We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera
Ranked #296 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Hotel was located quite far from the center of Venice; where all the sightseeing is. Rooms were clean and spacious. Manager at the reception was very rude and not friendly at all.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    227
    260
    116
    80
See reviews for
158
299
29
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

During my two-week tour around Western Europe, I had a stopover in Venice where I stayed at this Holiday Inn hotel off the island. Although it was somewhat run-down, the room was comfortable enough and one could choose from a selection of pillows, and this being the first full-fledged Holiday Inn hotel I've stayed at I'm quite impressed with this tiny but important feature. Sleeping was okay too. My experience was extremely vague and we were with a tour. Apparently the prices now are SGD102 - 178, and it's a bit over the top but fair enough.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Hotel lobby looks very old like from the 70s. No free WiFi in the hotel but a desktop computer which has internet access is available to use for free at the reception. There are 3 lifts but were very small, enough to accommodate 2 people and 2 luggages only. Room corridor has a musty smell from the carpet. Hotel room is pretty small and the carpet is indeed dirty. Bathroom has mould in between the tiles. Gym is very small as well and the equipments are old. They're free weights ranging from 1KG to 12KG only.
Breakfast is disappointing for a Holiday Inn, selection of cold cuts, cheese, scrambled eggs, bacon and some bread only. Scrambled eggs tasted disgusting and very yellowish in colour.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BedaBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed 2 nights here in October 2011. The location is just off the autoroute and Mestre is very industrialised, so it's not exactly picturesque but we were well-prepared so weren't disappointed. The aircon didn't work especially well though (temperature probably set centrally) so we had to sleep with the window open. Whilst checking in, I happened to ask directions to the car park for the Fusina ferry. Cue hard sell on the Holiday Inn minibus to Venice (I think 12 euros each) because 'the car parks are VERY expensive'. Well, I get sick on coaches so that was out anyway but it turned out that terminal Fusina (sounds way grander than it actually is!) was only about a 15-20 minute drive and it really wasn't that much more expensive than the minibus for car parking and the ferry tickets - I think 32 euros in total. And much nicer to arrive in Venice by boat! You need to check the timetable beforehand though as we missed one boat by literally 10 seconds and then had to wait an hour for the next one. It was sunny though and a woman thoughtfully decided to sunbathe topless behind us, to my husband's delight, so the hour passed quite pleasantly ...! My top tip? Look in tourist information offices as we (the day after!) found a Terminal Fusina voucher for a 6 euro discount each. There is an Auchan hypermarket not too far from the hotel and we bought an excellent cooked chicken and fries there for a fraction of the cost of eating in a restaurant. Stretched my non-existent Italian to the limit but a lot of smiling and gesticulating won the day!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ishouldcocouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

This is the poorest Holiday Inn that i have experienced. The property is very tired with average rooms. Breakfast not great. On the positive side it is very easy to access Venice via a hotel shuttle bus.

Room Tip: Request a room on the back of the hotel facing away from the very busy roundabout that the hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

First of all let me make clear that this property has the potential to be an excellent hotel. The rooms, although on the small side, are comfortable, clean, and well appointed. On this basis I had no issues whatever. That being said the level of service and staff attitude were both atrocious! As a Priority Club Platinum member I book all my IHG hotels through the PC website. Therefore I rely on accurate descriptions to enable me to make an informed choice of where to stay. Problem number one, the location. Contrary to the website, which states 1.4 KM from Venice Mestre train station, this hotel is around 4 or 5 KM from the station. Buses DO NOT run regularly. And even if you take the bus a 10 minute walk is then required. A taxi for this short journey will cost you between €16 and €20!

Problem number two, the internet. This service is provided by Vodafone and the Hotel has no input (apparently). Only available to guests able to use specific CREDIT cards. No debit cards acceptable (no reason given, just the way it is). Therefore if you don't have (or wish to use) a credit card then the perfectly reasonable alternative of a VISA debit card is useless. This form of payment is accepted all around the world, but not by Vodafone Italy (apparently). Hotel was not interested. They should clearly state on the website that they DO NOT provide a hotel based wireless service and that this is only provided by a 3rd party accepting limited methods of payment. One could then elect to stay elsewhere! Simple!

Now the staff attitude. This was horrendous! Arrogant and ignorant comes to mind! I asked for the name and/or email address of the General Manager. Apparently I was not entitled to this information. All complaints had to be raised via duty manager who would pass the matter on. Obviously the General Manager in this hotel is far too grand to deal with the "common" customer! How pathetic! Breakfast time and not one member of staff could be found in the breakfast area! When one eventually turned up she was most upset that a customer who had been waiting nearly 15 minutes was annoyed!

Checkout was equally a pantomime! The Duty Manager who was manning the reception (only member of staff on reception incidentally) was most 'anxious' to announce quite loudly that my payment card was "NOT GOOD". Apparently he had tried to charge it for the full stay and incidentals 2 hours earlier that morning (without me first checking the bill). Supposedly it was declined! I gave him the exact same card and, surprise surprise, it was absolutely fine! The point here being that this supposed experienced member of staff was content to state a customer's card was being declined in the sight and hearing of other customers, and not to deal with the matter discreetly.

I should say that for getting into Venice itself the hotel provides a shuttle service several times daily. This must be pre booked and costs €8. The service was actually quite efficient.

Gold/Platinum members of Priority Club should expect ABSOLUTELY NOTHING by way of recognition from this property.

Overall this is not a suitable property if location is important. Also, those not willing to accept the "Fawlty Towers" style service should really look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear of the hotel away from the view of the Petrol Station!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tgsh2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Clean, great location, great Value.. Perfect for a day in Venice

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PML2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#245 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
2.0 mi away
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#200 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Altieri
Hotel Altieri
#345 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alla Bianca Hotel Trattoria Bar
2.7 mi away
Russott Hotel
Russott Hotel
#336 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
2.4 mi away
Flestariam
Flestariam
#241 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera

Property: Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera
Address: Rotonda Romea 2, 30175 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just at a shuttle ride from San Marco Square, Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera is your best choice to visit Venice. Easy to find and accessible by car from the highway, the hotel is also at walking distance from public transportation, handily linked with Piazzale Roma, Venice Airport and railway station. Enter Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, be surprised by our spacious hall with contemporary décor and discover the vibrant colours of our new rooms. Relax and try the unique experience of our soft duvet and pillow menu, while enjoying a film or a football match on our flat TV screens: all rooms have satellite channels with Sky package. Moreover, stay connected with work or family with our Wifi Internet connection (at a charge). Have a great start with our delicious breakfast and, when it s time to eat, enjoy the appetising Alla Bell Italia restaurant s cuisine: typical Italian and Venetian dishes combined with a cosy atmosphere. Imagine having all the space and tools for your meetings: flexibility, experience and the latest technology equipments. Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera offers 9 meetings rooms with natural daylight up to 170 delegates. Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera offers moreover a shuttle bus to Venice (at a charge), a mini-gym and a secure paying parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera Hotel Venice
Venice Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Marghera
Marghera Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing