We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Hotel Abbazia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abbazia
Ranked #80 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Not difficult to find but sheltered from the busy area around it the Hotel Abbazia is a good choice if staying in Venice , This was our second visit and we were very impressed when Marco on reception said he recognised us ! The reception staff are particularly friendly and helpful . The location is excellent for those arriving by bus or train and is very handy for the vaporetti . Plenty of restaurants of every price and quality in the vicinity . Rooms are a good size but we could have done with a chair/s . The shower room had had a recent makeover and everything functioned very well . Breakfast , buffet style , was more than adequate The hotel's principal attractions are its large guest lounge and its inner garden . A reminder that this building was once a monastery is the ringing of the bell from the adjacent church ....at an ungodly hour in the morning !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALISON H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,042
    692
    112
    25
    9
See reviews for
383
907
69
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This hotel is located in a great location very close to the train and bus station! Building is old but maintained well. Has a nice garden to relax in. You may walk to all points of interest from the hotel. Beds are not comfortable but rooms are clean. Also, hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Be careful with eating at Brek (a restaurant next it). We both had a case of food poisoning after eating lunch there. It ruined a day of our vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halipour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Excellent hotel. Friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. Conveniently situated near bus and train stations yet tucked away and very quiet. The inner courtyard garden is delightful. Grand Canal waterbus stop only 30m. If I should be lucky enough to return to Venice, I would choose to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 429PaulineT555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This is a lovely, quiet hotel with an attentive staff. It is especially convenient if you arrive to Venice by either train or car, which we did. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the parking garage and is easy to locate. We had a room on the second floor overlooking the lovely central courtyard. The breakfast buffet was excellent also. If you don't mind walking a lot to the touristy areas of Venice and are looking instead for a comfortable hotel away from the hustle and bustle of Venice, then I can't imagine a better hotel and value than the Hotel Abbazia.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wahoo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Abbazia in October 2013 with 6 other family members. Again the experience was fantastic. The rooms are comfortable, the hotel staff are friendly and helpful. If given a choice I will always stay at the Abbazia or its sister property the Abbazia Deluxe on any visit to Venice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raeleanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We had a terrific experience at Hotel Abbazia. It is very close and convenient to the main train station. Somewhat tucked away, but very easy to find.
Front desk personnel are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are great, clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was good with a great selection, even had a Gluten Free selection for the wife.
And the Hotel itself, which is a former monastery has great character. I would for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete_schneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleRedDot
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was the 1st stop of our tour of 3 cities in Italy (Venice, Florence, Rome). From our arrival at Marco Polo Airport, we boarded our pre-booked water taxi at the south-western corner end of the airport. The ride was smooth and the very considerate boat driver dropped us at the closest landing point to walk to our hotel.

As some reviewers pointed out, the long and narrow alley leading to the hotel may be missed if not careful. We’re very early for our check-in, so the reception guy (Fabio) kindly allowed us to store our luggage while we ventured out. He gave us a Venice map and a quick brief on what we can do.

After a few hours, we returned to the hotel. Fabio checked us in Rm 316 and mentioned that our luggage was already in our room!! How cool was that? The room was a good size and cosy with ample space to move around and for placing luggage. A/C was still not in use as the weather was generally cooler but hotel kindly provided us with a table fan to help circulate air. The window opened onto the hotel’s courtyard (south end) without much view but at least we had fresh cool air. The king size bed was actually 2 singles combined and firm. A safe was provided in the cupboard. The smallish TV was placed in the writing desk and with limited channels. Power sockets were adequately placed throughout the room (2-round pins type). The bathroom was well laid out. However the enclosed shower stall was a tad too small. Water pressure was strong and consistent. Behind the door of the bathroom was a type of wall-mounted heater to hang towels and wet clothing (to dry). An attached hair-dryer was also provided. That’s about it for the room layout.

We felt that the walls were somewhat in-adequately insulated from noise as we could hear the on-goings in the adjacent rooms.

Brekkie was served at the dining hall on the ground floor. F & B variety was more than adequate. There’re hard-boiled eggs, croissants, sliced bread, rolls, individually packed gluten-free sliced bread, prosciutto, ham, cheese, 3 types of cereal, fruits, yoghurt, prunes, a variety of coffee and tea. We’re never bored with the food during our stay. During our trip as we headed southwards, we found that the F & B variety and quality really went “southwards” as well. Hahahhaha …….. i.e. Abbazia (good, set the benchmark), Boccacio (average), Lirico (below average).

The hotel’s location is a major factor for consideration. It’s only a minute’s walk to the train station!!! For those bumming around Italy (like us) and using the FrecciaRosas, FrecciaArgentos, etc the hotel’s proximity was a big plus! It’s location also ensures that you circumnavigate Venice main attractions before resting your feet for the day.

For food, do try:
1) Osteria al Bacco – 3054 Fondamenta San Girolamo (next to Calle ca Rizzo), for great seafood Venetian style;
2) Gelato Nico on Fondamenta Zattere al Gesuati, for espresso and gelato looking at Giudecca;
3) Ai Cesendeli - Via San Martino sinistro 834, Burano, for really nice seafood not heavy on the pocket.

We would return to this hotel for its location, ambience and overall good rapport with hotel guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank wwsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#110 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#35 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#193 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#164 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#232 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abbazia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbazia

Property: Hotel Abbazia
Address: Calle Priuli dei Cavaletti 68 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Venice
#50 Family Hotel in Venice
#68 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abbazia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Abbazia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbazia Hotel Venice
Hotel Abbazia Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing