We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic hotel in a perfect location”
Review of Hotel Abbazia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abbazia
Ranked #77 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The best hotel I could have stayed in Venice. Starting with the location. Just a few blocks from the train station. And from the hotel, you can go everywhere: by walking in the streets of Venice or by vapporetto, which has it's station also near the hotel. The building is also a special gift: it`s an old monastery and still conserves the same atmosphere without loosing in comfort. To complete, there`s a garden in the center of the building, where you can seat the take your breakfast just listening to the birds singing. Highly recommend this hotel and I surely intend to return there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EduardoViero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,932)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Abbazia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 1,932 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

We loved Venice, but the crowds were sometimes a little overwhelming. We loved the courtyard at this hotel and welcomed the peaceful retreat there. The hotel was in a very convenient location close to the train station, yet just enough out of the way to provide a little peace and quiet. Good customer service with recommendations for restaurants just off the beaten path.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbperegrines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

if you go to Venice this is where you should stay.
the location is great so close to santa lucia railway station. you will not take any bridges with your suitcases to reach , just few meters and you will be there.
nice restaurants are also close by and of course nice shopping.
the hotel itself is charming with its lobby , garden, bar, breakfast room and rooms.
the breakfast was one of the best with a good variety.
the only negative issue is there is no lift but they help you to put your suitcases in your room.
the most positive point is the front desk staff . they are very helpful in particular MATTEO

if i will go again to Venice will definitely come back to ABBAZIA hotel

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDcairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The hotel is right by bus and train station, so conveniently located. The best part of this hotel was the staff, they were wonderful. Nice breakfast room, and loved the reading room. I sat and used hotel wifi to get some needed work completed. The staff helped us with the water taxi and useful maps to get around Venice. I highly recommend this hotel and would gladly stay there again when in Venice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casperkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed at Abbazia for 2 days in October. The location is good, right next to Santa Lucia railway station but is tucked away from the busy Venice noises including trains;). If you come to Venice by train with a lot of luggage you can find men with pulleys in front of the station. They ask for a lot, depending of the location of your hotel, but you can negotiate. We paid 10 euros and it was great because I travel on the heavy side. If you have light luggage you can manage on your own.

This hotel is a very old monastery and it has a special charm because of it. Our room was decent sized for Europe, with a large bathroom. We had hardwood floors and they were pretty dusty. The phone in the room was full of dust too. That made me think about the other things they may have forgotten to clean...Hmmmm.

The price is low for Venice so don't expect a luxury hotel. It is pretty modest but you're not going to spend too much time in the room. If you are looking for a romantic hotel or romantic location then this is not it.

Front Desk staff was really really nice and funny all the time!!! Loved them and that's why I am giving it 4 stars and not lower. Ask them for local authentic restaurants that are not touristy. They gave us some great suggestions.

Breakfast was a joke. The worst selection I have ever seen and poor quality food but you're in Venice people, skip the breakfast and go have a freshly squeezed orange juice and a prosciutto panino from 2 blocks down. The worst selection I have ever seen and really poor quality food.

We decided to let the Front Desk arrange for an airport transfer and it was the best decision. It was 90 euros for the 2 of us but we had a lot of luggage. The other option is to walk to a buss station. No thank you!

***All and all Abbazia it is a budget hotel in a good location. If I had the chance to do it again I would probably spend more money for a really nice hotel. How many times do you go to Venice anyway?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria-Ruxandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We came back after such a wonderful experience first time around. We had a beautiful room and the front desk is very friendly at check-in. They call a porter to help with the bags so be ready to give a small tip after you get to the room. Breakfast is full of pastries, fruit, cereals and a great coffee machine to get your day started. We found a great place for pastries and rolls which sold sliced salami and ham and cheeses at the back counter which you paid separately for. We would do this, then buy the rolls on the way out and make our lunch for the day. They also sold lollies and chocolate and drinks. A fantastic little shop called Rizzo. About 2 doors back is the perfect place for coffee which I have reviewed called Torrezfazione Machi. Back to the hotel and coming from the train station when you exit the train it is only one way to the front because it's a final destination station so no left or right when you get off. When you come to the end of thee platform turn left to exit the station because this is a wheelchair access ramp so you don't have to lift your heavy bags down the front of the stations stairs. Turn left when you get to the bottom of the ramp and can't walk any more forward because the water is in front of you. By now the first of many bridges will be to your right. When you are level with this bridge it is no more than 15 steps until you see the lane way which you have to left up to reach Hotel Abbazia. Go up here and the hotel entrance in about 100m up on your left. If we had to make one complaint about the hotel it would be that the shower is in the bath with no shower screen which makes for a very wet floor when you shower. I mastered it in the 3 nights we were there though so not a problem for me after the first shower. My husband on the other hand just didn't quite grasp it. To get to Rizzo for yummy food, turn left as you come out of the lane way and walk straight until your come to like a piazza square and keep going straight while veering slightly left and you're simply following everyone because it's only one way to go. When you get to the bridge directly in front of you, go over it and keep to your left. Only 100metres up on your left you will find it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank crab67tkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We deliberately chose to stay 2 nights at this hotel because of its location near the train station which is just one hundred meters from the Santa Lucia train station. You won't have to cross any bridges. Simply exit the station and walk to your left. Just after the Scalzi Church on your left, take the first "calle" on you left, calle Priuli dei Cavaletti. You will pass Florida Hotel on your right and then when you reach the Chinese restaurant on your right, you'll find the Hotel Abbazia on your left.

Hotel room was clean and beds comfortable and big enough for the four of us. The lights in the room were a bit dim though. There was a bathtub in the bathroom as well. Wifi is free and TV programs available but again only 1 English news channel if I remember correctly. Anyway who is really interested in coming to Venice to watch TV programs?

Breakfast was good enough and the hotel was really lovely. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

The day when we wanted to roam the streets, it was raining and the streets were flooded. People were walking on elevated platforms but due to the crowds and some with luggage jamming up the walks, we decided to return to the hotel. So we experienced what they called acqua alta in Venice that day. Rubber boots can be bought from off the street vendors at 15 euro each but we borrowed ours from our hotel and so we could wander around the amazing streets of Venice and had a great time.

We paid 125 euro per night for a family room that accommodates four of us that came with breakfast. Could not think of staying anywhere else that could offer such a good deal and with great convenience near the train station with easy access to the water bus stop and other conveniences like shops and cafes everywhere near this hotel.

For us who needed to take the express bus to Innsbruck, we simply turn right and walked pass the train station and then crossed over the big bridge to reach the Plaza Roma to take the People Mover which cost 1 euro each. The first stop is for those who need to catch their cruise and the last stop will take you to the bus terminal.

We had a wonderful experience indeed. And thanks to Hotel Abbazia too!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TJX05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#110 of 384 in Venice
1,603 reviews
Cannaregio
Venice Times Hotel
Venice Times Hotel
#134 of 384 in Venice
43 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
3,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Principe
Hotel Principe
#153 of 384 in Venice
2,090 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#197 of 384 in Venice
952 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abbazia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbazia

Address: Calle Priuli dei Cavaletti 68 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Venice
#50 Family Hotel in Venice
#67 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £77 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abbazia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Abbazia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbazia Hotel Venice
Hotel Abbazia Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing