We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location close to Piazza San Marco”
Review of Hotel Colombina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Colombina
Ranked #51 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Convenient location close to Piazza San Marco”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Quaint historic hotel just a few alleys from Piazza San Marco, and beside a quiet canal. Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are comfortable, clean, and quiet. Great breakfast. Excursions are available from the hotel's launch, but a little pricey.

Room Tip: Choose a canal-side room for the ambiance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayessdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,129
    480
    118
    37
    29
See reviews for
328
1,088
28
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Johnsbury, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I've traveled to over 90 countries all around the world, and the Hotel Colombina is one of my favorite places I've stayed. It is located directly on the canal that the Bridge of Sighs crosses, and is most easily reached by private water taxi that drives under the bridge, and up to the hotel's water gate. There is a nearby foot bridge that connects to the warren of back alleys, as well as St. Mark's, which is about a 3 minute walk away. The location could not be more picturesque, with constant gondolla traffic, or convenient.
The Gothic and Renaissance hotel building has been immaculately refurbished, and its warm and inviting interior reflects the period.
The service is impeccable, and the room in which I stayed was completely modernized and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was equally enjoyable.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is a very central and very nice hotel. We discovered it thanks to our friends, and were very pleased with it. Alessandro from reception staff emailed us before our stay to ask if we needed anything, which was very attentive. Even though we made a standard reservation we were given a very nice suite room (Room no 503) with no extra charge. The room was perfect with a terrace at the top which I hope to visit again during summer. Reception staff and again Alessandro was very helpful. I will definitely stay again in this hotel and recommend it to everyone, especially for romantic getaways. My only complaint was due to a very rude waiter in breakfast, but even this was taken into attention by the reception staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suha73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have just returned to the UK from Venice staying in the excellent Hotel Colombina for a week Comfortable, clean, staff very helpful, polite.
Our room was excellent. Breakfast buffet style with pleanty of choice ranging from cereals, meats, cheese,fruit, breads & eggs & bacon. Bar prices are high so drink out.
Would not hesitate to recommend a short stay or longer if you wish, close to St Marks Square a wionderful area of Venice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay at colombina hotel very much. Nice hotel, location, breakfast and a wounderful room especially that we had booked a deluxe room with canal view which was really amazing.
A little bit pricy but this is venice anyway :(

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z_abouzeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This was our second choice as our first was fully booked but we could afford to upgrade to a canal view room with this hotel. So glad we chose this as the location was much better. Easy to find from the San Marco water bus stop - right by St Marks square but just tucked away enough to be peaceful at nights. St Marks square and surrounding roads ridiculously expensive so we turned right out of the hotel and found some little gems further afield. The room was a decent size and clean although much warmer than I like. We did open the windows to sleep but kept the shutters firmly closed and lights off and with a squirt of bug stuff we remained unvisited by bitey bugs. Breakfast was as expected nothing spectacular but enough to keep us going. If i was to return to Venice i would definitely stay here again. It would be lovely to splash out and arrive by water taxi but it isn't necessary as it is such a short walk and only one bridge to tackle with cases and thats the one right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: I would definitely pay the extra for a canal view room and with this hotel it is affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyAmblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend on early December and we couldn't be any happier. This hotel is in the perfect location. Steps from San Marco square yet not in the busy middle. The breakfast had the essentials which was fine with us and the room was quite quaint.

We decided to spurge a little and get a canal view. Not only it had a canal view but up the stairs from our window we had our own private rooftop! It was unexpected and we are so glad they gave us that room. We bought a bottle of wine and after dinner went straight to the rooftop to enjoy the view!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marywil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#29 of 385 in Venice
2,280 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 385 in Venice
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#73 of 385 in Venice
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colombina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colombina

Property: Hotel Colombina
Address: Calle del Remedio - Castello 4416, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#51 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#59 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colombina 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colombina is centrally located in the heart of Venice, just a few steps from St. Mark’s Square. The noble Venetian palace which accommodates the hotel faces one of the world’s most famous gondola serenades canal and boasts a breath-taking view on the Bridge of Sighs and the spires of San Marco Basilica. Guests can feel the elegant Venetian atmosphere, surrounded by the quietness of the city, rocked by the serenades of the gondoliers and by all the comforts of a modern hotel situated in one of, if not the most, romantic cities in the world....Locanda Remedio is the dependance of the Colombina, it is rated 3 stars and is located in an annex building just behind the Colombina Palazzo and connected via a private Venetian courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Fastbooking, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Colombina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombina Hotel Locanda Remedio
Colombina Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing