We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved staying here”
Review of Hotel Abbazia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abbazia
Ranked #79 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved staying here”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed three nights at the end of our cruise. It was a great location-- just off the port and next to the railroad station so all the vaporetti stopped there. It is a beautiful old ex-abbey as the name implies and its real outstanding feature is the lovely garden in the middle. It wish we could have gotten a room that overlooked the garden and that was not on the third floor (they say second but the ground floor is 0 in Europe). We usually stopped in the garden when we got back from our wanderings to get enough strength to get up to our room. Hey! We did a lot of walking. The room was very comfortable and clean and we had a jacuzzi. We can't get used to showers with no curtain so we had some wet floors the first day. Breakfast was great and one could take it out into the garden. Lovely. I should mention that the house staff was very accommodating and helped us with our luggage as we needed it. All in all, I would go back. I would request a garden view on a lower floor next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view and a lower floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aheis1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,052
    693
    113
    26
    9
See reviews for
388
912
69
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Abbazia for 4 nights in July 2013. The hotel was literally right around the corner from the train station, which was very welcome as we were not traveling light! I must commend the front desk staff in particular for being extremely kind and helpful with everything from our stroller to Italian grammar. Overall, it was a delightful stay and I hotel I would stay in again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omn934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My stay at the Hotel Abbazia marked several firsts for me:
1. My first trip to Venice.
2. My first stay in a (former) monastery.
3. My first stay in a hotel where the minibar was cheaper than going to a bar!

My room was the perfect size and overlooked the relaxing and verdant garden. The high ceilings, gilt fixtures, and tall windows with shutters made me feel like a true Venetian. The elegant furnishings, marble floors, and pink and gold striped silk lining the walls made me feel like Venetian royalty! And the lobby, sitting area, and bar just made me feel glad to be there.

The other thing that sets this hotel apart from others I have stayed in during my European trip is. the front desk staff: they were unexpectedly helpful and welcoming. When I arrived tired and too early to check into my room, they took over my luggage, promised to have my room ready in half an hour, and asked if I needed to visit the restroom! Very impressive.

Oh, and one other first:
4. My first stay in a hotel where bubble bath was provided in my room. Might not sound like much, but for me, it was heaven!

Room Tip: The rooms. overlooking the garden are so peaceful, you don't realize how close you are to the ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This hotel is located close to the train station in Venice. As you exit the trian station in front of the canal, it is on a small side street to the left, but it is easy to find. Look for the big sign for the Hotel Florida as it is on the same side street about a block back. We never had trouble finding the hotel. It is a three-to-five minute walk from the train station.

The hotel was once the site of a Carmelite order. It has a large sitting area off the lobby. That area is quite beautiful. It has a lovely outside courtyard.

The room in which we stayed was quiet and clean. It was smaller than American hotel rooms in equivalent price ranges although the bathroom was fairly large. In short, the room was more than adquate and possessed a certain old-world charm.

The hotel is situated near the canal taxis which are in front of the train station. This is convenient. The water taxis will take you almost anywhere in Venice. We bought a twenty-four hour pass. We always took the number 2 taxi as it had far fewer stops than other water taxis. Be careful that you get the taxi going in the right rdirection and that you are at the right dock. Some stoppping points have 2 docks and it is confusing.

The staff at the hotel was helpful, friendly and always courteous. And, we needed help as Venice can be difficult to navigate but is an absolutely beautiful and amazing place--but a tourist trap in every sense of the word. Watch out for the prices on St. Mark's Square. 12 euros for music while you sip a 9.5 euro coke?

This was just a great hotel both for its facilities and its location.

Room Tip: Remember, take a left outside the train station. If you hit Breks restaurant, you have gone too far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

spend three days n the best is the location, steps away from the railway station, plus very good n friendly service. 2 downside: room too small. no water kettle in room, but the staff all hotel even five star is the same, no water kettle. but they r good to provide hot water in the bar instead. breakfast is nice n the garden is good to relax.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolphinworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Excellent location, especially when you have not much time in Venice; friendly and warm staffs who are very helpful! Nice garden, ancient Italian style lobby, small but cute room with high ceiling at least.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stre0821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Conveniently located to bus terminal (we bought 48 hour Actv pass for bus and ferries - strongly recommend as we used it continuously) and to train station. After travelling for 36 hours we were greeted by friendly staff. Made special effort to allow us to check in early. Great room, comfortable, clean and well appointed. Breakfast was substantial. Would have loved to have stayed more than two night.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 385 in Venice
3,577 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#109 of 385 in Venice
1,554 reviews
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#33 of 385 in Venice
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#25 of 385 in Venice
838 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#197 of 385 in Venice
909 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#12 of 385 in Venice
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abbazia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbazia

Property: Hotel Abbazia
Address: Calle Priuli dei Cavaletti 68 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Venice
#50 Family Hotel in Venice
#68 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abbazia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Abbazia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbazia Hotel Venice
Hotel Abbazia Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing