We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Hotel Abbazia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Abbazia
Ranked #77 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Excellent hotel. Friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. Conveniently situated near bus and train stations yet tucked away and very quiet. The inner courtyard garden is delightful. Grand Canal waterbus stop only 30m. If I should be lucky enough to return to Venice, I would choose to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 429PaulineT555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

450 - 456 of 1,983 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

This is a lovely, quiet hotel with an attentive staff. It is especially convenient if you arrive to Venice by either train or car, which we did. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the parking garage and is easy to locate. We had a room on the second floor overlooking the lovely central courtyard. The breakfast buffet was excellent also. If you don't mind walking a lot to the touristy areas of Venice and are looking instead for a comfortable hotel away from the hustle and bustle of Venice, then I can't imagine a better hotel and value than the Hotel Abbazia.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wahoo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Abbazia in October 2013 with 6 other family members. Again the experience was fantastic. The rooms are comfortable, the hotel staff are friendly and helpful. If given a choice I will always stay at the Abbazia or its sister property the Abbazia Deluxe on any visit to Venice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raeleanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We had a terrific experience at Hotel Abbazia. It is very close and convenient to the main train station. Somewhat tucked away, but very easy to find.
Front desk personnel are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are great, clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was good with a great selection, even had a Gluten Free selection for the wife.
And the Hotel itself, which is a former monastery has great character. I would for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pete_schneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was the 1st stop of our tour of 3 cities in Italy (Venice, Florence, Rome). From our arrival at Marco Polo Airport, we boarded our pre-booked water taxi at the south-western corner end of the airport. The ride was smooth and the very considerate boat driver dropped us at the closest landing point to walk to our hotel.

As some reviewers pointed out, the long and narrow alley leading to the hotel may be missed if not careful. We’re very early for our check-in, so the reception guy (Fabio) kindly allowed us to store our luggage while we ventured out. He gave us a Venice map and a quick brief on what we can do.

After a few hours, we returned to the hotel. Fabio checked us in Rm 316 and mentioned that our luggage was already in our room!! How cool was that? The room was a good size and cosy with ample space to move around and for placing luggage. A/C was still not in use as the weather was generally cooler but hotel kindly provided us with a table fan to help circulate air. The window opened onto the hotel’s courtyard (south end) without much view but at least we had fresh cool air. The king size bed was actually 2 singles combined and firm. A safe was provided in the cupboard. The smallish TV was placed in the writing desk and with limited channels. Power sockets were adequately placed throughout the room (2-round pins type). The bathroom was well laid out. However the enclosed shower stall was a tad too small. Water pressure was strong and consistent. Behind the door of the bathroom was a type of wall-mounted heater to hang towels and wet clothing (to dry). An attached hair-dryer was also provided. That’s about it for the room layout.

We felt that the walls were somewhat in-adequately insulated from noise as we could hear the on-goings in the adjacent rooms.

Brekkie was served at the dining hall on the ground floor. F & B variety was more than adequate. There’re hard-boiled eggs, croissants, sliced bread, rolls, individually packed gluten-free sliced bread, prosciutto, ham, cheese, 3 types of cereal, fruits, yoghurt, prunes, a variety of coffee and tea. We’re never bored with the food during our stay. During our trip as we headed southwards, we found that the F & B variety and quality really went “southwards” as well. Hahahhaha …….. i.e. Abbazia (good, set the benchmark), Boccacio (average), Lirico (below average).

The hotel’s location is a major factor for consideration. It’s only a minute’s walk to the train station!!! For those bumming around Italy (like us) and using the FrecciaRosas, FrecciaArgentos, etc the hotel’s proximity was a big plus! It’s location also ensures that you circumnavigate Venice main attractions before resting your feet for the day.

For food, do try:
1) Osteria al Bacco – 3054 Fondamenta San Girolamo (next to Calle ca Rizzo), for great seafood Venetian style;
2) Gelato Nico on Fondamenta Zattere al Gesuati, for espresso and gelato looking at Giudecca;
3) Ai Cesendeli - Via San Martino sinistro 834, Burano, for really nice seafood not heavy on the pocket.

We would return to this hotel for its location, ambience and overall good rapport with hotel guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank wwsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Our second stay at the Abbazia and in all our many visits to the city the only hotel we have ever returned to and that is mainly for two reasons, the staff and the location. The reception staff are great, they are friendly, helpful and always take time to ask how things are. The second reason is the location, people under estimate how difficult it can be getting around the city with baggage so being handy for the train and bus stations is great but also the surrounding areas of Cannaregio and Santa Croce both have some of the best eating in the city and a selection of bars for a nightcap which in a city that goes to bed early can be difficult to find. The rooms are not particulalrly fancy but are roomy and the breakfast plentiful although the orange juice could be improved as other have commented. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelmadEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We were only spending 2 nights in Venice so looked for a hotel that'd let us get in and out of Venice easily. Hotel Abbazia fit the bill.

The hotel is less than a 5 minute walk from the train station, bus station and Line 1 vaporetto stop. We were traveling with a bit more luggage than usual (2 bags per person) so that worked out well. The airport shuttle bus stops at the bus terminal and we were able to quickly find the hotel (across the bridge and down an alley). Taking the train out of Venice was a breeze too.

While we were exploring Venice, we did need to budget a little extra time via vaporetto to get to St Mark's. It's about a 30 minute ride. The upside was that since we were traveling from of the first stops on Line 1, we were often able to get seats in the front of the boat, making for some great Grand Canal photos.

The hotel itself was also excellent for the price. The staff went out of their way to be helpful - talking us through getting a vaporetto card and attractions. Unfortunately, my parents lost their checked bags on the flight over but the front desk was very helpful. They worked with the airline to get the bags delivered to the hotel and put into the rooms while we were out sightseeing. They even let my parents rain boots for the rain we experienced in Venice.

The room rate we booked included breakfast in an onsite breakfast room. Breakfast included yogurt, fruit, breads, cheeses, cold cut meats and hard boiled eggs. Great way to fuel up in the AM.

The main downside of this hotel was that it lacks a scenic location. Our rooms overlooked the street with a Chinese restaurant across the way. Not exactly a canal view. The former abbey history offers a little charm but not what Venice is known for. You've got a little bit of a walk or vaporetto ride to the more picturesque neighborhoods and classic canal views of Venice. It worked out in our favor as we got a quiet night of sleep but I could see how it might matter to other travelers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jing C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Venice Times Hotel
Venice Times Hotel
#93 of 387 in Venice
94 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#7 of 387 in Venice
3,915 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#109 of 387 in Venice
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Canal Grande
#8 of 387 in Venice
2,183 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#30 of 387 in Venice
2,278 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abbazia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbazia

Address: Calle Priuli dei Cavaletti 68 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Venice
#67 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £68 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abbazia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Abbazia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbazia Hotel Venice
Hotel Abbazia Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing