We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location!”
Review of Hotel Concordia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Concordia
Ranked #73 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel, great location!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights here may 15 & 16. The location could not have been better steps away from st. Marks square. The staff was very friendly and answered any questions we had being this was our first visit to Venice. The water taxi brought us right up the canal to the street the hotel was on, literally 2 minute walk. Our bags were waiting for our Room as it was not ready at noontime. We went to there dining room for lunch. ( very expensive) . We should have gone out on the street for there are quite a few to choose from. Now the room.. Although it was small it was very clean and comfortable. The church bells didn't bother us once we fell asleep. I enjoyed our stay here at the Concordia although a bit expensive.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Scorpiomb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    366
    79
    19
    17
See reviews for
240
526
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

This Hotel must be two star hotel. We have been to lot of hotels for your Italy vacation this is the worst and the expensive so far !! The rooms are very small, dirty and there ara stains all over the walls .there is no view at all !! They want to charge extra for a view!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Nazli Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giocar, Director of Sales at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Ms. Nazli,

thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to leave us a comment.

Further to your review, kindly allow us to address the points you mentioned in it.

We know that our treasured Guests have travelled around the world, come from the most different and modern places, and are used to great spaces and open views.

Venice is a small, ancient town of more than 1500 years, built with great difficulty over water and more than 110 small islands, where space is a precious and rare commodity.

This of course also reflects upon the size of the rooms (offices, guestrooms, classrooms, shops, rooms in private houses) in each building.

As in most Medieval cities, the streets are very narrow and the buildings very close to each other. This means that not all rooms in a building will enjoy a good view.

We are aware that this may be surprising, even disappointing for those who come from completely different surroundings, but it is part of the everlasting mystery and charm of Venice.

As a natural consequence of this, our rooms (but this is true for Hotels everywhere) are divided in categories according to size and view.

The room we assigned was, as per reservation, a Classic Double Room, which is our basic category and does not have a view over St. Mark's Square.

When you enquired about the possibility for a room with a view over St. Mark's Square, the person in charge correctly offered availability with a daily supplement, which is easily verifiable through our official website. The rate offered was actually a special reduced rate.

When the issues with the first room were brought up, we decided to investigate further in order to guarantee the best service possible. Therefore, we moved you to a different room without any supplement.

We have of course taken good note of your remarks regarding the first room, which will be subjected to a thorough check.

We value our Guests’ experience and are grateful when we receive remarks that can be used to improve the overall level of service and attention to the Guest.

Always at your disposal, we remain with our best regards,

Paola Dota
Sales & Marketing
Hotel Concordia - Venice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Spent 3 nights in late April. It is ideally situated just off St Marcs square and is surrounded by numerous restaurants and cafes/bars. You are looked after from the moment you walk in. Check in was so easy and staff are very friendly, giving you lots of good advice. A porter shows to yuo to your room and another one brings your luggage to the room. Rooms are very nice for a city centre hotel, well equipped and very well appointed bathroom. Bedding/towels were changed daily and beds were turned back and shutters closed at night. Breakfast was excellent. Concierge will tell you where you need to go to eat in the best restaurants away from the tourists - he'll even walk you there if your not sure
Nothing was too much trouble at this hotel and I would recommend highly

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street which is very busy and I imagine is very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a special birthday celebration as a couple. Great location for visiting doges palace and our room 120 overlooked St Marks Square. Breakfasts were good self service buffets. Staff were very helpful and knowledgeable. We had a wonderful time here. Location did also mean you frequently hear a lot of bells ringing but we did not mind this.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed 2 nights in April 2014. Extermely expensive for what they offer. Very well located, good brekfast, but the rooms are definitely not my style. Decoration pretend to be 19th century style but it's nothing but kitsch. Rooms are a little bit noisy; if you are a light sleeper, you will enjoy the sound of the bells from Piazza San Marco every hour. Room keys seems the same they used during 19th century too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRLArgentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here from Sunday April 13th through Saturday April 19, 2014. We arrived in Venice via water taxi and got off the Todaro stop. The walk to the hotel is 5 minutes under the clock tower and make a right turn. Previous to our arrival all emails were promptly answered. We were immediately shown to our room by the bellman. Upon inspection of the room the mini fridge did not work - it was repaired but 2 days later did not work again. The remote did not work and was not replaced during our stay. The tv is a monitor only so to change channels we had to use the satellite box. There were only 2 english channels - BBC1 and CNN. CNN did not work half the time. The internet is practically non-existent (it is free). I successfully connected 3 times for the week and even then I was bounced off. Could not get a solid connection anywhere inside hotel (weak signal and too many users). Glad I had my 4G phone. The room is dated, what some might call "distressed" in its appearance. The walls are covered in a material - not really a wallpaper but more like a 'slip cover' you would see on furniture. All the sockets are the 3 pin type. The room was meticulously clean. There are no screens on the windows so they had to remain bolted shut to keep the quarter size mosquitoes out. By Wednesday the room became an oven, there is no A/C this time of year only heat so we couldn't even get air to circulate. The bed was a king size with a firm mattress. The bathroom was a shower and a nice sized one. By Tuesday the water in shower would not go down the drain and it was promptly fixed. But water constantly leaked under the door onto the floor. Housekeeping was very good and friendly. The staff in general was excellent. But the older staff members were less friendly - stiff and formal- and we quickly learned to avoid them when possible. Breakfast was included in the room rate. There was sausage, eggs, bacon, mushrooms fresh each day. Also cold cuts, breads, and cereals. Coffees, teas, and waters. There is no information center where you could look at and collect brochures. The Hotel does have the customary tourist map. A tabachi, farmacia, and markets are all near by. As well as 2 cashpoints (ATMs), plenty of shops, and great restaurants. We had the Piazza view room and it was definently worth it (at the Facebook pre-paid rate). The bells every hour added to the experience and noise was never a concern. This is a solid 3.5 star hotel that is run efficiently. We would definitely recommend for the first time visitor.

Room Tip: Hotel gives you access to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We choose this hotel because it was well rated here and also because someone from the hotel takes the trouble to respond to reviews. The central location and good impression created by the website helped ! Essentially we agree with most other reviews. Great location, but with that comes a little street noise and bells. But that is Venice ! Friendly helpful staff, from doormen to front desk to servers to house keeping. Breakfast was perfectly adequate - standard European buffet style - and the rooms fine all be it a little small but unless you have excessive luggage, who needs massive space ? We liked the décor and nooks and crannies - the bar is small and cosy for example. The only negative is that the room was rather hot. We were told that the air conditioning - included in the description on the website - was not switched on until the end of April. Something to do with the city authorities. We were offered another room - higher up so "fresher" - but it was no better and it was smaller.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_Rabbit1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giocar, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Concordia, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Peter Rab,

We thank you very much for your nice review.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Concordia

Warm regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 385 in Venice
1,823 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 385 in Venice
2,009 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#68 of 385 in Venice
1,489 reviews
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
San Marco
Hotel Montecarlo
Hotel Montecarlo
#83 of 385 in Venice
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Concordia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Concordia

Property: Hotel Concordia
Address: Calle Larga San Marco San Marco 367, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#61 Family Hotel in Venice
#66 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Concordia 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Concordia, in the heart of Venice, is the only Hotel overlooking Piazza San Marco. The Beggiato Family has been running the hotel for four generations as its own home, giving the place a warm atmosphere and distinguished elegance. The 51 rooms, all furnished with original antique furniture, Murano chandeliers, marble bathrooms or precious Venetian mosaic are all equipped with all the best modern technologies in order to satisfy the most demanding requirements. Most of the rooms offer a breathtaking view over the spires and the mosaics of the Basilica and over Piazza San Marco. As a Canaletto painting the San Marco Basilica is the background of the exclusive Restaurant “La Piazzetta”, the ideal setting to experience the delights of local cuisine and enjoy a drink in the charming elegant bar lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Concordia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concordia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing