We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location... Bad staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Graspo de Ua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Graspo de Ua
Ranked #344 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Location... Bad staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great location... Right next to Rialto Bridge... Terrible day time staff... He is an old man who has a huge attitude problem...

Rooms are good... If you get a room on higher floors be prepared for a steep climb as there are no elevators (our room was on the fifth floor).

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maulik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    140
    131
    75
    94
See reviews for
92
289
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I booked this hotel for my driver in Venice...so I went there to leave some documents he had to take back home...
Unfortunately before entering the hotel I had a look at Tripadvisor...and I should have done it before..
When I arrived into the room, I understood where the bad reviews came from. It was very old and the shower is very small.
the rest of the hotel looks bad-old.....

My driver feedback was " this is a place to forget" ...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yomo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I did not Know there was still this attitude of "grab" as much as possible from the unfortunate passing customer ... however, after being here, in a very sad room, (which is accessed via a small terrace-warehouse full of dirty crates of mineral water), I noticed that this attitude, so do not yet extinct despite the economic crisis, despite the ease of communication-feedback network ... this system still exists and this hotel is a clear example.

The room, which I will not even comment on, did not have hot water and in the early morning light came from a useless curtain ...

with kindness at the time of paying the bill I expressed my discomfort and embarrassment by suggesting that I was not happy ....
result: nothing .. nothing at all … just pay the bill and let’s go with the next customer…

I asked for a tax bill because I was on a business trip .. the receipt that had already been issued .. was transformed at the time in a somewhat strange ...

never again please

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JhonDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

First the pro on the hotel: good shower pressure and a free breakfast

Now the cons:
Location - it may be off the Porto Rialto but it is not a nice location. It is off the main walk area and is in a creepy little avenue

Room - they need to redo the rooms and clean them up. The furniture is very dated and screams 1960's Las Vegas (but not the winning type room you would get but rather the room for the down-and-out person that can only afford the lowest available). Also, our room was on the first floor next to where the reception people would go to smoke so the smell would spill into our room.

Bed - like sleeping on concrete from the 1960's. The pillows pasted their prime about 20 years ago and were wafer thin.

Sapfety - they have the key card but do not use them. They give you a key to unlock and the. Re lock your door when you get inside. It takes awhile to get used to the key and god forbid if you have to get out quickly as you will spend five minutes trying to unlock the door. You would also have to give them the key and as long as you know the room number, they would give you the key, with no check on who you were.

No AC - Venice is hot, very hot. The only exception is that this room was hotter. There are controls to the AC but it does not control anything. When I asked, they just blow me off.

I would highly suggest to avoid this location at all cost. If you have the choice between this place and the gutter next to the Rialto, I think you might be more comfortable in the gutter.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

we stayed a week and found all members of staff helpful and friendly. The room was fairly small but always clean with fresh towels every day. We knew that there was no lift but did not expect the hotel to be 5 floors. Unfortunately we were on the top floor with a climb of 85 steps. The up side was that we had a view over the rooftops and could see the lovely sunsets. I would suggest that if you are not fit you make sure that you are on the lower floors. One of the bonuses to the hotel is that is very close to the Rialto Bridge, the water bus and taxis and the Rialto Market.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 19paullovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Booked this place from a Groupon deal and read all the good and bad reviews. So took it all with a grain of salt and came with no high expectations. When we arrived into the room, I understood where the bad reviews came from. It was old and the shower is very small. But to be honest, it was fine. Venice is old and there is not a lot of space so if there is a complaint about size and how old it is, then I suggest to throw down more money and book a room at the 5 star Danieli Hotel. The sheets and towels were clean. Housekeeping came every day. Soap and shampoo was provided. The decor was vintage old Venice- just like the pictures. It was cute and quaint, the old part is what it is. Yes, the bathroom might look dingy with the caulk needing to be improved, but all in all, it was clean. Didn't give me a huge ick factor, and I'm big on clean so this part worried me before my trip...but it was okay. The floors/walls are thin and I did hear people outside the room at about 4am. That didn't bother me much..it was the pigeons outside the room that were the loudest and woke me up every crack of dawn. Breakfast was average- Croissants, ham, cheese, yogurts, milk, juice. The cheap stuff. But very thankful for the fresh apples, muesli, and the coffee machine.

Wifi was good. Have to sign in with a code and password every time you go back to the room. Service was average. Not very friendly so don't expect warm smiles and greetings. Staff was there just to do their jobs, nothing more. Disappointing because you expect a nice feeling from the hospitality industry.

Last but not least, the LOCATION. AMAZING and PERFECT. It's right outside the Rialto Bridge and upon arriving, just ask a shop nearby where the hotel is and they will point you to the right direction. It's very easy to find. It's RIGHT NEXT to the Rialto Bridge, that itself is worth staying at this hotel. It's next to all the main sights and in the night time, so easy to get back. Especially if having drinks across the bridge at all the bars in that one square. Or if eating along the grand canal.

Couldn't get the radiator for the heat to work. The mini fridge was broken. Shower pressure was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GKCALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed a couple days at this hotel and find the staff to be
The room was old-fashioned, small, with very old scrappy furniture and badly sound-conditioned. We were walked up many times by someone in the room above us and next door us at about 00:00 am, 2:00 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. We were kept awake most nights.
You could also hear the bar in front of the hotel and the water pump of the hotel.
The pillows were lousy and we needed supplemental blankets.
the shower is super small.

The guy at the reception was rude and the staff miserable and not helpful. We had to request the room cleaning. We experienced that bad service.
Breakfast is served from 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. but there is rapidly no more food and no restocking possible, the staff just forgot to order sufficent food... You'd better go for breakfast at 8:00 a.m.!

Very central: able to walk to the downtown attractions (Rialto bridge, Dodge's Palace, ....) and shopping.
The building did not meet our expectations.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Al Canal Regio
Al Canal Regio
#238 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Castello
Locanda Canal
Locanda Canal
#300 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#107 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
San Marco
Ambassador Tre Rose
Ambassador Tre Rose
#291 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Torino
Hotel Torino
#203 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graspo de Ua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graspo de Ua

Property: Graspo de Ua
Address: Sestiere San Marco 5094 | Calle dei Bombasieri, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Graspo de Ua 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Graspo de Ua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graspo De Ua Venice
Graspo De Ua Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing