We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel near Bridge of Sighs”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Colombina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Colombina
Ranked #51 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel near Bridge of Sighs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

This was a great hotel - lots of ambience, and concierge/front desk very helpful with directions, recommendations, etc. It is perfectly located just outside Piazza San Marco and just behind the Bridge of Sighs. Both times we stayed here, we had an upper room overlooking the canal, with a view of the Campagnile and the Bridge of Sighs - very romantic if that's your thing. There is marble in the bathrooms and a great soaking tub, although we never had a chance to use it. The room is tastefully decorated in a period Venetian style. There is a bar downstairs open in pre-dinner to late night; and there is a breakfast room where there is a complimentary Continental breakfast. There is also a water taxi stop just in front of the lobby. This really is a great hotel for a visit to a great city!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFBayTravelSensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,103
    473
    115
    37
    28
See reviews for
324
1,060
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, mid August. Although we were significantly younger than the majority of the rest of the guests, we were nevertheless welcomed in by the friendly staff. The location is a few minutes walk away from St Marks square, and other popular attractions. Brilliant hotel, and would visit again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

So much written by other rewires already and mostly it has been about the wonderful location of the hotel and we agree, of course.

For us it is important that a hotel has a pier to enable smooth arriving by a taxi boat to and from the hotel. Because of so many one sided “roads” you get to see a lot on a boat ride from the airport to the hotel and v.v. and we truly enjoyed these rides.

Like said, we agree with other rewires about the high standard of the hotel and in brief, most likely we will stay next time too in Hotel Colombina.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AEROTRAVELLING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

The location couldn't be more perfect, the rooms are small, but wonderfully decorated. Staff are great and the place is full of character... in the evening I use to sit with a drink on the little pontoon outside the canal entrance to the hotel and watch the flotilla of gondola's pass by as they came from the Bridge of Sighs about 100m down the canal... you couldn't put a price on that !!!

Well you can, the cost of a drink from the hotel is typically 3 times of that of an outside bar... but what the hell .. it was worth it :-)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Marsh580421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aus
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel early August 2014 for 3 nights. The instructions to locate the hotel were exact and we had no problems at all. The location was extremely central and close to all the main attractions including San Marco and the Rialto bridge. The hotel staff were extremely helpful giving us maps, pointing out attractions, offering to organise gondola rides and other activities. The breakfast buffet was also great with a big variety and good coffee! Loved the style of the room, room was bigger than expected and had a great air conditioner (it was very hot outside). The hotel organised a private taxi to the train station which was only 10 mins away.

Room Tip: You have to go a room with a canal view, fairly quiet small canal leading to the main canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank witty072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Venice was one of my honeymoon trips, I stayed last year with my husband three days at this hotel, actually the location is perfect, it is near of river bus station, it takes about seven minutes that if you don't have too much laugages, also it is behind San Marco square, when we entered the hotel our impression was not good, it seems that it is three stars hotel but we realized later that it looks like the most of hotels there, the room was perfect, you feel warm and privacy inside, and room service was very good, also our room has a canal view that gave us the romantic we needed and about the size of the room and bathroom it was very good, our stay included open buffet breakfast but it was very bad, no varities, no quality besides no good service, the staff at the restaurant didn't care to keep tables clean after guests leave and they take time to meet your requests .. concerning the reception staff they were kind but not too much helpful .. totaly our stay was good but next time we will try another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nabilaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel for one night. It was exactly what I expected from a hotel in Venice. The hotel lobby, hallways and restaurant were very tight but in a charming sort of way (although I'm not sure I could have taken more than one breakfast meal in the very tight dining area). The hotel was clean over all and decorated in an old world style that just added to the experience. The rooms were not overly spacious but worked just fine (we had a double and triple). Both bathrooms were updated and lovely but the double room bath was larger than the triple room bath. The shower leaked a bit, but this seems to be a running theme for showers in Italian hotels. Hotel Colombina was a great experience in a FANTASTIC location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#26 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,490 reviews
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#38 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#14 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colombina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colombina

Property: Hotel Colombina
Address: Calle del Remedio - Castello 4416, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#51 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#59 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colombina 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colombina is centrally located in the heart of Venice, just a few steps from St. Mark’s Square. The noble Venetian palace which accommodates the hotel faces one of the world’s most famous gondola serenades canal and boasts a breath-taking view on the Bridge of Sighs and the spires of San Marco Basilica. Guests can feel the elegant Venetian atmosphere, surrounded by the quietness of the city, rocked by the serenades of the gondoliers and by all the comforts of a modern hotel situated in one of, if not the most, romantic cities in the world....Locanda Remedio is the dependance of the Colombina, it is rated 3 stars and is located in an annex building just behind the Colombina Palazzo and connected via a private Venetian courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Colombina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombina Hotel Locanda Remedio
Colombina Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing