We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most disappointing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
Ranked #143 of 385 Hotels in Venice
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Most disappointing Hotel”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I've travelled Europe often - since I was 18 and now I'm 50. This hotel room was the quality of a youth hostel I might have been forced to select for $25 in 1986, not a $460 room for my family of 4. Aside from looking like a low-level college dorm room with terrible mattresses, thin covers and unattractive furniture, the room was still dirty. The bathroom floor had black hair on it, and every blanket (there were 3 beds) was dirty. It looked like a sad dorm room, not a hotel. I complained about the quality of the room as compared to the price, and was told there was not another room available and no discount would be offered. Our daughter's room, down the hall, was only marginally better but at least was substantially cheaper since she booked that very day. There are enough decent hotels in Venice that I would not recommend this one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JobiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    395
    155
    36
    32
See reviews for
111
451
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed just one night. The hotel is well managed, the rooms are not so small as in other Venice hotels.
We liked the location, very near to San Marco and Rialto, and also the comfort of the bed.
The price is ok, we will come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailedac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

First time to Venice. So, don't have anything to compare this experience to. This room was selected based on a winning bid thru Priceline. It was not our choice of hotel.
The hotel is between Rialto and the square and close walking distance to the attractions wanted to see. We arrived very late in evening and the addresses ere difficult but we found our way to the hotel thanks to some friendly tourists. The room and bathroom were very, very basic. No frills. Clean. No complaints. But would not be our first choice in hotels due to lack of amenities. Bathroom shower was very, very small. Not sure we will do priceline again.
3 stars based on staff helpfulness.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank CHARLESandMICHELLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

It was a standard room with mediocre quality of cleanliness. The space in the shower cubicle was so small it created a claustrophobic atmosphere to us. The room came together with a breakfast package and free WIFI. It was kind of tricky to locate the hotel as we arrived late at night but it was actually near to the water taxi stop. Overall our stay was worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theV0ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a nice hotel. The room is nice and tidy, though a bit small.
Air conditioning and WiFi, what more do you want.
The bathroom is good, however, there is nowhere to put things in the bathroom, this is the case very often. So I think, all in all, nothing much to complain about. I'll tell you about breakfast later.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Arrived to Hotel in the afternoon,the room was small very little space. Bathroom also small but clean. no non slip mat for bath so showered very carefully. The hotel is perfectly situated only 10 min walk to San Marco. Reception Staff very friendly and helpful, cannot say the same for breakfast staff they where not friendly and no greeting when you enter breakfast room. They advertised a terrace but that was closed would have been nice to sit out on the terrace in the evening. Stayed for six nights. Would be a good idea to put tea and coffee facilities in the room. As i was not allowed to bring a cup of coffee to my room from breakfast room. Had a wonderful Holiday in Venice but would not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We arrived to check in, and the man wouldn't even look up at us as we greeted him with our recently-learned Italian. After a few brief words, forgetting to tell us everything we should know, we headed into the extremely tiny elevator and after a few goes at shape-shifting we finally fit with our luggage. The room was unimpressive, looked very old and not a nice smell. The bed was low and springy, pancakes for pillows. The bathroom was old fashioned and ugly like your grandparents' house, which perhaps we should've expected as we were looking for a traditional Italian experience... Every morning we woke up to the wafting stench of cigarettes coming in through the air vents, despite the No Smoking signs.

I wanted to complain but knew nothing would happen as the service so far has been terrible and no one seemed to care about the guests' experience. Breakfast selection is terrible, don't go near the dust-like dry breads (my partner found an Italian hair in his bread roll). A sign as you enter reads "It is forbidden to remove food from the breakfast room". Yeah - because they're stingy. A lady tried to take an apple as she left but got told off by the grumpy staff.

To sum-up, this place pretty much ruined our experience of Venice. Would not stay again, if you paid me. Also the photos make it look all grand and better than it actually is. The only thing grand about that place was their snobby attitudes.

Room Tip: Dont stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Belinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#133 of 385 in Venice
493 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 385 in Venice
1,823 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#106 of 385 in Venice
783 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#68 of 385 in Venice
1,489 reviews
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#48 of 385 in Venice
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia

Property: Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
Address: Calle Fabbri 4696/A, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will lose yourself in the atmosphere of Venice that you have always dreamed of, between San Marco and the Ponte di Rialto, lodged in a splendid, completely renovated seventeenth-century palace. In the middle of the historic center, within walking distance from all the most significant places in the city, the Hotel Gorizia "A La Valigia" offers maximum comfort and the best services for an exclusive and relaxing vacation in one of the most characteristic 3-star hotels in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorizia a La Valigia Hotel Venice
Gorizia a La Valigia Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing