We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning recital”

Virtuosi di Venezia
Book In Advance
More Info
US$33.22*
and up
Virtuosi di Venezia: Vivaldi Four Seasons
More Info
US$33.22*
and up
Virtuosi di Venezia: Vivaldi and Opera
Ranked #4 of 27 Concerts & Shows in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Orchestra Virtuosi di Venezia-Orchestra da camera di San Marco had been formed in 2002 under the inspiration of Vivaldi's work. The ensemble and the musical formation have both been chosen to recall the exact situation in which Vivaldi worked and reproposes in its concerts the athmosphere and the genio of the Red Priest' compositions. The Orchestra was born with the intention and the honor of paying tribute to the great composer in the prestigious Ateneo di San Basso, in San Marco square, whose hall has the same dimensions of the Pieta Institue music hall, in which Vivaldi composed.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Stunning recital”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I was due to be overnight in Venice on Tuesday, 29 July 2014 with my wife who is a keen opera/classical music fans. I looked online to see if I could book anything Classical and managed to book tickets for Vivaldi's four seasons..

We were not disappointed. Contrary to some reviewers I thought the venue was fantastic – a plain little church maybe but opposite the Basilica - perfect location. The musicians were absolutely excellent and the acoustics fantastic. The simple setting to my mind added rather than subtracted from the ambience. Brilliant performance – value for money: in short an absolute delight.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ValetaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    677
    132
    10
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great selections”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I really enjoyed the performance of Vivaldi's Four Seasons. The orchestra was excellent & obviously very passionate about the pieces and it showed through their performance. I also caught the performance of their operatic selections the night before, and even though I am by no means as familiar with opera, the selections they performed were all known to me & I think would be familiar to the casual listener. The selections were well performed by the tenor & soprano with the accompaniment of the orchestra.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Seats are cheap and uncomfortable.
Air conditioning too loud, spoilt the music.
Nonetheless very talented performers, but the seat gave us backache.
Go elsewhere, cheaper, double the duration of the performance, and better and more comfortable seats.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank yskwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MusicaeMusica, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Virtuosi di Venezia, responded to this review, 21 October 2014
Google Translation
Gentile Ospite,
La ringraziamo per il suo buon commento sull’orchestra e sul suggerimento ad aumentare la durata dello spettacolo e trovare delle sedie più comode per gli ospiti; ne terremo sicuramente conto. Resta il fatto che dare un voto pessimo per questi motivi ci sembra eccessivo, dannoso per la nostra immagine e poco rispettoso del grande lavoro fatto dai nostri artisti. Faccio inoltre notare che a Venezia, a parte al teatro La Fenice, qualsiasi performance in chiese o edifici storici utilizza o panche di legno o, come da noi, delle sedie in tessuto.
Cordiali saluti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“4 seasons were wonderful!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We loved the music and passion from this proffesional orchestra. The lead violinist was wonderful and you could tell all the orchestra had passion and love for reviving Vivaldi's masterpiece.

The reason I am giving a four is because I found the room to be lacking in decoration, especially when the music is so beautiful, the venue should match it as well.

Overall this is a sight to see and wouldn't hesitate suggesting it to my friends and family.

Tips: get there when the doors open at 8 for the best seats! (First come, first seat)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank chelseakicks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Enchanting!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

So passionate, powerful talent. Vivaldi would be very proud! I was brought to tears by the music a few times. I will definitely go to see this performance everytime I go to Venice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Virtuosi di Venezia also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Virtuosi di Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing