We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Luxury Hotel on the Grand Canal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #12 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a fabulous stay at the Gritti Hotel recently. The location is superb, and the entire staff was exceedingly helpful. Our room overlooked the Grand Canal and the view just cannot be beat - the room itself was gorgeous from the wallpaper, bedding to the ceiling medallion. The bathroom was updated and the size impressive (especially for Europe!).

Evening drinks on the veranda overlooking the Grand Canal was superb. A great way to watch the gondolas float past. Breaking on the outdoor patio was amazing as well. We cannot wait to return!

One note - if you are coming from the US bring your own electricity converter in order to charge your cell phone/i-pads Hotel does not supply them due to the age/type of construction of the building.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank tmchoate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

827 - 833 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had 4 rooms at the Gritti Palace in Venice for a few nights before heading out for a cruise. During our amazing cruise, our family wanted to go back to Gritti Palace as they made a unique, boutique hotel feel like our Italian home. Everyone was extremely attentive and greeted us every moment we walked through the hotel. From the front desk to the concierge to the manager of the restaurant -- everyone made us feel as if we were important -- their only guests at the hotel. Even when the hotel is sold out, it feels quiet and very personal. There are a few rooms which view the canal but it is most likely you will be in a room which faces the square. Be sure to have a breakfast at their restaurant and sit out on the terrace. It is like having a breakfast on a gondola with yummy European delicacies. They even opened up an additional room at no charge to assist our grandmother in having more room. Yes, a complimentary room at one of the best hotels in Europe to ensure she had more space. As a Platinum SPG member who does 50+ hotel stays per year, this was something we had never experienced. Thank you, Hotel Gritti Palace for making our stay in Venice truly special.

Room Tip: Ask for grand canal view if possible -- but they book up very early. Otherwise, something with a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LovetoTravelAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked to stay at the Gritti Palace in Venice for 2 nights and wished we had stayed longer. The room although situated at the side of hotel looking over a courtyard was nicely appointed with excellent amenities and some very nice touches, (lovely complimentary bottle of red wine) in a venetian style, suitable for our stay. The staff were very friendly, courteous & efficient, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts (included in our package) & evening meals were delightful. The Maître d was excellent and evening meals were orchestrated with style & panache, and right by the Grand Canal, you could not have asked for any more. Thoroughly recommend staying at the Gritti Palace.

Room Tip: It will cost a lot €€€€€€€ but if you can get a view of the Grand Canal from your room, then wow, ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

When you go to Venice you want the Venetian style rooms but let's be honest you want them to be clean and updated. The Gritti is the perfect mix of modern luxury and classic Venetian style. Giovanni at the front desk was very welcoming and helpful and for you Starwood members they have very good SPG recognition.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

From the moment we arrived on our private water taxi (amazing experience!) to the moment we sadly had to leave we were treated (along with all guests of course) like royalty, they really did spoil us!! We were greeted immediately by friendly, well dressed staff who quickly helped us with our luggage! Check-In went smoothly and after travelling most of the day I was very happy that there was gorgeous chairs to sit down whilst check in was completed! Modern technology was used to check in which pleased me as it all went smoothly. Afterwards he showed us where some of the facilities and took us to our room to show us how things work in the room which we loved as it made us feel like were important to them as they had time for us.
We were given a box of handmade chocolates and a bottle of wine which made us feel special and we very much enjoyed them, thank you Hotel Gritti! :-)
Room was out of this world, so beautifully decorated so many nice touches in the room. Everything was to the best standard, no faults! Luxury items were available in the bathroom and the bathroom was also impeccable. Girls, no need to bring your hairdryer the one they provide is of great quality!!
Breakfast was an experience, a good one! We got seated straight away each morning, we were looked after by staff, prosecco included in breakfast which is good for me! Hot food was done to perfection and cold food was perfection! All the little things like cutlery, plates, linen and teapots were of high quality this is important to me. Plus you get a great view of Grand Canal!! It is totally worth it! So relaxing!
We had dinner here one night, it was the most expensive dinner we have ever paid for BUT I had done my research so we had prepared for that, plus we are on holiday and we definitely can't get a meal like that back home!! So glad we decided to go for it, beautiful setting (front on the Grand Canal), beautiful food and wonderful service, couldn't fault it. They even made me and my husband an anniversary cake for our wedding anniversary! Again, thank you Hotel Gritti :-)
We also visited the bar, you must go! Again it is such a beautiful setting, great service and a great experience!
We love you Hotel Gritti !!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brandy2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Brandy2307,

Thank you, thank you, thank you!

We love all of our Guests too!!

It is our hope to welcome you back to The Gritti Palace for another memorable experience!

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Gritti 3 of the 4 times we have been to Venice over the last 25 years. The only exception was when it was under this last renovation, It has taken me 2 months to think about doing a review as I have mixed feelings.

My first impression is that they upgraded the bathrooms to today's standard of a Luxury hotel and they added a new Bed and Television. And they jacked up the prices double before you even take into consideration of the weak dollar to the Euro. I think this was probably the most expensive hotel that I have stayed in and I have stayed in many top end hotels around the world. I still am having a hard time accepting what i paid to stay there. When we questioned if we got the upgraded room we were supposed to have, we were told that we did, so I wonder what the lessor rooms were like. Of course we did have a wonderful view of the Canal but could only stand as the terrace was a couple feet wide.

Now in addition to the price of the room, the food and drinks were also expensive when we had an afternoon drink outside before getting ready to go to dinner at some of our favorite Venice restaurants.

But with all of this said, I do not think that I have ever stayed at a hotel that has better service than the Gritti. Marcello and Umberto were absolutely great concierges and everyone else be it the maids, the waiters/waitresses, the check in people etc, could just not have been any better.

I am sure there are nicer rooms and lower prices in Venice, but there just cannot be better service. It will be interesting if we ever do get back to Venice where we will stay. Maybe we will be lucky and the dollar will be strong and take some of the sting out of the price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank MisterKenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our stay at the Gritti Palace was everything we imagined it to be. The list of former guests is impressive ranging from Hemingway, Churchill, Liz Tayor, Bacall and Bogart, to Springstein, Jagger, Cruise, Winslet and more. There are 82 rooms and 21 suites. The hotel was recently refurbished. It is truly magnificent The service is excellent. The Concierge Staff was extremely helpful. The room we stayed in did not have a view but it was nicely appointed and extremely comfortable. Sitting outside on the terrace with its magnificent view of the Grand Canal and watching the Gondola's pass by was an incredible experience. The location is quite good and a perfect escape from the crowds. If you are not able to stay here, I highly recommend a drink on the terrace in the evening, it is very romantic and will be an experience that you will always treasure.

Room Tip: If you don't mind not having a canal view, the rooms not on the canal are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Traveltattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, your patronage and for underlining that The Gritti Palace represents one of the most prestigious addresses in Venice.

Distinguished Guests, today as in the past, enjoy the luxury and style of this antique private palace and appreciate the discreet service provided. Celebrities, head of states and nobles elected our hotel as their “home away from home” as witnessed by the hundreds of signatures and dedications contained in the historical “Gritti’s Golden Books”, signatures which are being collected still nowadays.

Thank you also for recommending The Gritti Palace to other travelers, at least for a drink!

We look forward to your next visit to Venice for other incredible moments, particularly on our breathtaking terrace.

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,590 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#77 of 385 in Venice
2,597 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,960 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#63 of 385 in Venice
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Venice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#9 Business Hotel in Venice
#9 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#13 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £345 - £1,188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gritti Palace, a Luxury Collection Hotel, reopened its doors in 2013 after a significant and handcrafted restoration which has brought the historical palace back to its original grandeur, and introduced new avenues for pleasure and relaxation including The Gritti Epicurean School and the Blu Mediterraneo SPA. A place of exceptional art and elegance, The Gritti Palace is a refined version of its iconic self, where heritage and culture blend with renewed Venetian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gritti Palace Hotel
Gritti Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing