We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection - at a price - of course.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #7 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfection - at a price - of course.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

One of the best locations in Venice - wonderful having the private terrace to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner - or just drinks. A great benefit to be able to escape from the crowds and have nothing between you and the Grand Canal. A lovely (if expensive ) breakfast - dinner a little more mixed - wonderful service but the food seemed varaible. One gripe - please turn off or vary the piped music - it stayed the same selection for 4 days at every meal. You escape this on the terrace of course. Bedrooms and bathrooms excpetionally well-appointed and comfortable - as you would expect. Try to secure one that at least is overlooking the side canal - much nicer than facing onto the piazza side of the hotel. Bag a Grand Canal view room or suite if you can afford it! Well worth taking the private taxi service to and from the airport direct to the private jetty of the hotel. Wonderful and welcoming service from the front desk...... and dining waiters.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreatExpectationsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,051
    85
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
196
752
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lompoc, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Great base for getting to know Venice. The location is convenient for walking, water bus or water taxi, plus being on the grand canal, it's got great views. The staff was excellent, from reception to concierge, from housekeeping to wait staff. The room was comfortable, warm and welcoming. The 19th century style is beautifully realized, if not my personal favorite. Nice to be in a true 5-star hotel - super comfy bed, towel warmers, floor to ceiling marble bathroom, walk in closet with valet, good wifi, nice range of amenities. Quality everything. It will be a pleasure to return someday.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the Grand Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinFool93436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here recently and while I echo much of the favourable comment of others, we had a few less than positive experiences. When we disembarked from our water taxi I expected a great welcome with people rushing to greet us but this didn't happen and in fact we had to carry our own bags into the lobby where we were then approached and directed rather indifferently to the check-in desk where the young lady was very pleasant and efficient. The rather unwelcoming feeling was not enhanced, for me anyway, by the letter of welcome in our room from the manager which was addressed only to my husband! The room was a canal view room with of course stunning views and a little balcony. The bed was large and very comfortable and the lighting unlike a lot of hotels was very good. In the early hours of our first night we were unfortunately disturbed by the loud barking of a dog right outside our room and by the calls of its owner chasing it. This was quite an unexpected occurrence in a hotel such as this and although we complained the next day, nobody got in touch or apologised before we checked out. While we were not very impressed by the lunch we had on our first day (soggy sandwiches), we were more than impressed by dinner in the main restaurant. We have stayed and eaten in a lot of the top hotels in Italy and the food here was definitely the best we have experienced. In conclusion, this is a great hotel for a special occasion, in a perfect location in a wonderful city!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seorsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

What a lovely hotel, your near everything ,food was lovely, staff were more than helpful, if you want to step back in time this is the hotel, the only mod con was the the tele, rooms were warm comfy and CLEAN I would 100% go back

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shell_hollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

The only issue that I had with the Hotel is that it puts all the rest to shame...!
This was by far the best hotel I have ever been to. It is grand, yet relaxed. You can wear your tux or your trainers and no one will care one way or the other.

The hotel looks stunning. It has been restored wonderfully paying homage and attention to the original venetian interiors, using a lot of local materials. Fabrics, glasses, floors.

It feels more like a private house than a hotel.

The staff is very well trained, kind and fast. The concierge organised for us a beautiful boat trip. I know Venice quite well and they made sure I went to places I didn't know yet.

I am already planning a trip for next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Siuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

I've recently been to The Gritti Palace for a "honey-moon" type trip to celebrate my 24th Wedding Anniversary and had the most amazing experience in relation to services. Before I chose the hotel for the special occasion I did a lot of reserach and noticed that The Gritti Palace had a lot of excellent comments about the level of services. This drove my decision to choose The Gritti Palace and I can tell you I can only corroborate all the good excellent comments I've read before and obviously I had to add mine too! I very rarely make a review but made sure I spent the time to do this one. Trust me it is worth spending a bit more to stay at The Gritti. Although I have always loved Venice I used to say that level of services were not really great as there is more demand than supply in most areas of the hospitality industry. The Gritti has definitely changed my perception on this point and my wife and I had the most amazing time. All staff were great overall, however I must highlight the services provided by UMBERTO Vianello from the Concierge. He goes much beyond the extra mile!!!! I also received very special treatment from Lliana Quagliotto even before I arrived at The Gritti as she arranged for a very special welcome and great room for our celebration. I am sure the management of The Gritti will be aware of the importance of the staff and the quality of the service they provide to the guests and that they have to be rewarded accordingly, but I must say that people like UMBERTO you just don't find very often, and I can tell you I've been around A LOT and to many EXCELLENT hotels before either with work or on holidays, but I have never seen anything like that. Finally just wanted to add that no one should leave the Gritti without trying the food, which is simply great. Make sure you don't miss out the fresh fruits and treat yourselve and your partner with champagne and strawberries in your room with a view to the Grand Canal, a once in a lifetime experience. So thanks to all of you at The Gritti! We will be back...

Room Tip: Get a room with a view to the Grand Canal. It is worth it if you can spend time in your room appreci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ricperoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

My family spent five fantastic days at the Gritti Palace in December. We were made to feel very welcome by all the staff. Our two Grand Canal rooms were exquisite with excellent views, sumptuous decor, luxurious bathrooms and superb housekeeping (who never stinted on supplies of Acqua di Parma toiletries). The welcome bottle of Prosecco and fresh flowers that were changed regularly really made the difference that set this hotel out as the best in which I have ever stayed. We used the bar every evening, the concierge were very helpful, even coming outside to pick an excellent gondolier for us, and the restaurant, in which we ate three nights, kept us all happy. This is a truly outstanding hotel

Room Tip: The view from the Grand Canal rooms is picture perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdieFox79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,490 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#3 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Venice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#6 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#9 Business Hotel in Venice
#13 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gritti Palace, a Luxury Collection Hotel, reopened its doors in 2013 after a significant and handcrafted restoration which has brought the historical palace back to its original grandeur, and introduced new avenues for pleasure and relaxation including The Gritti Epicurean School and the Blu Mediterraneo SPA. A place of exceptional art and elegance, The Gritti Palace is a refined version of its iconic self, where heritage and culture blend with renewed Venetian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gritti Palace Hotel
Gritti Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing