We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located!”
Review of Hotel Abbazia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abbazia
Ranked #77 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Conveniently located!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed at Hotel Abbazia for 3 days with a tour group. This was my 1st visit to Venice. I liked the location of the hotel: close to the train station (about a 3 min walk). Very convenient if you are arriving or leaving Venice by train as I was; close to the vaporetto (water taxi), gondola, restaurants and walking distance to Piazza Rome (over the big bridge) where you can get a taxi and the drop off area if you are coming from the airport.

The hotel has a very large lounge area and a small outside garden with sitting area. Since it is a former Abbey, the lounge still has the old pulpit, which does add some charm to the space. There is free Wi-Fi but very slow, and friendly staff. Continental breakfast is served in the morning – a variety of pastries, cereal, yogurt, coffee machine, etc.

My room was newly renovated and clean. The bathroom had a tub with shower BUT no shower door, barrier or curtains- had to be extremely careful not to flood the bathroom when taking a shower. I can’t honestly say this hotel would have been my personal selected if it had been my choice but if a convenient location is important then this would be a good selection.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhillaryg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,052
    694
    113
    26
    9
See reviews for
388
912
69
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We arrived after 11pm as a result of a delayed Ryanair flight. From the bus you bear right over a modern footbridge, then follow the canal on your right for a few minutes stroll before turning left into a narrow alley just before the first buildings you find on the right. The night porter spoke good English and was very welcoming. Our room was clean and comfortable with a jacuzzi bath. Breakfast can be taken in the restaurant which is a little soulless and bland, or in the garden area which is delightful. The hotel features a nice bar area complete with pulpit ! Upon exploring Venice , the grand canal is right on the doorstep with vaporettos as close as can be. We preferred exploring on foot and discovering the hidden delights of the old town but overall were delighted with Hotel Abbazia and would return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were delighted to find this hotel very close to the train station. We checked in early in the morning and left our bags at the desk since our room wasn't ready, but we were offered breakfast before we wandered off to explore for the day—a generous and unexpected bonus! Three of us comfortably shared one spacious room with three single beds; it was sparkling clean and pleasantly decorated in a typical Venetian style. The lobby was impressive and inviting, the desk clerk was witty and personable. Despite being near the station, it felt safe to walk in this area at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caren d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This lovely hotel is situated just near the Train Station . So close to everything. Great area, would definitely stay here again. There was a mix up with our booking but a phone call and thanks to Mirko at the Abazzia he had it all fixed up. When we arrived he greeted us and gave us an amazing room. So big, we had so much room. Big comfy bed, two big windows to look out over the alleyways. Huge bathroom and also a huge area for storage of clothes for hanging or in drawers. Amazing. Just wished we could have stayed longer than 2 days. The garden area is so lovely and peaceful right in the m iddle of the hotel. Breakfast was included and it was very nice. This was an old Abbey in the past and there are still lovely old features in the guest lounge area . Everyone on the front desk was friendly and helpful but have to say Mirko in particular is a great assett to the hotel. Always has a smile on his face.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happywatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. As other reviewers have mentioned, the location is perfect. The breakfast is plentiful and varied. The lounge area is lovely, as is the garden. I stayed in October so it was getting to be a bit on the cold side, but I still spent some time enjoying the garden. There are only two things I would mention on the downside of this hotel. One is that there was a step up into the bathroom in the room we stayed in (203)...don't know if it's the same in other rooms. I think this could be a bit dangerous when you have to get up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom and you are half asleep and don't remember there's a step...very easy to trip up. Same on the way out...if you forget about the step down, it could really be dangerous. Especially when you are trying to be considerate to your roommate and not turn the light on. The other issue is very minor in the whole scheme of things...we only got cushion-sized and shaped pillows on our beds. I like to have a whole pillow. It was especially silly when they put them inside large pillowcases! To end on a high note though, the day we arrived was pouring with rain and the tide was at its highest. The hotel lent us gumboots so we could visit St Marks Square and not get wet feet! All in all, I don't think you could go wrong staying at this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pinkpetuniasydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
looblee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

5stars for staff & value for money. Venice is expensive, I am sure you could find a larger room with a more comfy bed elsewhere but then you would be paying upwards of £250 per night. For the money this place is perfect. We arrived at 10.30am after a very early start and were invited to have breakfast which was a nice touch. This hotel is the easiest place to find, a very short walk from the station or bus station which we came into off our Treviso ryanair flight. The vaperetto is just outside on the grand canal, (although its the most confusing vaperetto stop just hop on one going in the right direction it should get you close to where you want to go) (oh and do remember to validate your ticket, we found out the hard way) back to the hotel, staff were very happy to confirm our dinner reservations, help us organise our return journey to the airport, look after our bags after we'd checked out. The room, ok small, the bathroom was big in comparison, but it was clean and why do you want a big room with all that there is to explore outside. The hotel itself was peaceful a nice place to relax after a long day before heading out again for tea, breakfast was plentiful and a good selection. I have already recommended to friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the garden - but don't leave your window open the bells will get you at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looblee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Spent two nights at this hotel in September which is located very close to train station and the Vaporetto taxi point. Very short and easy walk with luggage to the hotel. the hotel is well appointed and very good breakfast included in the room price. No complaints about the room, as we didn't spend that much time there. Only comment would be that there is no lift but this didn't affect us too much as hotel staff on hand to take suitcase to our floor. Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Access over canal very close and numerous restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2SmokySouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 385 in Venice
3,582 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#110 of 385 in Venice
1,554 reviews
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#33 of 385 in Venice
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#25 of 385 in Venice
838 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#198 of 385 in Venice
910 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#12 of 385 in Venice
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abbazia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbazia

Property: Hotel Abbazia
Address: Calle Priuli dei Cavaletti 68 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Venice
#50 Family Hotel in Venice
#68 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abbazia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Abbazia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbazia Hotel Venice
Hotel Abbazia Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing