We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An almost perfect hotel”
Review of Hotel Concordia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Concordia
Ranked #73 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“An almost perfect hotel”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have travelled to Venice many times and stayed at the Concordia for all but one of those trips. We absolutely love the hotel. The service is excellent. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is very good, buffet style, with hot food, cold meats and cheese, cereals, fruit and freshly made pastries. The coffee is good (but don't have the cappuccino!) and they can also do hot chocolate.
The location is superb. We stay here when we go for Carnival because the square is literally moments away, and you can pop back for a rest or to freshen up in-between the events. Everywhere is easy walking distance, and the hotel can get a water taxi to pick you up close by, so there is no need to walk down through the square to the waterfront.
Housekeeping is a weak link. We put out the "Make up room" signs, but no-one came. Then when we returned at the end of the day they would knock on the door to get in. Also, the first night we had turndown, but no-one came on the other two nights.
I would have given this hotel five stars as everything about it is superb....except for one thing. The beds and pillows are so uncomfortable that you can barely sleep. We have been home a week and I still have sore shoulders and headaches. It's like sleeping on wooden planks with a brick to put your head on. Absolutely dreadful; which is a real shame because everything else is brilliant. I don't know if the other rooms are the same, but as much as we love it we honestly couldn't go there again because of the discomfort. Waking up every morning with sore necks, and feeling tired all the time was awful. We had two rooms and they were both the same. We actually couldn't wait to get home to get some rest.
If you like firm (!) beds you will be fine.

Room Tip: Rooms C1 and C2 at the top of the hotel aren't on the website - You have to ask for them. C2 is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahCahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giocar, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear SarahCahi,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your nice feedback.
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our Hotel and our services.
Our buffet breakfast is very rich and served in our lovely breakfast room overlooking St. Mark's Cathedral, we serve very good selections of tea, coffee and very good Capuccino.
Normally, when guests ask to make up the room , the room is made very soon but sometimes, especially on busy moment of the high season , as Carnival is, can take a bit longer and we are sorry for that.
All mattresses and pillows are brand new but, on request of the guests, we can always provide softer ones.
Thank you also for your nice review about our location and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Best regards

Giuliano Brogliato/Front Office Manager
and the management of the Hotel Concordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    365
    78
    19
    17
See reviews for
237
523
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We have stayed at this hotel three times now and will happily return again. It is ideally located, friendly, comfortable and clean. Breakfast has something for everyone and is of a very high quality. The only slight drawback is the the church bells every hour during the night however you do get used to them. If you want to treat yourself, book a suite with a terrace and a view of St Marks square. More expensive but well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FudgeLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giocar, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to write your nice review about us and happy to learn that for the third time you enjoyed the stay with us.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again very soon.

Warm regards

Giuliano Brogliato/Front Office Manager
And the Management of the Hotel Concordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel at all. It was simply gorgeous in every way. Beautiful room, very comfortable beds (ALWAYS important for me!), awesome bathroom with toiletries, and great breakfast and coffee.
Please be aware that upon arrival at the hotel, you will notice the stairs. I had a little mini tantrum when I saw these stairs because we had been dragging our suitcases (big ones) for miles to get to the hotel. Not because the hotel was far from the station, but because we got lost a few times. So when I saw these stairs, I got a little flustered because I thought we had to lug our cases up these stairs. However, a very nice porter came down the stairs to help with our luggage. Despite my little spat in the foyer (I'm still embarrassed about that!), the staff were really nice and even helped us with our train bookings before we checked out.
The location is also excellent and the view from the room was amazing. In fact, the hotel room itself was probably one of the most beautiful rooms I've stayed in thus far. Thank you so much Hotel Concordia for making our Venezia experience a comfortable one!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giocar, Direttore at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Clare A,


Thanks a lot for posting you nice review.
We are happy to learn you did enjoy our Hotel and service.
Our doorman is always waiting for our clients to arrive to welcome them and help them with lugguage.
Service and location are our forte.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Warm regards

Giuliano Brogliato
Front Office Manager and the Management of the Hotel Concordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Overlooking the Basilica, one minute walk from St Marco. Lovely room, not large but very attractively furnished and comfortable and bathroom with bath. Helpful staff, great breakfast in dining room overlooking the Basilica. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giocar, Direttore at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Philippa,


Thanks a lot for your nice feedback.
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our location and our comforts, thanks from all our staff.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Warm regards

Giuliano Brogliato
Front Office Manager and the Management of the Hotel Concordia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Hotel Concordia has an inviting staff, all pleasant and ready to help. The room was not big but decent size by European standards and certainly adequate and comfortable. Furnishings and decorating were lovely. I liked that we could open the window. Location can't be beat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tikibarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giocar, Direttore at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Tikibarb,

First of all we would like to tell you that we are happy to know that you spent a good stay with us.
Thanks also for your review about our staff, our location and the furnishment of our rooms.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon

Best regards

Giuliano Brogliato
Front Office Manager and the Management of the Hotel Concordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

It was our first trip ever to Venice. The hotel is very nice. It is small, but it is in VENICE! Rooms and public spaces were beautifully decorated. The breakfast was very, very nice and the staff was very helpful and attentive...always cheerful and willing to help. You can walk with your luggage from the boat arrival point at the end of St. Mark's Square to the hotel. We were very happy with choice. Didn't see a pool or a fitness center as asked below. Not necessary anyway in beautiful Venice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayjayd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giocar, Direttore at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear jayjayd2,

Thanks a lot for posting you nice review.
We are happy to learn you did enjoy our Hotel and service.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

warm regards

Giuliano Brogliato
Front Office manager and the management of the Hotel Concordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Our family visited Venice over Thanksgiving break and stayed at the Hotel Concordia. We were thrilled with the super location convenient to everything we wanted to do and see in Venice. The service was friendly and expedient and the rooms were very comfortable albeit a bit dated.
The bathroom was smallish, but perfectly fine with a toasty hot shower with plenty of water pressure. Linens were fresh and soft on the king-sized bed. Our three girls - ages 16 thru 21 - shared an additional room with a kingsized bed and a couch. Their suite was roomier and perfect. The BEST thing about the Concordia was "Chocolate Time" at 3:00 each afternoon in the dining room. OMG - the Venetian hot cocoa is so much better than American style?! It is THICK and not soso sweet. Served in different flavors - I chose orange - it is served in charming teapots along with a cup of real whipped cream. A table of pastries was available, so of course we shared a wedge of a lingonberry torte. What a perfect mid-afternoon pick me up?! We had the greatest time in Venice and although it was a bit chilly, we simply bundled up and enjoyed NO lines at the museums, opera house, shops and restaurants. We also enjoyed a night time Gondola ride thru the canals for 80 Euro for the 5 of us. The gondolier was quite charming!

Room Tip: Visit Venice over US Thanksgiving break - or the cooler "off season." So perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giocar, Direttore at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Staci C,

Thanks a lot for posting you nice review.
We are happy to learn you did enjoy our Hotel and service.
Thank you also for your nice words about our " Chocolate time " which is something that usually our guests love....
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

warm regards

Giuliano Brogliato
Front Office manager and the management of the Hotel Concordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,797 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#70 of 385 in Venice
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 385 in Venice
1,986 reviews
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
San Marco
Hotel Montecarlo
Hotel Montecarlo
#86 of 385 in Venice
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Concordia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Concordia

Property: Hotel Concordia
Address: Calle Larga San Marco San Marco 367, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#61 Family Hotel in Venice
#66 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Concordia 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Concordia, in the heart of Venice, is the only Hotel overlooking Piazza San Marco. The Beggiato Family has been running the hotel for four generations as its own home, giving the place a warm atmosphere and distinguished elegance. The 51 rooms, all furnished with original antique furniture, Murano chandeliers, marble bathrooms or precious Venetian mosaic are all equipped with all the best modern technologies in order to satisfy the most demanding requirements. Most of the rooms offer a breathtaking view over the spires and the mosaics of the Basilica and over Piazza San Marco. As a Canaletto painting the San Marco Basilica is the background of the exclusive Restaurant “La Piazzetta”, the ideal setting to experience the delights of local cuisine and enjoy a drink in the charming elegant bar lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Concordia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concordia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing