We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A marvelous Time machine to the past !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #9 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Lebanon
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A marvelous Time machine to the past !”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Coming from a Boat taxi in the Grand Canale the Gritti is just another beautiful building like all the rest on the sides.
Once you are greeted by the concierge on the dock, time stands still...
A breathtaking interior from old times. Amazing reception and attention to your every minute desire.
And the "plat de resistance" is the best terrace in all of Venice which we could not have enough of.
The room is spacious and extremely well renovated without compromise to the authenticity of times and themes.

Room Tip: our room (giglio) was located on the right side of the hotel and at rare times noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ionat73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,107
    88
    26
    9
    4
See reviews for
207
785
28
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The best part about this hotel is the restaurant, and dining right on the Grand Canal. It's one of those perfect Venice moments to be served by waiters in white jackets while watching the boats go by. Venice can be a real zoo, but this hotel is sufficiently away from the hoards but still close enough to the sights. The service is outstanding, and what you'd expect of a hotel of this quality. The decor is also fitting of the Venice vibe, somewhat gothic, and quality all around. Because it's right on the Canal, it's an easy water taxi to the airport and cruise terminal.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molliebclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, amazing service, friendly professional staff, incredible room on the Grand Canal. My husband and I had an amazing 2 days at this beautiful hotel. We recommend a room with the view on the Canale. Will definitely stay there next time.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matty99_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here on the first night of an extended honeymoon. We decided to change our flights to leave a day earlier and I was rushing around trying to make a reservation at a hotel so we had somewhere to stay on our first night. In my haste I had made it for the day we left the states instead of the day we arrived. Many hotels would say "oh well" you are out your points and money for the night. Not so at the gritti palace, it felt like a true start to our honeymoon, they even let us pick which room we wanted to stay in and walked us up to both. Breakfast was wonderful and the hotel is centrally located. The only strange thing about this hotel is leaving your actual room key at the front desk and picking it up when you come back. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the canal, there is nothing like waking up to the sounds of the gon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen the Gritti Palace for the first night of your honeymoon and for having shared the adventurous beginning of your journey with this community.

We are grateful to you for having recognized our true concern for customer service and the empathetic attitude of our staff. We are glad having managed to waive the indeed applicable no-show fee.

Given the ever various circumstances, however, this is regretfully not always the case since many aspects are to be evaluated, such as the booked rate type, the hotel’s occupancy, and so on.

As far as the room key is concerned, we do ask our Guests to hand it to the Concierge when leaving the hotel, even for few hours, for their security.

We would be honored to welcoming you back on your future trip to Venice (maybe your wedding anniversary…?) to make you feel even more special.

Yours sincerely,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We visited Venice to celebrate our Ruby wedding and what a visit it turned out to be staying at this amazing hotel.The location is breathtaking overlooking the Grand Canal, the service faultless and everyone so friendly and helpful.We were blessed with glorious sunshine which just added to the beauty of this glorious city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your rewarding feedback.
Your “WOW” is what we would like to hear from every Guest!

On the other hand we are sorry to read that you believe that there are superior options for dinner. We hope that we will have the pleasure of a return visit so that we may show you we can make much better!

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My husband and I went to celebrate our 45th Wedding Anniversary.

From the time we arrived - by water taxi from Marco Polo Airport - and immediately (as if by magic) a porter appeared to help me off the boat and see to our cases.

The check in staff welcomed us and explained our reservation and then took us to our beautiful room - it was decorated in typical Venetian style with Murano glass lights - the marble bathroom and loads of white fluffy towels and Aqua di Parma toiletries - fantastic.

The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in - and the pillows - they were so good. The bed linen was also superb.

The staff give exceptional service - nothing is too much trouble.

As it was our anniversary a silver bowl of large red roses arrived - there were chocolates - then a bottle of champagne on ice - and there was also a bottle of Merlot - and on the night of our anniversary we had arrived back from the Teatro la Fenice having been to the opera to find a table laid out with a beautiful gateau with the softest (alcholic) sponge with chantilly cream and lots of fresh fruit decoration - it was a huge gateau and it was so wonderful that between my husband and I we managed to eat half of it which we had with some champagne - (we gave the rest to the staff so as not to waste this lovely cake).

It did rain for a couple of days which was a bit of a nuisance - but we did not let this dampen our spirits and the concierge lent us umbrellas.

We would definitely recommend the hotel to all our friends - and we hope to come back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SanJon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh Province, Saudi Arabia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Wow, what an amazing Hotel. Exceptional service and great location. In a nice weather you can just relax in the patio and spend all day. The restaurant is good for breakfast and lunch to seat out side if weather permits. The city has more better options for dinner.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Vasu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,886 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,587 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Maria Adele
Ca' Maria Adele
#7 of 385 in Venice
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Venice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#7 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#9 Business Hotel in Venice
#13 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gritti Palace, a Luxury Collection Hotel, reopened its doors in 2013 after a significant and handcrafted restoration which has brought the historical palace back to its original grandeur, and introduced new avenues for pleasure and relaxation including The Gritti Epicurean School and the Blu Mediterraneo SPA. A place of exceptional art and elegance, The Gritti Palace is a refined version of its iconic self, where heritage and culture blend with renewed Venetian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gritti Palace Hotel
Gritti Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing