We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #12 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

My wife and I stayed here in August for a few nights whilst visiting Venice. Everything about the hotel is superb and we will never forget the wonderful breakfasts on the terrace watching the busy canal traffic in front and overlooking Santa Maria church. Our Venetian room was sumptuously decorated and was of adequate size. It did not have a view but we knew not to expect one with this type of room. We visited the other luxury hotels nearby and The Gritti was by far the best.

Room Tip: Look out for Special Deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frogfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,122
    90
    29
    10
    5
See reviews for
212
797
28
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the Gritti Palace for my birthday. Booked through the BA website which gave us a great deal (including breakfast). Service was excellent and even included a complimentary birthday cake. We chose to eat our dinners out and the concierge recommended and booked a lovely restaurant which had a great atmosphere and wasn't too pricey. We'll certainly be back once we've saved up some more pennies. Oh, just one tip, there are mozzies in Venice so don't do what we did and open your windows at night - just use the air con!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CityBreak84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We had stayed at this world class hotel 15 years before. We wanted to revisit and found it close to the Violino d'Oro where we were staying. It is as beautiful, and elegant as ever. The $12 cappuccino was worth it because the view of the Grand Canal is breathtaking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Beautifully renovated property with modern conveniences. Close to everything. Overpriced like everything in Venice. Great concierge service but disappointed restaurant: food was conservative, expensive and often lacked flavors. Tuna salad with canned tuna is not my idea of a meal at a restaurant.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Liza D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We were in Venice for a few days prior to joining a Cruise to celebrate my Wife's 40th Birthday, I had heard many great comments about the Gritti Palace and had some family members stay there many years ago, so I did some research. After reading about the extensive renovations that had been done on he hotel and the customer comments I booked a Landmark Grand Canal Room for our stay. I had several great interactions with the Hotel Concierge prior to our departure to get advice on some Tour Options as well as a name for a good private transfer operator. I also communicated with the GM to arrange for a Canal side table for dinner one evening at Club Del Doge. With every communication, the staff could not have been more helpful.
From the minute we arrived by Private Water Taxi at the Hotels Grand Canal Pier, we were treated like royalty buy every staff member we came in contact with, from the Luggage Porters, Front Desk Staff and Concierge. While the Gritti Palace is expensive, it is worth every penny that we spent, it was a fantastic start to my Wife's Birthday Celebration!

Room Tip: The view from the Landmark Grand Canal rooms is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Everything about our stay at the hotel was lovely- breakfast on the terrace is an incredible experience and the rooms are very tasteful and the location is very central for San Marco island. The only downfall to our stay was a very rude guest service personal saying our check out was at 10am. I have stayed at luxury hotels around the world and never encountered a 10am check out. We asked for a late check out ( even 11am would have been appreciated) but were not given any other options. Why on earth a hotel would need 5 hours to turn a room is beyond me but it left a sour taste to our experience here. 10am is very unreasonable in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank foodandwine252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feelings about your stay at The Gritti Palace.

We are pleased to read that your stay with us was a lovely one and are, on the other hand,
sincerely sorry for the circumstance that you highlighted and for your consequent disappointment.

You are indeed right, 10 a.m. check out is unreasonable.

Please be informed that our check-out time is noon and, given the long time of employment of our Front Office Associates, we cannot think at anything else but a misundestanding.

We do regret of the unpleasant situation occurred and we would be pleased to discuss this further with you on a private correspondence in order to have a better understanding of this shortfall, truly an exception to the rule, and prevent this from happening once again in the future.
Please feel free contact my assistant, Ms. Quagliotto at liana.quagliotto@starwoodhotels.com

We hope you will give us another opportunity to show you our best care and attention and look forward to welcoming you back to our Gritti Palace.

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The Gritti Palace is superb. Service is generally great (though the concierge was occasionally a bit gruff, and unhelpful), location perfect - just far enough away from St. Mark's to reduce the crowds, and rooms utterly sumptuous. We had drinks at the outdoor lounge each evening, which was very special as it overlooks the Grand Canal but never ate in the hotel otherwise. Acqua Di Parma toiletries are a special treat.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,904 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,600 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#17 of 385 in Venice
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Venice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#9 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#9 Business Hotel in Venice
#13 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gritti Palace, a Luxury Collection Hotel, reopened its doors in 2013 after a significant and handcrafted restoration which has brought the historical palace back to its original grandeur, and introduced new avenues for pleasure and relaxation including The Gritti Epicurean School and the Blu Mediterraneo SPA. A place of exceptional art and elegance, The Gritti Palace is a refined version of its iconic self, where heritage and culture blend with renewed Venetian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Starwood EMEA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gritti Palace Hotel
Gritti Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing