We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Carlton Capri
Ranked #174 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 10 October 2013

To begin with, the breakfast in this hotel reminds you of your hostel days where 50 kids were cramped in a large dorm together and they took trips turn by turn to refill their plates...tiny breakfast area..ridiculous location, walking distance from the train station, thats it. Quite a walk to everything else. Extremely small rooms, if you get off the bed on your left there is the main door, to your right is the window and somewhere stashed in a corner is a bathroom. Avoid it.

Room Tip: If you love the train station...stay here
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deeplydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Carlton Capri
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

Small teeny room, tiny television etc. close the terminal but VERY far from everything else. No particular view of anything at all. Nothing much close by and hence few good options to eat etc.

Smallest breakfast in the world!! Cramped tables set very close to each other bang in the middle of the reception itself!

Nothing much to offer very basic stay and quite disappointing really for Venice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaverickMegha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

good place, quite nerby almost all transport: waporetto, train, buses, taxi. 5minutes from Grande Canal, 10 minutes from road transport and railway. Not quite easy to find.
especially the first time, and after sunset. Arround, about 100 metres you can find lot of bars, restaurants, and so on. Some of them even not too expensive.
Good atmosphere inside, helpful and kind service. room - small but comfortable, clean, old windows, tasty breakferst in European style.
noticable defect - possible noise, especially early, and in the evening being caused by suitcase on the wheels rolled through the narrow streets by travellers.
Generally - on line with expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The reason we chose this hotel was because it is walking distance from Venice Train Terminal. Rooms are fine. Breakfast is well served and desk personnel is very friendly and willing to help. Very good value for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fechague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Although the rooms are all pricey, the quality varies hughly as does the courtesy of the staff. We emded up in an attic like room that had construction dust on the walls, toilet that didn't work well, short ceilings that my 6'2" husband hit everytime he went into the bathroom it had a nice balcony to go with all the problems. The morning desk help were wonderful and put us in a much more comfortable room. Not a bad location not great. The wifi didn't work at all.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I have been a guest of Hotel Cariton Capri, in Venice several times, in the past and each time
found it to be very comfortable. The front desk staff, were very helpful and friendly as well as the
breakfast area staff. I enjoy staying at the Hotel Cariton Capri, and consider it my home while
in Venice. I have reservation for another visit for 21 May 2014 for six nights stay .
Thank you again,
James Ferrara, NYC
giacomonyc@yahoo.com

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our stay at the Capri was quite pleasant. The porter who greeted us when we arrived and was kind enough to meet us at 4:30 AM to take our luggage to the water taxi was head and shoulders above the norm. Our greatest thanks go to Stefano your desk clerk. We had a 6:30 AM flight out of Venice and for some reason thought it was on Tuesday 8/27. Stephano worked out all the details for us to get to the airport. At 8 PM I realized that we were not to leave until the next day. Stefano took it in stride and cancelled all of the plans for that next morning and re-did the whole thing the next day and even saved us 50 euro. We are very grateful for his efforts and wish to thank him once again - BGH

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#163 of 384 in Venice
426 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#110 of 384 in Venice
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#127 of 384 in Venice
909 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel ai due Fanali
Hotel ai due Fanali
#190 of 384 in Venice
241 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#88 of 384 in Venice
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton Capri

Address: Santa Croce 595, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £76 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton Capri 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlton Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing