First of all accept please our apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced during your stay.

We completely understand your point of view but we tried to make our best during your stay regarding the issue in your room.
As a boutique hotel, our property is located on a Palace from the 17th century. For these reason we have a central air conditioning system that according to the venetian law must be turned off during certain times of the year (like October).
Our hotel has different type of rooms in different location like the mezzanine floor or the rooms on the garden were you can have the unique view of the lagoon.

We made a great use of all your comments to ensure that our staff members had done all the appropriate trainings again in order to refresh and better assist all our guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to apologize once more at you next visit in Venice.
Best Regards

Martina Malusa
Front Office Manager Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

What a wonderful Hotel, we loved the quiet place away from all the hectic and crowd venice has, very charming hotel, we loved our room and bed, nice bathroom with two sinks and big shower. Very nice garden walking to the Taxi. Cant say something bad about this Hotel. The lobby was wonderful and also the hall to the room amazing. We really liked the old charming style. Very relaxing stay. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank freefly618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#60 of 388 in Venice
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#43 of 388 in Venice
1,238 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#52 of 388 in Venice
1,313 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
SINA Centurion Palace
SINA Centurion Palace
#66 of 388 in Venice
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection

Address: Fondamenta Madonna dell'Orto 3500 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Venice
#26 Business Hotel in Venice
#45 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#54 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#59 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £117 - £418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection Hotel Venice
Boscolo Dei Dogi Venice
Boscolo Dei Dogi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing