We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't Get Much Better Than This”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #8 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Doesn't Get Much Better Than This”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Look up perfection in the dictionary and this hotel should be pictured. Stayed here some years ago and was excited to see it after the renovations. From check-in to check-out, service was top-notch, the room was excellent and it was the best experience we have ever had at a Starwood hotel. Starting the day with breakfast on the Grand Canal with the best cappuchino I've ever had in Italy to the evening turndown and drinks on the Canal, everything was what you would hope the hotel to be. It blew away the service we got at two St. Regis locations we stayed at in other parts of Italy. If you can afford it, it's worth every euro.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great comment, which pleases us most.

The hotel goes back more than a century; it first opened its doors to the public in 1895 and in its long tradition and history it has always been a true emblem of the hospitality.

The recent meticulous restoration gave The Gritti Palace back its original grandeur and we are absolutely delighted that our loyal Guests, as you are, are excited and positively surprised by the restoration. And most of all that you enjoyed your stay with us even more than before.

Perfection is a very demanding definition and we always strive for it. We are grateful to you for having recognized our commitment to service excellence.

Please do not hesitate to get in touch with us for your future travels to Venice; we shall be at your disposal.

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    86
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
196
764
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
270 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

A stay at this hotel is without doubt a great privilege.

This was our second visit to Venice and I have somewhat mixed views about the destination. Although an obviously enchanting city, regrettably it undeniably sacrifices much of its charm with the hordes of tourists and especially day trippers and all too of often has the ambiance of a trashy over priced theme park!

Fortunately the Gritti Palace exudes unspoilt charm and provides to a repeat visitor a delightful sanctuary to sample in small doses all that the city has to offer from an incredible location.

Much praise has been appropriately heaped on the Gritti, and for me it's high kudos was generally justified.

Our really only disappointment was the main restaurant Club del Doges was so poorly patronised in the evenings and perhaps more attractive pricing or set menus would draw more guests to dine in house.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynden K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Virginia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

A daily afternoon respite at the Grand Canal bar overlooking the bustle of the waterway is a must. Attentive waiters see to your every need serving nibbles and cocktails! A place to see and be seen...and what a glorious interior design the lobby holds! The new Waris Ahluwalia boutique is quite a curiosity.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaningryta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed in a Giglio Prestige room which overlooked the quiet street near the church. The decor, fiitings and attention to detail made it very special. From the moment we arrived, service was fantastic. Check in was charming, seated rather than the usual hovering at reception. Room and restaurant service were both impeccable. Breakfasts on the terrace, watching the world go by, were a real treat. The Concierge service was also very helpful. The Gritti was a fantastic experience and we would very happily stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelp61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontainebleau, France
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

For a very special weekend with that special someone, difficult to imagine somewhere more heavenly. Everything in the best possible taste and with tremendous attention to detail. Breakfast was wonderful and stood us in good stead for a fabulous couple of days discovering the beautiful city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zolou25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maresfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Imagine booking into a hotel and you are greeted by a personal check in person, who then escorts you to your room (which by the way has been upgraded because it's you're Silver Wedding Anniversary). Imagine a bottle of bubbles already waiting for you. The toiletries are Aqua de Palma in the huge marble bathroom and the bedroom huge and very impressive. What you will never imagine is the service and genuine caring of the staff of the Gritti Palace who want to make your stay so very special. If I could give them 100 out of 10 I would because every single member of staff has been wonderful. Our celebration meal in the restaurant was sublime and we were totally amazed when the waiter brought us a delicious anniversary cake, complete with candle to finish our meal. If you want somewhere very special to share with your someone very special this is the place and the city to do. Everyone at the Gritti Palace, thank you

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

The entire staff is touched by your truly rewarding comments. Thank you very much indeed.

It is really important to us to know that every team member you encountered made you feel most welcomed and provided an attentive and genuinely caring service with a personal touch that allowed you to fully enjoy your sojourn and your anniversary.

Thank you once again for having shared your personal experience with the readers of this site along with underlining our Palace being the perfect venue for celebrations.

We look forward to your next visit to Venice for other exceptional moments to savor.

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
206 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

While the hotel is beautiful I am not sure I would stay here again. It was extremely expensive and not worth the cost. It was my birthday and our anniversary so we really wanted something special. Being Platinum Am Ex and Starwood Gold got us nothing. We normally get an Am Ex platinum upgrade but certainly not here. The Grand Canal view in the bar/breakfast areas are spectacular. I had a ham and cheese sandwich in the bar for 22Euros that was horrible. Concierge service was fabulous.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ManhattanTraveler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Mrs. mmrnyc,

We greatly respect your comments and we thank you for your post, allowing us to give you a comprehensible explanation of the highlighted situation.

We are pleased to learn that the hotel was beautiful for you; however and much to our regret you did not enjoy the room we allocated in your favour, since you were expecting a room upgrade.

We have retrieved the data related to your reservation and wish to confirm that the room assigned was indeed in line with the booked room type. Specifically, it was one of the largest rooms in this category (43 square meters).

As per many reports, we are always very attentive and ascribe so much importance to our Guests’ celebrations in order to render these particularly enjoyable and memorable. As per our custom, we recognized your wedding anniversary by extending you welcome amenities (in this case flowers, bottle of sparkling Franciacorta wine, a selection of fruit) and delivered to your room a bunch of roses on your birthday with best wishes from the entire team.

There is no doubt that we greatly value all levels of our SPG and American Express Platinum members, who, if booked through a Travel Agent affiliated to the American Express Fine Hotels & Resorts Network, are entitled to a room upgrade upon arrival; however, this procedure only applies according to hotel’s availability.

Despite the high occupancy of certain months, we always try to accommodate the requests of our guests when we have availability of higher category rooms.
Unfortunately, the hotel was completely sold out during the dates of your stay with the consequent impossibility to do so.

We are grateful for your appreciation of our services, with the exception of the sandwich which was not of your liking. We hope you did immediately notify the waiting staff in order for them to take care of you and offer you a different one.

We are confident that you might revise the opinion related to your recent stay at our Gritti and we sincerely hope to have the privilege to welcome you again in the near future, to display the best of our hospitality.

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#3 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Venice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#6 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#9 Business Hotel in Venice
#13 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gritti Palace, a Luxury Collection Hotel, reopened its doors in 2013 after a significant and handcrafted restoration which has brought the historical palace back to its original grandeur, and introduced new avenues for pleasure and relaxation including The Gritti Epicurean School and the Blu Mediterraneo SPA. A place of exceptional art and elegance, The Gritti Palace is a refined version of its iconic self, where heritage and culture blend with renewed Venetian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gritti Palace Hotel
Gritti Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing