We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a find so close to Ferrovia (Train Station) in Venice”
Review of B4 Bellini Venezia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
B4 Bellini Venezia
Ranked #112 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

What a nice surprise! After traveling by train from Rome to Venice, we were exhausted and the thought of dragging luggage through Venice was not appealing. Voila - the Boscolo Bellini was literally two minutes walk from the Train Station. We stayed in Room 229 overlooking the street and with a ½ view of the canal. Hotel is "old World Italian" charm with Murano chandeliers, red velvet chairs and ornate draperies. Yes, it's a bit dated, but that adds to the charm. Eugenio and Patrick were SO HELPFUL ~ had great suggestion for walking paths throughout Venice and also called our next hotel to arrange shuttle service and called a porter to help with our luggage to the bus station. It was amazing to watch the porter navigate 4 heavy bags over a long bridge! Yes - wifi in lobby made for interesting evenings with everyone staring at their phones/PCs ~ but we were happy to have it at all! Room was dates and wallpaper stained, but bed was comfortable and room had mini refrigerator, TV, safe, etc. The free breakfast was very good and a nice variety of food and home made cakes. The windows in our room were single pane glass, so heard the hub hub of the street throughout the night. I liked it but it did bother my husbands sleep. Great location to train, buses, vaporetto stations etc. I even did my ALS ice bucket challenge at the Gondolier station in front of the hotel. Would definitely recommend if you are looking for convenience and old world charm.

Room Tip: Room 229 faces the street with a view of the canal and four windows that open out to the street. Is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ehill13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

437 - 443 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

I surprised my parents with a trip to Italy in August 2012, where they've always wanted to go. As they were older my travel agent organised very nice hotels to make it a comfortable trip and so far all the hotels had blown us away. After 10 amazing days we arrived in Venice, my mother's dream. We had booked this hotel 7 months in advance. When we arrived we were show to our rooms, right out at the back of the hotel in what appeared to be an added motel section. My room was too small to get between the bed and the wall, and stank like a toilet. The smell was all through the hallway and mosquitoes were EVERYWHERE. My parents room was further up the hall and it had glass sliding doors that opened onto a courtyard that was designated for smokers so there were constantly strangers hanging outside their doors that WOULD NOT LOCK. I had paid for this trip for my parents and 15 minutes in this hotel I was so upset I just sat in the lobby and cried. The staff grudgingly agreed to move me as my room was so smelly I couldn't be in there for more than 5 minutes to a room in the hotel proper. It was filthy, smelt like smoke, the shower stunk and the linen has cigarette burn holes in it. We stayed 2 nights and then checked out. Because it was busy season we had no choice but to lug our bags across the canal and stay in one hotel for 1 night and then lug our bags back to the station, train to Mestre and stay there for 1 night before flying back to Rome. Anything to get out of there, even though it cost us over $700 AUD to do it. We had booked so far in advance and yet they couldn't find a room in the hotel? Had to stick us out back. We took photos to show our travel agent because it was so bad. When we checked out the staff asked us why and when they were told, they had nothing to say but that because we were choosing to check out we would get no refund on the stay. We were so disgusted we told them we didn't even care. They didn't seem to either. Still years later, thinking about this hotel, even Venice in general, makes me so angry. Thanks, Boscolo Bellini, for ruining what was a magical trip until that point and any desire of mine ever to return to Venice.

Room Tip: A good room? One in any other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Bellini B, Direttore generale at B4 Bellini Venezia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2015

Kind Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your comments on your stay in Venice.

After reading your review here on TripAdvisor we all feel very sad about what happened to you.
I would like to apologize personally if the room assigned during your stay did not meet your expectations.

I’ll take the chance to inform that our Hotel, like many in Venice, consists in a historical Venetian palace which, along with its elegance and charms, sometimes allows inconveniences to arise.
The historical characteristics which make structural changes impossible, the architectural features and the plumbing systems of all these buildings do not help when trying to prevent bad smells to outcome. Unfortunately, high tide also influences the phenomenon, but we still do our best to contrast it and intervene as soon as reported.

Thank you for reviewing Boscolo Hotel Bellini and helping us identify critical aspects to work on in order to improve our service.

My best regards,

Ronaldo Furlan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Knowing that Venice is expensive and crowded, this hotel was a nice surprise. It is a kind of an old fashioned hotel but in a good way. The elevator is tiny, the rooms are small and the lobby is just average but it hit the mark in every way for our family for a one night stay before a cruise. I would not be against staying longer however as it is in an interesting part of Venice which can lead to more out of the way areas that are just as interesting as the area between the Rialto and San Marco. For example the staff was able to point out a smaller lagoon restaurant which served our purposes perfectly and yet was not crowded. The rooms can be small but the one which was used for an adult and two children was perfect as it was large enough, very clean and had a large modern bathroom.
The staff could not have been nicer as we arrived early but they held our bags and the next day held our bags again so we could take advantage of a morning tour until we needed to head for the cruise terminal. I wish I had gotten the name of the wonderful young lady at the desk as she was particularly charming and helpful. There is a four seat bar so you can even get a quiet drink with some nibbles they had put out. a little pricey but so is all of Venice. The included breakfast was terrific and probably would have cost some terrible amount if not included. There are tons of choices for adults and children. Since the hotel is used by large tour groups, timing your breakfast before or after the groups is helpful but the breakfast room is very large so we had no trouble getting seating for five. Again, the staff in the breakfast room was very good.
The location, however, is really key if you are cruising. First of all the water taxi from the airport can drop you off literally a few yards from the front door so if you have lots of luggage you are saved a long walk. Second, the Vaporetto is a few steps outside the door and this stop is only one stop away from the People Mover so we were able to quickly get to the cruise terminal with all our luggage very easily. If you really want to save money you can actually walk across a long bridge to the terminal as well. The train station is even nearer. By the way, taking the #2 is an easy easy to quickly get to the Rialto and just start walking from there. The restaurants recommended by staff were both good so this little hotel hit met all the needs of our family.

Room Tip: Most rooms are small but who stays in a room when Venice awaits
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in one of the classic rooms.

The room was big as was the bathroom. We were quite disappointed to find that we had to separate single beds pushed together, even though we had noted it was our honeymoon. But the Beds were comfortable. The room was also extremely old fashioned, I suppose to be more traditional.

Breakfast was a good spread with a full buffet. Staff are also very friendly and willing to help.

The hotel is located only 1 min walking from the train station and about a 30 min walk from St Marks square.

A good stay on Venice island.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Meagan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is right on the Grand Canal so handy to water taxi's so you are able to get anywhere in Venice easily. It is also next to the train station and the people mover which takes you straight to the port if going on a cruise couldn't be in a better position. The rooms are very 'Italian' maybe a little dated but clean and comfortable. The staff are extremely helpful and knowledgable. The breakfast was very nice and there is free wi fi in the lobby and computers and printers to use if necessary. Lots of places to eat nearby and things to look at. All in all a great place to stay in Venice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel was so much better than expected. Its 100m from the train station, a 5 minute walk to the area where cruise ship transportation leaves from and close to most of the tourist areas. The service was of a very high standard with reception extremely helpful in identifying how to get around, eating places etc. The actual area around the hotel has a great vibe and san marco square and the other well known attractions are walkable or easily accessed by water taxi or water bus which are 100m away from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank greynomad101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We picked this hotel because of its proximity to the train station, as we were only in Venice for one night. I am very glad that we stayed here, because it is literally a one minute walk from the train station. Very central to town, you can take a water taxi right outside the hotel to San Marco Square. The room was dated, and the shower had extremely weak water pressure. The best part about our stay at this hotel was our interaction with the gentleman who worked at the front desk, Francesco. He was extremely welcoming from the moment we walked in the door until the second we left. He allowed us to keep our luggage at the hotel while our room was being prepared, and gave us a map and a quick tour of where to go and what to see around town.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Brett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Principe
Hotel Principe
#154 of 385 in Venice
2,109 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Abbazia
Hotel Abbazia
#76 of 385 in Venice
1,945 reviews
Cannaregio
Venice Times Hotel
Venice Times Hotel
#137 of 385 in Venice
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,784 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#165 of 385 in Venice
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B4 Bellini Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B4 Bellini Venezia

Address: Rio Tera Lista di Spagna Cannaregio 116/A, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#129 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#133 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £86 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — B4 Bellini Venezia 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best way to discover Venice. The Hotel B4 Bellini Venezia is situated in an elegant 18th-century patrician palazzo in the Cannareggio quarter, transformed into a hotel at the turn of the last century. Inside, the luxurious splendour of the 18th and 19th centuries lives on in the ancient marbles and Murano glass chandeliers, all set against rich period decor. Easy to reach and overlooking the Grand Canal, the 4 star Hotel B4 Bellini Venezia is just a walking distance from Saint Mark Square, the heart of the city, in an area abounding in shops and restaurants. Discover the city with the luxury Hotel B4 Bellini Venezia as your base of operations: the special itineraries prepared by our staff will show you Venice from the inside, from new and unexpected points of view. The long history of the Hotel B4 Bellini Venezia itself makes it the ideal guide to this singular city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Fastbooking, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your B4 Bellini Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing