We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Abbazia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Abbazia
Ranked #74 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were delighted to find this hotel very close to the train station. We checked in early in the morning and left our bags at the desk since our room wasn't ready, but we were offered breakfast before we wandered off to explore for the day—a generous and unexpected bonus! Three of us comfortably shared one spacious room with three single beds; it was sparkling clean and pleasantly decorated in a typical Venetian style. The lobby was impressive and inviting, the desk clerk was witty and personable. Despite being near the station, it felt safe to walk in this area at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caren d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,032
    678
    107
    24
    7
See reviews for
376
890
66
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This lovely hotel is situated just near the Train Station . So close to everything. Great area, would definitely stay here again. There was a mix up with our booking but a phone call and thanks to Mirko at the Abazzia he had it all fixed up. When we arrived he greeted us and gave us an amazing room. So big, we had so much room. Big comfy bed, two big windows to look out over the alleyways. Huge bathroom and also a huge area for storage of clothes for hanging or in drawers. Amazing. Just wished we could have stayed longer than 2 days. The garden area is so lovely and peaceful right in the m iddle of the hotel. Breakfast was included and it was very nice. This was an old Abbey in the past and there are still lovely old features in the guest lounge area . Everyone on the front desk was friendly and helpful but have to say Mirko in particular is a great assett to the hotel. Always has a smile on his face.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happywatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. As other reviewers have mentioned, the location is perfect. The breakfast is plentiful and varied. The lounge area is lovely, as is the garden. I stayed in October so it was getting to be a bit on the cold side, but I still spent some time enjoying the garden. There are only two things I would mention on the downside of this hotel. One is that there was a step up into the bathroom in the room we stayed in (203)...don't know if it's the same in other rooms. I think this could be a bit dangerous when you have to get up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom and you are half asleep and don't remember there's a step...very easy to trip up. Same on the way out...if you forget about the step down, it could really be dangerous. Especially when you are trying to be considerate to your roommate and not turn the light on. The other issue is very minor in the whole scheme of things...we only got cushion-sized and shaped pillows on our beds. I like to have a whole pillow. It was especially silly when they put them inside large pillowcases! To end on a high note though, the day we arrived was pouring with rain and the tide was at its highest. The hotel lent us gumboots so we could visit St Marks Square and not get wet feet! All in all, I don't think you could go wrong staying at this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pinkpetuniasydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
looblee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

5stars for staff & value for money. Venice is expensive, I am sure you could find a larger room with a more comfy bed elsewhere but then you would be paying upwards of £250 per night. For the money this place is perfect. We arrived at 10.30am after a very early start and were invited to have breakfast which was a nice touch. This hotel is the easiest place to find, a very short walk from the station or bus station which we came into off our Treviso ryanair flight. The vaperetto is just outside on the grand canal, (although its the most confusing vaperetto stop just hop on one going in the right direction it should get you close to where you want to go) (oh and do remember to validate your ticket, we found out the hard way) back to the hotel, staff were very happy to confirm our dinner reservations, help us organise our return journey to the airport, look after our bags after we'd checked out. The room, ok small, the bathroom was big in comparison, but it was clean and why do you want a big room with all that there is to explore outside. The hotel itself was peaceful a nice place to relax after a long day before heading out again for tea, breakfast was plentiful and a good selection. I have already recommended to friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the garden - but don't leave your window open the bells will get you at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank looblee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Spent two nights at this hotel in September which is located very close to train station and the Vaporetto taxi point. Very short and easy walk with luggage to the hotel. the hotel is well appointed and very good breakfast included in the room price. No complaints about the room, as we didn't spend that much time there. Only comment would be that there is no lift but this didn't affect us too much as hotel staff on hand to take suitcase to our floor. Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Access over canal very close and numerous restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2SmokySouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location! It is a very short walk from the main train station and is very well located to explore Venice. The courtyard area is beautiful and such a treat in a city like Venice. The rooms are a decent size and the hotel is stunning!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

My friend and I stayed here in September and were really impressed with the location and staff. As many others have commented, it's an easy walk from the railway station and close to a station to grab the boat up the canal. The staff was outstanding. Matteo at the front desk is worth his weight in gold for the shear entertainment value. He's witty and charming and so very helpful. Perfect example, my friend asked (figuring no way will he know) where the VAT station was at the airport. Matteo thinks for a moment and calls his sister who works/has worked at the Venice airport and gets the exact location which saved us a lot of time. Gabrielle saw me wander down with a bottle wine and without a second thought whips out glasses and locates a cork screw. Very attentive. Having to think hard about any downsides...about the only thing I can think of is if you take your breakfast outside in their lovely garden the pigeons clearly are used to being fed and will absolutely destroy any crumbs on unattended dishes. (Had to rescue some crockery from flying off the table next to us when a couple left...the flock descended within seconds of them vacating.) Not really a complaint when it's mother nature...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gr8grapes007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,436 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#105 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#34 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#163 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#184 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#219 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abbazia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbazia

Property: Hotel Abbazia
Address: Calle Priuli dei Cavaletti 68 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Venice
#50 Family Hotel in Venice
#68 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abbazia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Abbazia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbazia Hotel Venice
Hotel Abbazia Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing