We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in brilliant location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
Ranked #127 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

The Hotel Gorizio is brilliantly located half way between the Rialto Bridge and St Mark's Square. It's a perfect spot from which to explore Venice.

Hotel staff always friendly and courteous and we had no problems with language barrier.

The breakfast was a simple continental offering but perfectly adequate, regularly well stocked and fresh. Coffee was a bit grim though!

We loved our room. Decorated in a plush Venetian style it had a comfortable bed and a good sized bathroom.

Top tip: get a voucher from reception for a discount at one of St Mark's Square cafés then you can have a glass of Prosecco (or similar) on the square whilst listening to a string ensemble without going bankrupt.

I would certainly consider staying at this hotel again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank MGeorge_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 850 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hotels on the island with easy walks to the Rialto Bridge and St mark's square are often either very expensive or of poor, cramped quality. This hotel is good value with a small but OK room with a nice sized bathroom (hard to find in Venice). 5 mins North to the Rialto, 5 mins south to St Mark's with lots of shops selling everything on both of those walks. Good free WiFi and a nice breakfast too. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel if you want a nice view of a Venice street or the back for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edkemp2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I've travelled Europe often - since I was 18 and now I'm 50. This hotel room was the quality of a youth hostel I might have been forced to select for $25 in 1986, not a $460 room for my family of 4. Aside from looking like a low-level college dorm room with terrible mattresses, thin covers and unattractive furniture, the room was still dirty. The bathroom floor had black hair on it, and every blanket (there were 3 beds) was dirty. It looked like a sad dorm room, not a hotel. I complained about the quality of the room as compared to the price, and was told there was not another room available and no discount would be offered. Our daughter's room, down the hall, was only marginally better but at least was substantially cheaper since she booked that very day. There are enough decent hotels in Venice that I would not recommend this one.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JobiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed just one night. The hotel is well managed, the rooms are not so small as in other Venice hotels.
We liked the location, very near to San Marco and Rialto, and also the comfort of the bed.
The price is ok, we will come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ailedac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

First time to Venice. So, don't have anything to compare this experience to. This room was selected based on a winning bid thru Priceline. It was not our choice of hotel.
The hotel is between Rialto and the square and close walking distance to the attractions wanted to see. We arrived very late in evening and the addresses ere difficult but we found our way to the hotel thanks to some friendly tourists. The room and bathroom were very, very basic. No frills. Clean. No complaints. But would not be our first choice in hotels due to lack of amenities. Bathroom shower was very, very small. Not sure we will do priceline again.
3 stars based on staff helpfulness.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank CHARLESandMICHELLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

It was a standard room with mediocre quality of cleanliness. The space in the shower cubicle was so small it created a claustrophobic atmosphere to us. The room came together with a breakfast package and free WIFI. It was kind of tricky to locate the hotel as we arrived late at night but it was actually near to the water taxi stop. Overall our stay was worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theV0ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a nice hotel. The room is nice and tidy, though a bit small.
Air conditioning and WiFi, what more do you want.
The bathroom is good, however, there is nowhere to put things in the bathroom, this is the case very often. So I think, all in all, nothing much to complain about. I'll tell you about breakfast later.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 387 in Venice
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Paganelli
Hotel Paganelli
#101 of 387 in Venice
971 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#70 of 387 in Venice
797 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#122 of 387 in Venice
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia

Address: Calle Dei Fabbri San Marco 4696/A, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £79 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will lose yourself in the atmosphere of Venice that you have always dreamed of, between San Marco and the Ponte di Rialto, lodged in a splendid, completely renovated seventeenth-century palace. In the middle of the historic center, within walking distance from all the most significant places in the city, the Hotel Gorizia "A La Valigia" offers maximum comfort and the best services for an exclusive and relaxing vacation in one of the most characteristic 3-star hotels in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorizia a La Valigia Hotel Venice
Gorizia a La Valigia Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing