We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming hotel”
Review of Hotel Concordia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Concordia
Ranked #72 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
suttoncoldfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“charming hotel”
Reviewed 29 August 2008

We stayed at the concordia in nov 07. It is in the most spectacular position, right on st marks square. You couldnt get a better position! We found the reception area bright and welcoming, and the staff were really nice, they had a porter take our cases to our room, whilst we were taken through to a small bar area and were offered a complimentary drink and nibbles, which was lovely. Our room was gorgeous, a lovely large ornamental bed, nice ensuite and a fab view through charming shuttered windows, the room had everything we needed.
Breakfast was ok, not as much choice as we would have liked though, cant comment on evening meals, as we went out.
We would definately recommend this hotel, it is full of charm and character.

  • Liked — charming
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ardamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    365
    78
    19
    17
See reviews for
237
523
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Fairy, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2008

Stayed in a quadruple room , with another couple who were lucky to get the double bed, my husband slept on a camp stretcher and I on the futon couch.This was all for 400 euro per night, To make matters worse, in the dining room the waiter kept referring to my husband as the old man. There was also a waitress who smirked because we did not order the most expensive meals or wine,in all fairness there was one other waiter who was pleasant, the reception staff were not helpful at all and upon complaining re the attitude of staff were not the slightest interested. Whilst we were complaining another guest was also doing the same about the same staff.. The chap on the front door was an absolute delight , he was always cheery and welcomed us in and out of the hotel.

  • Liked — The Doorman
  • Disliked — The awful beds and Smug and rude staff
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Aroney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2008

The junior suite we booked with a terrace was a wonderful modern room. The bathroom was normal sized for Europe (spilt into two seperate bathrooms, one for the toilet and the other for the shower/tub) and done in a nice gold tile, the room had a nice sitting area, and the bedroom was also nice with a lovely view of St. Marks and a small balcony. Then suite also included a roof-top terrace with a view over the Basillica and Piazza San Marco. The hotel served a candlelit dinner on our private terrace for 160 euros plus wine, but the view with classical music playing from the Piazza was amazing. The staff was friendly, and we did feel that they were in our room too much (on a couple occasions we saw them walking out of our room), but nothing was missing. They also offered us an outrageous "special price" of 190 euros for a gondola ride, but we were able haggle them down to 110 euros for a ride at dusk. Overall a very nice hotel. Amazing room with an even better view for a better price then most other Venetian Hotels.

  • Liked — Terrace and Room
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ejovanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2008

Stayed at the Concordia in February for 2 nights. I stayed with my boyfriend (present for my 21st). Location was perfect. vey close to everything at st. Marks. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, but they will initially try and offer you trips etc... Breakfast was basic but nice-croissants, cakes, pastries etc. Rooms were clean and cosy. Great power shower!! Only downside with our room was the noise-could hear alot from outside-but your barely in your rooms!!

(tip: when we got off the coach, we tried to be clever and just walk to the hotel-this took over an hour. We should of just got straight on a water taxi!)

Venice meals can be pricey-just hunt around.

Enjoy

  • Liked — superb location
  • Disliked — noise from outside
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dani15187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2008

Arrived wednesday evening 9th April from airport with Alilaguna (12 eur per person) - took more than hour to reach St Marks Square - taxiboat specially for small groups better (100 eur). Just a short walk beside St Marks cathedral and you are there.Best location!
We had two superior double rooms facing St Marks cathedral. The rooms were large and nicely furnished. Excellent bathroom. Church bells starting maybe 7 am may disturb a bit those sleeping late. Good breakfast. Helpful staff.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lousy WLAN-connection (costfree but super slow)
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AlwariG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2008

A charming, beautiful hotel supremely located. Don't let the somewhat drab front of the hotel fool you. As you walk around to the entrance, which is in the back of the hotel, you will see the elegant entrance. The friendly staff welcomed us with drinks upon our arrival. Our room was very nice. We had a queen and had a separate small area that had a daybed/couch. The bathroom was pretty and clean.

The included buffet breakfast offered fresh fruits, yogurts, delicious breads and other baked goods, cold cuts, juice, etc. This was a great deal as food in Venice, especially with the dollar falling in value, was expensive.

The view from our room was one of the best memories from my trip. The windows open out and you can lean out of them and watch the hustle and bustle of St. Marco Square, and enjoy as the little metal man strikes the bell. In the mornings when the square is still nearly empty, you can watch as the peddlers bring their carts out and tourists start to arrive.

The only caveat is that you can get better deals on the gondola by yourself than you can from the hotel, and the Murano boat trip factory they send you to if you take the free trip will try to sell you some very pricey pieces. After the glass factory salesmen realized we weren't going to bite and pay a couple thousand dollars for their items, they finally showed us to their cheaper rooms. We bought a trinket we probably could have gotten cheaper elsewhere and left to go explore Murano, which is very charming and had inexpensive souveniers by the boatload.

Other than that, I would highly, highly recommend this hotel, which was easy to find. As you face the square, you go all the way back and to the right. The entrance is right across from McDonald's. One warning, there are many steps in this hotel and I don't believe there is a way up for the handicapped from the street. I may be wrong, but I don't believe there was an elevator from the street. There is one from the lobby, but it is tiny.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank janiac61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2008

Back from 3 nights in Venice stopping at the Concordia.
Great location, and lovely staff. Being a simple bloke I booked this trip as a treat / xmas present for Trina. Didnt realise it was festival.... Reception really was great, getting us into a masked ball with 5 hours lead. No rip off and a great experence not to be missed. (where else does a middle aged guy get to sit with 5 masked women ? Oh Ok ,but one was my wife!)
St Marks Sq was manic , but easy to escape the herd and we found great places to eat simply by walking for ten minutes and taking a chance.
Would we stay at Concordia again? Yes! Only down side is the bells, but this is Venice & a pair of ear plugs ensured a great nights sleep.
Steve & Trina

  • Liked — View over St Marks Square
  • Disliked — Has to be those bells........
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marg-SteveMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,797 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#69 of 385 in Venice
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 385 in Venice
1,986 reviews
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#63 of 385 in Venice
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Concordia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Concordia

Property: Hotel Concordia
Address: Calle Larga San Marco San Marco 367, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#61 Family Hotel in Venice
#66 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Concordia 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Concordia, in the heart of Venice, is the only Hotel overlooking Piazza San Marco. The Beggiato Family has been running the hotel for four generations as its own home, giving the place a warm atmosphere and distinguished elegance. The 51 rooms, all furnished with original antique furniture, Murano chandeliers, marble bathrooms or precious Venetian mosaic are all equipped with all the best modern technologies in order to satisfy the most demanding requirements. Most of the rooms offer a breathtaking view over the spires and the mosaics of the Basilica and over Piazza San Marco. As a Canaletto painting the San Marco Basilica is the background of the exclusive Restaurant “La Piazzetta”, the ideal setting to experience the delights of local cuisine and enjoy a drink in the charming elegant bar lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Concordia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concordia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing