We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #12 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Arrive by water taxi and be eased into another world. Fabulous room, fabulous service and a view to die for when you pull the curtains in the morning. Sitting on the terrace and watching the world go buy on the Grand Canal is an experience I will never forget.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thesultanofsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

875 - 881 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a fantastic three days at the hotel, it being Easter Venice was packed but there was nothing nicer than coming back to the oasis of the Gritti Palace.
From the moment we arrived by water taxi arranged through the hotel we were made to feel like VIPs. Nothing was too much trouble.
Our room was sumptuous with an amazing bathroom with full sized bath and Aqua De Palma toiletries, a bottle of Merlot was waiting for us and complimentary water left each day.
We ate in Club le Doge twice and had very good meals , breakfast was taken on the terrace in the sun wathching the world go by on the grand canal.
We made a lot of use of the bar terrace again overlooking the canal , enjoying a bottle of wine watching the madding crowd go by. My only negative is that they let non guests use the terrace bar and sometimes it was difficult as a resident to get a table !
All in all we had a lovely time although Venice was heaving and not much fun but the hotel is just far enough away to make feel a bit of an oasis, it really is not a cheap place but then you are staying in one of the best !!!

Room Tip: We didnt have a room with a view but spent a lot of time on the terraces so this didnt matter and me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WokingSurreyScruffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We usually prefer a more casual, understated style when selecting hotels. I don't care what my preference normally might be, this is just pure decadent luxury. They do what they do, and they do it quite well. I can ignore the snooty men who checked us in and helmed the concierge desk. I don't need to be validated. I do want to say that the young woman who handled our check out was lovely. She is a native Venitian and had recently returned to Venice after living in Florence. She was professional, yet warm and friendly. We were only there for one night, but it was a welcome respite during an very busy trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbhbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Gritti palaces indulge yourself

Beautiful setting, exquisite decor, attentive staff and great food. This hotel has everything, situated on the edge of the Grand Canal and about 5 minutes walk from St Mark's Square. This is the ideal setting to eat on the terrace overlooking the Canal, whether it be breakfast (yes even in March) lunch or dinner. We arrived by water taxi, which can drop you at the door and were greeted by the doorman who showed us to reception, the young lady took us through the registration process, with curtesy and charm, on the way to our room she showed us the hotel facilities. We had a very comfortable room, with a good sized bathroom, more than an adequate supply of towels and toiletries by Acqua di Parma.
Breakfast was a good selection of fruit, pastries and cold cuts, with hot options personally prepared, both lunch and dinner were very tasty and service was excellent.
We had booked through BA Holidays, taking advantage of a very good room rate in their winter sale. However please be aware that this is a high quality hotel and service and settings such as this command a premium, which is reflected in the price of meals and other services, therefore if you are on a tight budget, you may have to forego the pleasure of some of the hotels facilities.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

They say first impressions count well you could not fail to be impressed with the entrance to the hotel if you arrive by water taxi. The staff were very warm and welcoming and speedily had us settled in our room which was very elegantly decorated with a complimentary drink awaiting us. The setting for breakfast is stunning as the terrace looks directly on to the Grand Canal where over a sumptuous breakfast you can watch the boats and gondolas pass by a few feet away. I cannot add anymore to all the other reviews the hotel has which sings its praises, believe every word a truly remarkable hotel and a fantastic experience to have stayed there.

Room Tip: We had a Venetian room on the fourth floor and it was very quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clyde13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Arriving by water taxi was the start of a great trip. Lunch on the spectacular terrace overlooking the grand canal. Service was excellent and I knew I had made the right choice of hotel. Elegant rooms well equipped. Very comfortable bed. Breakfast is just the best with a super selection followed by wonderful eggs benedict, and all the time the view amazes.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vic_levy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Look up perfection in the dictionary and this hotel should be pictured. Stayed here some years ago and was excited to see it after the renovations. From check-in to check-out, service was top-notch, the room was excellent and it was the best experience we have ever had at a Starwood hotel. Starting the day with breakfast on the Grand Canal with the best cappuchino I've ever had in Italy to the evening turndown and drinks on the Canal, everything was what you would hope the hotel to be. It blew away the service we got at two St. Regis locations we stayed at in other parts of Italy. If you can afford it, it's worth every euro.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great comment, which pleases us most.

The hotel goes back more than a century; it first opened its doors to the public in 1895 and in its long tradition and history it has always been a true emblem of the hospitality.

The recent meticulous restoration gave The Gritti Palace back its original grandeur and we are absolutely delighted that our loyal Guests, as you are, are excited and positively surprised by the restoration. And most of all that you enjoyed your stay with us even more than before.

Perfection is a very demanding definition and we always strive for it. We are grateful to you for having recognized our commitment to service excellence.

Please do not hesitate to get in touch with us for your future travels to Venice; we shall be at your disposal.

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#17 of 384 in Venice
1,576 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 384 in Venice
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#60 of 384 in Venice
1,637 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Venice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#9 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#9 Business Hotel in Venice
#13 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £349 - £1,994 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gritti Palace, a Luxury Collection Hotel, reopened its doors in 2013 after a significant and handcrafted restoration which has brought the historical palace back to its original grandeur, and introduced new avenues for pleasure and relaxation including The Gritti Epicurean School and the Blu Mediterraneo SPA. A place of exceptional art and elegance, The Gritti Palace is a refined version of its iconic self, where heritage and culture blend with renewed Venetian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gritti Palace Hotel
Gritti Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing