We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Molto bene!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #7 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Molto bene!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

As usual high end Starwood does not disappoint! This place doesn't look like much from the outside but the rooms absolutely extravagant and lavish. Incredible decor, luxe fittings and fixtures and a bathroom to die for! The restaurant was a standout, outstanding service from a professional staff that view waiting as a serious career and do it with the utmost professionalism and knowledge. Only a short stay but will definitely be back! Always love the Starwood beds and linen!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 207. All rooms vary in size as it is an old private palace/house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becinsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,048
    84
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
196
748
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights and loved it. The room was excellent, and we definitely appreciated the complimentary wine and chocolates our first night. As a light packer, I appreciated that the bathroom included all toiletries and a blow dryer. Our room overlooked the side entrance with a slight view of the canal, but we liked seeing some of the activity on the street.

If your room doesn't overlook the canal, you'll have a fabulous view of it in the restaurant. We ate breakfast there both mornings and had drinks there one afternoon. A note of warning on the breakfast - the buffet is 50 euros per person. YOWZA. The food was nice and included pastries, sliced meat, fruit, yogurt, etc. along with the availability to order something from the chef, but it wasn't quite worth that much. We just ordered a la carte the second morning.

Unlike some other hotels we stayed in, The Gritti offers currency exchange, which was very helpful. We didn't ask the concierge to do anything crazy, but what we did ask for help with (getting train tickets to Florence, dinner reservations), they were great. Also, since we had never been to Venice and had no idea where to go once we landed at the airport, we arranged for a private water taxi through the hotel for 195 euros. Our flight was an hour late, so I was a little nervous about whether someone would still be there, and yet, our guy was right up front the second we landed.

Room Tip: We were able to use our SPG points for a lower tier room, and it was great - spacious, a small seati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vandelay37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

My wife and I visited Venice for the first time at the end of April. We chose the Gritti Palace as it had rave reviews on here. The reviews do not do this excellent hotel justice! From the minute we checked in, the staff did their best to make us feel welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for them, they even helped us print off our boarding passes for our return flight home.
The views are incredible (try and have breakfast outside, weather permitting, there is nothing like it) The room was gorgeous and the welcome bottle of wine is a nice touch.

I have to praise the gentleman who booked us in (I do him a dis-service by forgetting his name) but he patiently talked us through everything and looked genuinely pleased to be doing so.
We checked in on the 25th April (St Marks Day) and after he finished checking us in, he told us a wonderful story of a Venetian man who went off to war, and was killed on the 25th of April, in a field of white roses. As he lay there, his blood turned all the roses red. His comrade collected a rose and brought it back to his friend's wife, who died of a broken heart at hearing her loved one had died. I do not do the story justice, and he had us both hanging on every word, and he finished by presenting my wife a beautiful red rose, explaining that all the men give the women red roses on that day to keep the tradition alive! Well, what a wonderful way to start our holiday, my wife was beaming, and she carefully brought the rose home with her, and even now, six weeks later, it is still going!

Thank you so much for a magical experience, and we won't be looking anywhere else when we return to Venice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Second time that we stayed here... and there are no words to describe how amazing it has been, from the first minute until the last one superb service...
Thank you for taking care of us, we are in love with the city and the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is in a class by itself. A magnificent renovation to restore the hotel authentically while providing world class comfort is exceeded only by the warmth, professionalism and customer service focus of the staff. The General Manager Paolo Lorenzioni is a true hotelier rather than a GM who is "passing through " to his next career location within the organization. Starwood has been wise in selecting a GM who has a passion for people as well as detail so that no item is foo trivial for his concern and consideration. This ethic has been passed on to his capable staff who do their utmost to please.The front desk team provide a warm and capable welcome which is echoed by their collegues in other areas. From the beautiful lobby enhanced by fresh bouquets
and overseen by the portrait of Doge Gritti to the splendor of whatever room you have selected,
you will be pampered and refreshed by your stay.
The bar and restaurant along with their terrace are not to be missed for the ambiance, the best view in Venice and the wonderful service. An absolute must in their Dodge restaurant is their take on Venetian Cicchetti, as well as their asparagus risotto with white Monte as da cheese or their risotto Hemigway style with shrimps. Last but certainly not least is their Sea Bass in white wine with chive sauce. All of the aforementioned provide amazing flavors and melt in the mouth
goodness. The bar serves Bellini's with actual fresh peach juice not a concentrate which is what
virtually all other bars serve. It's not an inexpensive hotel stay but well worth it even if you can afford only a portion of your stay there. Italians use the restaurant and bar because even if they aren't staying at the hotel they know other high end restaurants charge more and provide less in all aspects ( quality, service and ambiance). As you can tell, we are "uber" fans and shortly
after returning home are ready to go back:)
( quality, ambiance and service). As you can tell, we are "uber" fans of this

Room Tip: All the rooms in this hotel are terrific and cost Starwood a fortune ( literally) to restore. You w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonvoyage30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have stayed for 4 nights at the Gritti Palace in 1993, due to the European Budget Meeting of Mead Johnson Nutritionals.
An excellent hotel, delicious food, superb choice of wine.
Should I ever go back to Venice, I will definetaly stay at the Gritti Palace.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turkey072006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

One night only and well worth the splurge. Stayed here prior to our Cruise and the Hotel is exceptional, staff is amazing. Check out the bar, it has an amazing view on nights the terrace is not used for Dinning. A special thanks to Ronina who checked us in and made us feel welcome from the moment we entered the Hotel. Very close to Plaza San Marco, so it made it easy to get around.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,486 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#3 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Venice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#6 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#9 Business Hotel in Venice
#13 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gritti Palace, a Luxury Collection Hotel, reopened its doors in 2013 after a significant and handcrafted restoration which has brought the historical palace back to its original grandeur, and introduced new avenues for pleasure and relaxation including The Gritti Epicurean School and the Blu Mediterraneo SPA. A place of exceptional art and elegance, The Gritti Palace is a refined version of its iconic self, where heritage and culture blend with renewed Venetian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gritti Palace Hotel
Gritti Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing