We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Abbazia Venice”
Review of Hotel Abbazia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abbazia
Ranked #79 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Hotel Abbazia Venice”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Very friendly staff and the room sizes were good. Close to the Ferrovia and the Train station. Short walk to St Marcos square and Rialto bridge. Sitting room is very handy when waiting for flight connections with bathroom facilities, coffee machine and television all available. Garden is wonderful for breakfast being very restful in just a busling city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia2693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,052
    693
    113
    26
    9
See reviews for
388
912
69
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hemet, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We really enjoyed our brief stay in Venice and the Hotel was even more pleasing than out last stay 15 years ago. The staff were 5 star all the way. Thank you Matteo and Alvise. Until our next visit...I hope it does not take us 15 years to return.

Room Tip: Call early for best availability. Check out the grounds and ask about the history of the Abbazia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddmd1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I just finished my stay here at Hotel Abbazia, a converted monastery near the train station in Venice. The staff has been above and beyond delightful, and I've enjoyed chatting with each member. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous, with a tranquil garden just outside the breakfast room. The breakfast was fine with many options for all tastes. My room was charming, with great cleaning and a good sized bathroom. The bed was a little stiff, but I was so tired from exploring I passed out. I've had a lovely stay here, and when they joked I should stay longer, I actually considered it! I'm currently trying to figure out how to pack this staff into my overstuffed suitcase, just so I can take them and their charm with me. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evierieder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This is the second time I'm reviewing the Abbazia...the first was a couple of years ago. Most recent visit was not was satisfactory as the first one. Abbazia remains staffed with very friendly folks, and all in all it has what you'd expect from a three-star place. The location remains unbeatable for those coming to Venice via train. But some maintenance issues with the room went unfixed during our stay, the Internet did not work in rooms that were not near the center of the hotel...only in the hallways. And over all, I got the sense that the maintenance budget was cut back, and it shows. Price remains a plus, tho.

Room Tip: Try to start close to the center of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RANDALL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location. It is right by the train station and within walking distance to everything in Venice. The hotel has a very nice breakfast area outside in the courtyard and we really enjoyed eating breakfast here it was like an oasis in the busy city of Venice. The hotel was also very clean and had a well apointed room and big bathroom. The bed was a little hard though. The staff was extreamly friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

we stayed here in early june 2013 this hotel is well appointed with fantastic staff who are extremely helpful the boys really know how to make the guests welcome and very quick with a jock and a good laugh.
breakfast was a great way to start the day and the ambiance of the old converted church is a great place to stay. will definitely come here again.
great job boys

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tezza5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
171 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We had only one night here. Lovely to get such a spacious room after a ship's cabin, and it was very quiet. No elevator, so be warned you have to carry your bags up or down stairs. The staff on arrival were delightful - welcoming, friendly and helpful, with a great sense of humour.
Not so good on departure - seems that once you are leaving, you are history. You are left to struggle with your luggage on the stairs and getting out the street door.
Church bells started at 7am, which was good to have a wake-up call to get you out and about before the millions of other people. Minibar charge includes bottled water which surprised me: I expected that to be in the tariff. Breakfast pretty basic and the coffee machine instructions are in Italian only, which confused non-Italian-speaking guests. The bar (the old monastic refectory at a guess) and the garden are a bonus and both are very relaxing places.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want- either a quiet room (as we had) or one with a view (which will probably be ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finona68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvise V, Direttore at Hotel Abbazia, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear Guest,
we do thank you very much for your kind review.
Just to be exact with TripAdvisor's Readers and potential Guests, we actually don't have an elevator, but from 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. we continuously have a porterage service and unless you have left the hotel before 8:00 a.m. you could easily take advantage of this service even only.picking up your phone and at least advising the reception about your departure time!
And, anyhow, our target is to let people feel like at home and consequently to let them come back: we should be totally stupid if we may act differently...
Have a nice day and see you in Venice again!
Alvise Vianello, mgr. Hotel Abbazia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 385 in Venice
3,579 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#109 of 385 in Venice
1,554 reviews
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#33 of 385 in Venice
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#25 of 385 in Venice
838 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#197 of 385 in Venice
910 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#12 of 385 in Venice
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abbazia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbazia

Property: Hotel Abbazia
Address: Calle Priuli dei Cavaletti 68 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Venice
#50 Family Hotel in Venice
#68 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abbazia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Abbazia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbazia Hotel Venice
Hotel Abbazia Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing