We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“venice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera
Ranked #296 of 386 Hotels in Venice
australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“venice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Hotel was great - breakfast was good - had a meal in the restaurant - nice meal reasonably priced. Reception staff most unhelpful. Location was ideal. Thr rooms were nice and clean although the hot water was just tepid. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonzaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    227
    259
    116
    80
See reviews for
158
299
29
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is your average Holiday Inn that is awaiting a renovation but the staff was friendly for the most part (get to that in a bit). We had no clue where to find the bus stop so we opted for the hotel shuttle which had the most enjoyable driver we've ever met. The rooms are clean and spacious but we didn't test the breakfast as we were in favor of simply getting into Venice as much as possible. The management staff and cleaning staff were wonderful to converse with but beware of any need of an ice machine or to actually use the bar area. The bar has the hours of "when anyone might wander by" in order to get coffee or a drink. You'll also find that there is no ice machine or ice buckets available for your room but they will toss a small bag at you from the bar if they find the time to realize you're standing there. This is not an impoverished area of Mestre but the only door we ever found unlocked was the main entrance which is not a comfortable feeling. Hopefully it was just a fluke and if they do renovate and add a few amenities I would certainly return in the future to try it all over again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Rich G,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I appreciate your compliments regarding our staff being friendly and wonderful to converse with. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night following a cruise. I have no complaints about this hotel. We had an excellent dinner at a much lower cost than the central hotels in Venice. The breakfast also was first class. The room was clean and the staff very helpful. I would use this hotel again if required. The location is also good for getting into Venice by local bus . Although situated near the carriageways no traffic noise was heard in our room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HughM523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend recently. The hotel is very clean and the rooms spacious. Our bed was so big that I had to say goodnight to my wife by semaphore. The service is very good. The reception staff were generally excellent. On the down side the restaurant menu is limited unless you like pizza. The biggest failing is that they staff the bar with people from the restaurant and thus the bar is unattended for long periods. This is not good from the perspective of a guest as they have to go in search of a staff member. I do not think that employing one more member of staff to cover the bar would impact too much on the company's profit margins. I thought that for an hotel the prices for drinks are very good. The breakfast is a typical Holiday Inn buffet and is nice enough.
The hotel provides an efficient and frequent shuttle service to Venice for 8 euros return (up to 2300) and can provide a transfer service to the airport which, although more expensive that the bus, is cheaper than a taxi. It gets cheaper if a number of people travel together.
The hotel allows 30 mins free use of a computer and internet before charges kick in. I would definitely stay there again. It is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lenharvey911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I spent a couple days at the Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera during an Italy trip with my wife and three of our children. I can't complain about the hotel, was it 5 Star, no but was it good, absolutely. My wife is finicky and there were zero complaints. The location to Venice was great and we actually walked from the hotel to some shopping districts. Yes, it was quite a walk but so what, we were on vacation and in no hurry to be anywhere.

I would stay again !

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cwaechter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hotel has had some bad reviews, but the place is a 30 min bus ride away from Venice.the hotel shuttel is a good option ,good breakfast,clean room and very helpful staff would i stay there again Yes

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilgrimpasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I dont normally put reviews on Trip Advisor but after reviewing some of the comments on here before we travelled - which nearly led to me changing hotels - I felt my comments may be of help to other potential travellers.
We chose this hotel due to the cost, we booked in February and got a fantastic rate including breakfast. The hotel staff were really helpful throughout our stay. The bedrooms were spacious and clean. Breakfast was good, with a good choice from the buffet, the only thing that let it down was towards the end of breakfast (finishes at 10.00 am) the bacon, eggs & sausage werent as hot as they should have been.
The location was great for getting into Venice cheaply. We didn't use the hotel bus (which was 8 euros per adult each way), we walked to the local bus stop, the number 6, the hotel gave us a map) and it took no more than 10 minutes to walk there. Tickets could be bought from the shop near the bus stop. A return ticket to the watertaxi base at Venice was just over 5euros for two adults, so much cheaper than the hotel bus, and they run every 20 minutes and you dont need to prebook like the hotel shuttle.
Once at the watertaxi place (Pte Roma) we got a single ticket (14 euros for two people) and went on the no 5 or 6 boat (cant remember which!) which took us onto the Adriatic and our first views of Venice were fantastic. At the end of the day we got a return back from the No. 1 water taxi which stops in front of St Marks square amongst other places. This gave us a great trip down the Grand Canal, and although there were lots of stops, it gave an opportunity to take pictures. The best place to stand is to walk straight through the seating to the back of the boats, more space there and more chance of taking pictures. We took this option the following day too.
We did venture onto a Gondola which are a set price of 80 euros for 40 minutes - it doesnt matter how many of you are in the gondola (max 6). We chose our gondola from outside the Hard Rock Cafe/Best Western hotel, and the 'driver' was really pleasant and knowledgeable. The trip from there included a short time on the Grand Canal with views of the Rialto Bridge.
Venice itself wasnt as expensive as we thought it would be - as long as you dont buy drinks or food in St Marks Square or along the front. One street back and the costs are much cheaper. Glass of decent wine between 3-4 euros, main meals between 10-15 euros. Suggest that you check the drinks menu before you sit down, as food menus are generally on display which may seem reasonable but sometimes the drinks can be more pricey, so best to check to avoid a shock!
We had a lovely meal by the Rialto bridge, you will see lots of restaurants on the one side along the river. They are keen to get your business and we got two free Bellinis! The meal itself was good value, and the wine was 18 euros a bottle.
We werent prepared for the weather, take an umbrella and waterproof shoes at this time of year. We hadn't appreciated that Venice floods frequently, and one morning the whole of St Mark's square was under water. The locals put out raised walk ways to avoid the floods, but they were sometimes quite crowded.
Its worth making sure you spend time in Venice on an evening, there is a fantastic atmosphere. Also nice to walk along the quayside in front of St Marks square early evening and watch the cruise boats sail out around 6pm.
We will definately return to Venice - hopefully in better weather. I will definately stay at this hotel again as for the cost of it in comparison to staying on the island, its well worth saving the money to spend when visiting the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#247 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
2.0 mi away
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#199 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Altieri
Hotel Altieri
#345 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alla Bianca Hotel Trattoria Bar
2.7 mi away
Russott Hotel
Russott Hotel
#336 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
2.4 mi away
Flestariam
Flestariam
#241 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera

Property: Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera
Address: Rotonda Romea 2, 30175 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just at a shuttle ride from San Marco Square, Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera is your best choice to visit Venice. Easy to find and accessible by car from the highway, the hotel is also at walking distance from public transportation, handily linked with Piazzale Roma, Venice Airport and railway station. Enter Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, be surprised by our spacious hall with contemporary décor and discover the vibrant colours of our new rooms. Relax and try the unique experience of our soft duvet and pillow menu, while enjoying a film or a football match on our flat TV screens: all rooms have satellite channels with Sky package. Moreover, stay connected with work or family with our Wifi Internet connection (at a charge). Have a great start with our delicious breakfast and, when it s time to eat, enjoy the appetising Alla Bell Italia restaurant s cuisine: typical Italian and Venetian dishes combined with a cosy atmosphere. Imagine having all the space and tools for your meetings: flexibility, experience and the latest technology equipments. Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera offers 9 meetings rooms with natural daylight up to 170 delegates. Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera offers moreover a shuttle bus to Venice (at a charge), a mini-gym and a secure paying parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera Hotel Venice
Venice Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Marghera
Marghera Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing