We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #9 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

My wide and I had a very brief one night stay here in December 2013 (room 310). The hotel underwent a major refurbishment, reopening earlier this year, and the place looks great. The location on the Grand Canal is hard to beat, a few minutes walk from St Marks Square. We arrived by water taxi, which pulls up directly to the hotel. There is a terrace overlooking the water, and a bar and restaurant on the ground floor. Our room (suite) was lovely, looking out over the canal. It was very well furnished, with free wifi and complimentary mineral water and wine provided. The room had a smart bathroom and comfortable bed, this room having a generously sized lounge as well. The staff were friendly and spoke good English. Of course all this does not come cheap, but nothing does in Venice.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy Hayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,107
    88
    26
    9
    4
See reviews for
207
785
28
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I have stayed in many hotels, and many of the nicest ones, and often my preferred style, is the more modern, open, Asian hotels. This is the complete opposite, but is an extraordinary experience. It really IS a palace. The rooms are completely different from anything I have stayed in before. The service is absolutely impeccable, yet also friendly, rather than stuffy or snooty - I would give it 6 stars if I could! My husband and I went on a BA Holiday and whilst I am really no fan of British Airways, I do think that their holidays offer the chance to stay in some amazing top, top hotels, for quite a reasonable deal - I can't IMAGINE what the rates would be, were I trying to do this myself. I am sure we were in one of the "cheapest" rooms in the Gritti, but we still were treated like royalty. The decor is wonderfully over the top, yet also in keeping. There has been a huge makeover and so the bathrooms were beautifully fitted out in grey marble, the bedroom was beautifully finished (see photo) and the dining room and downstairs areas a real treat. As this is a Starwood hotel - and apparently Starwood owns the building as well - the beds are EXCELLENT. To sit on the "deck" overlooking the Grand Canal, when we arrived, drinking a hot chocolate and admiring the amazing scenery is an experience quite unlike any other. Elio, the Maitre d' (?? I think so) was brilliant and looked after us so well at our breakfasts and at dinner. We took a Euro95 private water taxi on the way in from the airport, which is definitely the way to go, but then took a "normal" one from the nearby Giglio stop on the way back, which also worked well. The ONLY thing is that I thought our dinner at the hotel was so-so, which we found a bit typical of our meals in Venice. I would do more research on where to eat if I went back again because we were either unlucky or it just isn't really that great in general. Our evening meal in the hotel was wonderful in terms of service and all the little extras, but frankly the actual food itself was nothing to write home about. Our breakfast buffet (included in our holiday price) was a good range of fruit, pastries, cheeses and cold meats and I certainly didn't need any more than this - you soon blow your budget if you do! I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FSHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your detailed and rewarding review related to your recent stay with us.

We are very happy to read that you had an extraordinary experience at the Gritti, both in terms of accommodation, which you enjoyed immensely despite being it very different from your personal taste, but most of all for the delivered service.

It is pure pleasure reading that all of our staff was able to make you feel comfortable at any interaction and that you felt being treated as royalty. Elio, one of the Maitre d’ is particularly pleased by your recognition.

On the other hands, we are sorry to read that the actual food did not make you the positive impression the service did and we hope you will allow us another opportunity to show you our capabilities.

We are grateful for your recommendation and for your 6 stars!

We look forward to welcoming you back when you will next visit our unique city.

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, UK
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The Gritti Palace is five star in every way. From the minute our water taxi pulled up to the pontoon we were treated like film stars. It feels very refined and special. The staff are all excellent. We had a beautiful corner room overlooking the square at the back. We drank our bottle of welcome prosecco with some chili nuts. The furnishings are so plush and the bed was without a doubt the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in anywhere. The Aqua di Parma products smell fabulous too. Highly recommended. Oh and a benchmark facial in the spa too!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and ours at the back was very quiet, but you'll pay for a Grand Canal vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saryharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed at the Gritti Palace for our honeymoon at the beginning of November 2013. The hotel itself is one of the most beautiful places in the world. We looked at numerous other hotels in Venice and are so glad that we decided to stay at the Gritti. From the moment we arrived at the hotel we felt felt at home and nothing was too much trouble for the concierge. We cannot wait to return to the Gritti in the very near future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

In anticipation and trepidation we returned to the Gritti for the first time since its reopening. Would it have been ruined by changes to its essential character under the guise of refurbishment? No need to fear - it remains the ulitmate Venetian destination combining opulence with discretion. Its prize assest, its staff, seem simply to have returned after a lengthy holiday and even a curious incident in the night time was perfectly handled. One reviewer once headed their conribution "Gritti not greaty". Well in my book it's perfection.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JC5586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having elected The Gritti Palace as your private Venetian residence years ago and for continuing being one of our esteemed loyal Guests.

We are delighted to read that your return visit to the Gritti was enjoyable as in the past and that you realized its essence remained the same one you knew so well and were accustomed to.

We read with gratitude that in your book The Gritti Palace is perfection. This means a lot to us.

The Gritti’s family looks forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon to you home in Venice.

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The price of hotel is overpriced, but it is just like other hotels in Venice.
One must come to this hotel by a water taxi, if you would like to experience Venice.
Great location, professional staff.
My favorite person is the bartender, R. I loved talking to him. He knows how and when to talk with guests. He made a special drink (hot lemon) in order to prevent hangover.
Hemmingways room is worth staying.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hermeslover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We were at the Gritti from November 22nd to November 25th 2013.

The hotel interior and exterior is beautiful. The facilities are what you expect in a hotel of this standard. The staff are wonderful and go out of their way to make your stay memorable.

The breakfast buffet as well as a la carte menu is appropriate for the class of hotel, and again, the staff will try and accommodate any requests.

We were a little bit disappointed by the Restaurant Club Del Dodge the first night we ate there. The atmosphere was fantastic but the food was not exceptional. At the end of the second course, the waiter asked if we enjoyed the meal and my husband made a very, very light comment that the steak was not really good, it felt like it had been boiled. Our plates were cleared and we decided to call it a night and requested the bill. We were surprised to see that the steak had been removed from the bill.

The next day we were informed that the Manager wanted to meet with us. We met with the hotel manager, and he mentioned that he had heard that we were not satisfied with the steak and invited us to a complimentary dinner at the Club Del Dodge again.

The second time around the food was exceptional, strongly recommend the truffle menu, especially the linguine. We had a lovely evening.

We found it incredible that light feedback on the steak went back all the way to the Manager, a sign of exceptional service and customer service.

We have stayed at the Bauer Palace before, and whilst it was fantastic, the Gritti offers a more personalised and unique service. We will most certainly return and would not hesitate in recommending the Gritti.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and are very sound proof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaMay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We constantly strive to achieve service excellence and your appreciative comments are what we would like to hear from every Guest. We are sorry of the mishap occurred on your first dining at our Club del Doge and are very grateful to you for having trustfully given us the opportunity to make you change your mind on our restaurant.

Thank you for taking the time to post your rewarding feedback and for suggesting the Gritti to other esteemed future guests.

Our caring team will do its utmost to render you an even more personalized service upon your return. We look forward to it!

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,886 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,587 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Maria Adele
Ca' Maria Adele
#7 of 385 in Venice
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Venice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#7 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#9 Business Hotel in Venice
#13 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gritti Palace, a Luxury Collection Hotel, reopened its doors in 2013 after a significant and handcrafted restoration which has brought the historical palace back to its original grandeur, and introduced new avenues for pleasure and relaxation including The Gritti Epicurean School and the Blu Mediterraneo SPA. A place of exceptional art and elegance, The Gritti Palace is a refined version of its iconic self, where heritage and culture blend with renewed Venetian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gritti Palace Hotel
Gritti Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing