We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #8 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

4 nights at the Gritti and loved every minute of our stay. The lobby, bar, patios, and restaurant all stunningly beautiful and the views of the grand canal as you have coffee or tea on the patio is truly priceless experience. We were upgraded to a lovely suite one of the nicest we stayed in all of Italy. The bathroom and walk-in closet was simply over the top amazing. I think we photographed the entire place just for wanting to share the memories with friends and family. The front desk staff, concierge, bellman, waitstaff, bartender, everyone we had the pleasure speaking to was fantastic. The negative - honestly really? If someone finds negative with the Gritti they have issues... If there was a negative it was 4 nights felt like 1! We wish we would have been able to add 1 or 2 more nights to really take it all in. I could write a book on why we loved this resort - don't over think it - just book it...

Room Tip: we noticed a room just outside the elevators and could help feeling sorry for the person that had to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnkwfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,019
    83
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
188
729
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is a wonderful hotel with beautiful public spaces and luxurious rooms. It's big enough to offer all the facilities you will ever need but small enough to feel friendly and cosy. All staff members are unerringly helpful and charming. Highlights are the wonderful bar and the very civilised breakfasts. We spent four nights here and enjoyed it immensely.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simoninscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Superb location right on the Grand canal and opposite the much Canaletto painted Salute church or to give it its correct name 'Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute'. The hotel has a floating pontoon dining area from where you can watch the water traffic go by. Water taxi's will deliver you to the door. Every time I am in Venice I make a point of dining there, lovely meal Rose champagne and a bill to match, what the heck though it's worth it for the view and the atmosphere. Around the corner is Harry's bar. You have to go around the back of the hotel and back to the canal to get to it. The hotel I believe has been updated since I last stayed in it. aircon would be a big plus at certain times of the year.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Gritti is stunningly beautiful and the staff very gracious and accommodating. We were upgraded as Starwood Preferred members, our room was exquisite and included a complementary bottle of wine and chocolates to welcome us. Perfect location and the place to celebrate life's big moments.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the gritti palace as a surprise for my 21st birthday. We had the most perfect stay. Arriving to the hotels entrance on the canal in a water taxi was an experience in itself. We were greeted by truly amazing staff who couldn't have done more to help us throughout our whole stay. Our room was stunning!! Acqua di Parma toiletries in the room were a lovely extra. Location is perfect, a short walk from st marks square and Rialto, on the canal and designer shops around the corner. We had dinner in the hotels restaurant, I am not a lover of fine dining but they did everything they could to accommodate my fussy eating habits. Food was delicious and service was out of this world. Plenty of choice for breakfast in the mornings. We enjoyed sitting on the terrace having a drink late afternoon after exploring Venice, and also in the evenings after dinner, beautiful settings and very tasty cocktails. During our stay we also had a treatment in the spa, spa staff very professional and so friendly! Everything was perfect.

If we ever return to Venice, which I, sure we will. I wouldn't stay anywhere but the Gritti Palace!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed in the G.P nine years ago and quite frankly it was great but needed a face lift. Now, nine years later the newly refurbished palace is stunning.
Situated on the grand canal is this beautiful hotel.
Breakfast is superb, service is excellent and the decor is simply out of this world.
Upon arrival there is champagne in your room, aqua de Parma toilettries and robes/slippers to wear after a long journey or walk round the island.
This Hotel is immaculately clean and in a prime location for tourists. Situated ten minutes walk, if that, from st marks square.
We found the drinks in the hotel bar quite pricey but if you know this before you go you won't get a shock! The bar is a must as the decor is very Italian and the hot chocolate is delicious!
Go to Venice and stay in the gritti you won't be disappointed by either.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony looking onto the grand canal. There is only a handful of rooms that ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we wish to thank you for your loyalty and for having disclosed both of your experiences.

We are delighted to read that you have always considered The Gritti Palace a great place, now enhanced by the “out of this world” décor and preservative restoration, which has retained its past charm and atmosphere, however adding all up-to-date comforts. It gives us particularly pleasure to know that your renewed stay lived up to your expectations.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to other discerning travelers and luxury lovers.

We hope that we will have the honor of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Check in was so smooth with sense of easy and luxury. I was escorted to the room. Room orientation was perfect. Dinner reservation was offered.

Service at restaurant was very good while food tasted and presentation was lower than expectation compared to other places in venice.

Breakfast service and buffet line was lovely but hot items ordered per menu were so poor. Pancake was from microwave. Poached egg came on very hard bread.

Housekeeping always smile and finish the room perfectly especially the bathroom. She understood perfectly what time to come in for the service. This type can be called luxury and accommodating service.

Concierge service was professional. They knew every restaurant i wanted to go plus helped to check whether the restaurants opened. Table reservation were every time offered.
Taxi boat were called and not overpriced.

PS. Venice in late October and early November may have high tide and flood in many area

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank UncensoredLips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We love to make our Guests feel welcomed and special from the moment they arrive to the moment they leave.

Thank you for your recognition and thank you also for having highlighted the areas where, according to your judgment, we need to focus our attention and strive to cater for a better service. Please only allow us to mention that all hot items, available at any time of the day, are done à la minute. We only wish we would have known it during your stay to ameliorate these aspect of your breakfast and show you that we can do so much better!

Flooding indeed occurs especially during winter time. We are really happy to be able to inform you that, thanks to the restoration, the hotel is now safe from flooding and the lowest areas of Venice and provided with footpaths so that nearly every place is accessible. Additionally this phenomenon lasts only few hours a day so the visit to the city is nearly always possible.

We hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our jewel and providing you with a truly unforgettable experience.

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Venice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#7 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#9 Business Hotel in Venice
#13 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gritti Palace, a Luxury Collection Hotel, reopened its doors in 2013 after a significant and handcrafted restoration which has brought the historical palace back to its original grandeur, and introduced new avenues for pleasure and relaxation including The Gritti Epicurean School and the Blu Mediterraneo SPA. A place of exceptional art and elegance, The Gritti Palace is a refined version of its iconic self, where heritage and culture blend with renewed Venetian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gritti Palace Hotel
Gritti Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing