We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apart from Concierge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #16 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Amazing location, smart classical interiors, fine wine and food with fab views of S. Maria d Salute.

We stay all over the world and realise we are lucky enough for all our breaks to be both 5* luxury desitinations and 5* Hotels. We expect to pay a hefty price but in return we anticipate the kind of service which "just happens" nothings a poblem. As we have lmitied time we tend to rely on concierge perhaps more than we should do, but in a 5* hotel we do expect concierge to be at the top of their game. Tell them roughly what we want to do and let them get on an organise everything. Sadly concierge at the Gritty just doesn't meet that test. Everything we asked for boats, guides, entrance tickets etc were met with complications as to why things might be difficult, why something couldn't be done, even booking dinner in house seemed more complicated than it needed to be. Perhaps most unforgiving was that you were expected to chase to see if anything had been arranged or tickets acquired, in some instances it was better to give in and go out and arrange yourself.

Shame as otherwise the Gritty Palace came up to expectation.

I'd suggest the management phone Al Maha (Dubai) Hotel De Russie (Rome) or One Aldwych (London) and ask for tips on how their concierge service works.

Mr and Mrs Goodwin

Room Tip: Go for Grande Canal view worth every penny.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Goodwin,

First of all thank you very much for having chosen The Gritti Palace for your Venetian sojourn.

Being luxury travelers, hence very much used to a high standard of services, we are pleased that generally speaking The Gritti lived up to your expectations, however and most regretfully, with the exception of the Concierge desk.

We are concerned by your disappointment with the Concierge’s attitude, as its services are often the ones contributing in the creation of a more -or less- remarkable and enjoyable experience.

We have immediately tried to collect any available information; the feedback received from the Concierge is not detailed and consequently not exhaustive. According to our records, the Concierge has provided you with entry tickets to Palazzo Ducale as well as arranged for a boat at your disposal to visit Burano and the northern lagoon.

However, it appears from your comments that your dissatisfaction was more related to the manner the service was delivered and how you perceived it, rather than to the service itself.

We are really sorry for the inadequate assistance provided and we wish to assure you that there will be a follow up on the subject you brought to our attention.

We all look forward to your next visit, since we are eager to improve your impressions of our service.

Yours sincerely,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,278)
There are newer reviews for The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

849 - 855 of 1,279 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed in a canal view room (number 312 -lovely) for two nights at the end of a trip for our 25th anniversary. The whole experience was faultless from start to finish with charming staff, a beautiful room and stunning views. We also had dinner in the Clud de Doges which involved the best risotto either of us had ever had.
The view from the terrace on a sunny day, Bellini in hand, is one of those things you will never forget. Heavenly!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatthewHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was our first visit to Venice and we chose The Gritti Palace after reading so many fantastic reviews about it - of course, we were a little apprehensive as we were visiting with such high expectations after all the reviews, but The Gritti Palace did not disappoint.
We arrived by water taxi and were immediately greeted by a member of staff as we disembarked our taxi who then took all of our luggage and walked us to a private check-in area. We were then introduced to the lady who would be checking us in and she ran through all of the details with us, showed us around the hotel before walking us to our STUNNING room (a Giglio Prestige Canal View room).
On my birthday the very next day we walked back to our room to change before dinner (which was out of this world) to find a card wishing me a happy birthday from the hotel and a bottle of Prosecco in a nice bucket to toast the occasion. It was such a lovely thought and was well received. We them ate dinner at the hotel on the canal terrace (a MUST DO!!) when, after our main course, the waiter brought out a birthday meringue completely unexpectedly! We were so touched by the level of thought and care that the hotel provides to each of its guests, so effortlessly too, and I want to sincerely thank all the staff at The Gritti Palace for a visit we will never forget.

The hotel itself is in a fantastic location just a few minutes walk to St Mark's Square and a ten minute walk to Rialto Bridge. It has breathtaking views of the Santa Maria della Salute church just opposite, and the canal itself. You really must take time out to sit and enjoy a meal, or even just a few drinks, on the terrace - especially around dusk. The views are incredible.
The room was packed with luxuries from the decor itself, the huge welcoming bed, to the extravagant toiletries the hotel constantly provides and replenishes. The extra touches are all there too; coming back to our room in the evening to find expensive Eye Elixir on our bed each night was one of the small touches that really set this hotel apart from any another.
Finally; the staff. It is fair to say that every single member of staff we came across in the hotel treated you like absolute royalty. There wasn't a task too big or a question too small for any one of them.
After staying at The Gritti Palace, I don't think I could stay anywhere else ever again - and I would get back on a plane tomorrow to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdaM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for having taken the time to write such a nice and detailed report of your stay, that we will share with the entire staff.

It is a real pleasure to hear that we have succeeded in meeting your high expectations and that we have been able to render your birthday a memorable one.
We do really hope that our Gritti Palace could have become the place you think about for your special celebrations!

Taking good care of our Guests, especially in important occasions, is our main commitment.
We really look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in a not distant future and to let you experience again our personal touch.

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed at the Gritti for 5 nights and had a wonderful experience. The staff were very attentive, the property was in excellent condition and the outdoor deck is captivating. Just loved have breakfast on the deck as well as afternoon cocktails.

Our room was smaller than others, but we managed extremely well. The bathrooms were all marble, had a double sink vanity, great amenities and the towels very plush.

I would not recommend a room with a Grand Canal view, as you get much activity day and night making sleep challenging. However, if view overrides peace and quiet, you can get none better that a Grand Canal view. There are trade offs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armstrong56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Visited Venice for a birthday celebration and had a brilliant time. Stayed in the Gritti Palace Hotel and really enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. It has a very luxurious old fashioned feel, but is totally up to date in terms of facilities. Our room was large with a modern bathroom with lovely toiletries and lots of towels. Our room looked out onto the side street so was very airy and bright. Breakfast was very enjoyable sitting out on the terrace looking onto the Grand Canal. There was always something going on to watch and enjoy. One morning a tour of four gondolas sailed past with a tenor on board singing, it was very atmospheric. We had a night cap each night on the terrace as well and it was a lovely way to end the evening. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. I really liked the location of the hotel, very central to everything. We walked for miles each day and at every turn there was something to admire. Would recommend Venice and definitely the Gritti Palace!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitty63Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

If you are only going to Venice for a couple of days, go to the Gritti. It is totally glorious. Friendly and elegant in equal measure. The most amazing experience of the Grand Canal from the terrace - better than actually being on a gondola! Cocktails to die for… A really generous feeling hotel with such a superb level of service that their guests do feel 'honoured'.

Room Tip: The rooms have the most stunning bathrooms!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CornwallNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Gritti Palace with the TripAdvisor community and with us.

We are so happy to learn that you felt honoured thanks to the attitude of our wonderful and passionate team. Your appreciative comments will be shared with it.

We are grateful for your words and we couldn't agree more about the beauty of our unparalleled bar and restaurant terrace located directly on the Grand Canal and how enjoyable the view is from here, showing the city in its uniqueness, with a completely different feeling during daytime and night-time... During the day the Grand Canal offers an insight of the city life, whereas at night, the water and the sparkle of the lights of Venice create a romantic and magic atmosphere.

We look forward to your renewed visit to our unrivalled city and exclusive palace for another experience to treasure.

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We spent three nights at the Gritti Palace and could not have been more delighted with our choice. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful and whilst a five star hotel it was not in the slightest bit stuffy. Our rooms were serviced twice daily and we had an abundance of towels and goodies in the modern bathrooms. It was very easy and good fun to travel by water taxi from the airport directly to the hotel. Breakfast was delicious and all staff spoke good English and made us feel very welcome. I would recommend sitting out on the terrace by the canal and watching the very busy waterway. The hotel is conveniently located for all major attractions but in a slightly quieter spot than on the main front. We walked miles each day and it was a joy not to be worried about cars and roads...just bridges! To eat in the smart hotels along the canal or in St Peter's Square is very expensive but it was easy to find nice trattorias elsewhere. We never spent more than €100 for 4 people for a two course meal. I would highly recommend The Gritti Palace and Venice.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank SueC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having posted your rewarding feedback and for having recommended staying at our Gritti and visiting Venice to other discerning travelers; we are grateful to you.

We are delighted to read that the friendly and helpful attitude of our team members made you feel welcome! They will surely be encouraged by your remarks about the service quality.

Venice is a small town, better said, a genuine open air museum with an incomparable collection of architecture, thousands of monuments and the signs of times past which illustrate the height of the Venetian Republic’s grandeur and splendor.

Whatever street (“calle”) you take, you will find something worth to be visited and one may walk for hours each day without getting bored.As you mentioned, the central yet tranquil location of our Gritti Palace and the absence of car makes the visit even more enjoyable.

Hopefully, we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Gritti Palace in the soonest future!

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,926 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#18 of 385 in Venice
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#59 of 385 in Venice
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Venice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#9 Business Hotel in Venice
#11 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#13 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £393 - £2,332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gritti Palace, a Luxury Collection Hotel, reopened its doors in 2013 after a significant and handcrafted restoration which has brought the historical palace back to its original grandeur, and introduced new avenues for pleasure and relaxation including The Gritti Epicurean School and the Blu Mediterraneo SPA. A place of exceptional art and elegance, The Gritti Palace is a refined version of its iconic self, where heritage and culture blend with renewed Venetian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gritti Palace Hotel
Gritti Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing