We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Experience - Great Location!”
Review of Hotel Colombina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Colombina
Ranked #52 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had a wonderful time at Hotel Columbina after a 3 night stay. Arriving by water bus from the airport, it was a short walk to find our hotel from the San Marco Stop. Our families occupied 3 rooms, each with their own style and decor. The Location was perfect behind Piazza San Marco and an easy walk to either the Rialto area or San Marco Square. Having teens, this safe and conveniently located hotel allowed them some freedom and us some piece of mind. The bright white fasad with beautiful window boxes of purple flowers was a perfect backdrop to our canal view of the Bridge of Sighs. Marco at the front desk was great and Alessandro, our porter, were both a great help and helped us secure a water taxi to the train station which picked us up right at our hotel dock. I would recommend this hotel not only for families but also for couples.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Lombco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

663 - 669 of 1,879 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had a wonderful stay. The hotel staff was so nice and helpful. They gave us great ideas for dinner. They also arranged a boat ride for one of the festival that happened the weekend we where there. I can't wait to return to Venice and return to the hotel. Our room was beautiful and the breakfast was wonderful. I can't say enough good thing about this wonderful hotel and staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Theresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hotel Columbina in Venice was a wonderful experience! Not only was the location perfecto, but so were the accommodations and the staff. Marco and Alessandro (the porter) were willing to do whatever we needed and greeted us with a smile each time we returned to the lobby! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Colombina hotel is very close to St Marks Square, not far from Vaporetto stops, and has a good canal (just up from bridge of sighs) location. For a Venice hotel it is probably better that average, but next time we stay in Venice we will pay more and go for a better quality hotel. Stated as 4 stars, but 4 stars ion Venice is 3 anywhere else.

Bathroom tiny in room 400, but the room was perfectly adequate.
Breakfast was included, and it is adequate, but no more.

Staff were very helpful.
Wifi is a bit odd, no blanket wifi, and you need to log out each time you stop browsing (if you were able to connect in first place)!

But wifi way better that our last trip to Italy.

Room Tip: We had an attic room - 400, with a rooftop view over to the east, towards Arsenale, and south to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We had a room overlooking the canal. If we stuck our heads out the window & looked left we could see the Bridge of Sighs. Below we could see a quiet canal junction & the little footbridge towards the hotel. It was lovely to leave the windows open in the afternoon, see the light beaming in with a cool breeze and to hear gondoliers singing occasionally as they passed. Such views & sounds are commensurate with the romantic conjurings of what I hoped Venice to be. To this end, the canal view room did not disappoint.

The room itself was large, with high ceilings, as was the ensuite. The room was decorated in typical Venetian style, with tall windows that provided lots of natural light. It felt like we were staying in a modest palace.

Breakfast was good. A selection of hot & cold foods were available from the buffet. Staff at the hotel were very friendly.

The location of the hotel is incredible. It's about a 5 minute walk to St Mark's yet it is quiet & away from the busy crowds. Numerous restaurants are very close by, including Alfredo's, which is very popular among Trip Advisor reviewers.

I would gladly stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank sigosling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel is almost perfect for the area you are staying in. Like most things in Venice everything is designed to hit into the smallest space possible-which to an extent this hotel has-but still has a lovely interior and room size.

Our room has a fantastic view of the canal and from the section outside it leads almost directly down to the main waterway. From the hotel, most of the main attractions are very close by to walk to. If it get's a little warm during the day it's in a perfect place to head back to for a break. The room we were in had a separate balcony away from the noise and was perfect to relax in the evening.

The staff were amazingly helpful and gave us a range of directions and tips for places to go to visit or eat. One evening, we were looking for somewhere to eat and they booked us a table and gave us amazingly easy directions.

This place, though not the cheapest place to stay, was idea for what we wanted and exceeded our expectations. Superb!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel is beautifully decorated in an old, traditional way. We absolutely loved it there. The staff was friendly and very helpful and all spoke very good English and they had many useful tips about which trips to take.

The location is perfect. It’s only a couple of minutes to walk to the St. Marks square. We even had a view over it from our room. The hotel is also on the same canal as the Bridge of Sighs, you can view it from the hotel. I would absolutely recommend this hotel and when we return to Venice we will stay here again without a doubt.

When you come with boat – which is the only way of transport in Venice, the hotel has its own dock for the water taxies right by the entrance (about one meter :)– so you avoid having to carry your luggage up and down the bridges in town to get to your hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Queenofsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#33 of 385 in Venice
2,417 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#122 of 385 in Venice
2,182 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#74 of 385 in Venice
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#32 of 385 in Venice
2,069 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colombina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colombina

Address: Calle del Remedio - Castello 4416, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#50 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#59 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £95 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colombina 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colombina is centrally located in the heart of Venice, just a few steps from St. Mark’s Square. The noble Venetian palace which accommodates the hotel faces one of the world’s most famous gondola serenades canal and boasts a breath-taking view on the Bridge of Sighs and the spires of San Marco Basilica. Guests can feel the elegant Venetian atmosphere, surrounded by the quietness of the city, rocked by the serenades of the gondoliers and by all the comforts of a modern hotel situated in one of, if not the most, romantic cities in the world....Locanda Remedio is the dependance of the Colombina, it is rated 3 stars and is located in an annex building just behind the Colombina Palazzo and connected via a private Venetian courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Fastbooking, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Colombina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombina Hotel Locanda Remedio
Colombina Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing