We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Abbazia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abbazia
Ranked #80 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Bucks
Level Contributor
164 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a very smart hotel, tucked down a side alley not far from the station and very near to a vaporetto stop, so very convenient. The interior of the building is very attractive and there is a garden where you can sit out - which we did for breakfast both days.
The room was nice and large, but very short on tables, towel rails etc. They seem to have sacrificed convenience for style. Breakfast we pretty good, internet OK.
No lift, but they will help with bags. Restaurants just a few minutes away, as is the grand canal. There is a large clock tower outside of the hotel which did chime but not all night and did not affect sleep.Reason for average is the price - just over 200 euros / night. Might stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvise V, Direttore at Hotel Abbazia, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your kind review: we really appreciated it!
If you're willing to fill the two "missing stars" in your rating (from "average" to "execellent"), we give you a hint: please go check the average cost of the other three stars hotels in Venice during the time you've been here (peak season!)! We are sure you'll rate us even much more... :):)
See you next time with great pleasure!
Alvise Vianello, mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,042
    692
    112
    26
    9
See reviews for
384
907
69
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014

After a crappy stay in a hotel in Milan, arriving to a hotel situated 5 minutes from Santa Lucia station and to a room which was much bigger than expected, I was relieved.

Upon arrival, the staff were very welcoming and friendly.Ask them anything and they will help you.

Another upside is the internet. For a person who misses American tv alot, I got to watch some short clips on youtube without any lags.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to my friends :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizie1384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vermont
Level Contributor
282 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

On our last stop of our Italian adventure we stayed in Venice. If you are arriving by train this is the perfect place, just down an alley , no worries about water taxis or vaporettos. As on our other stops, we hit unseasonably warm temps and the air conditioners had not been turned on, so between some LOUD person talking all night and the front desk not being able to find a fan, we were very uncomfortable the first night. But after talking t the front desk the next morning, we got a fan for the room and from then on this place was perfect. The breakfast is the best we had in Italy, the staff (Thank you Merko) was incredible, ask them about dinner and lunch spots, you will be directed to locals only spots where the food is to die for. Yes, there is no view, you are not on a canal but I HIGHLY recommend staying here. One word of warning, our room had a step from the bathroom to the bedroom and it is very easy to trip and fall if you are not careful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
250 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed two nights & had a ground floor room whose windows opened out to the garden. Love the fact that it's right by the train station & yet is so quiet & worlds away. I was comfortable & the staff here are all gracious. I moved here from a horrible place so this was such a relief! There is a lovely wooden paneled room where you can sit & read. The building used to be a former convent. I cannot say enough good things about this place.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We ended our trip to Italy in Venice and stayed here for 3 nights. It was down a small alley off the Grand Canal and near the train station. Easy to catch a waterbus or taxi and hit various spots around Venice. The hotel was a quaint converted abbey and the rooms were very small but clean and tidy every day. It was tough finding a space for our suitcases. But according to European standards probably average. Our air conditioner broke so it was a bit hot but with the window open it was bearable. The staff is very helpful and speak english well. Breakfast every morning was fabulous with many choices. If you get tired of Italian food try the Chinese resturaunt across from the hotel. Great food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is probably the best place to stay in Venice. So easy to find, great location, yet away from the noise. The hotel staff are so helpful and funny, they speak perfect English and they are so charming. The breakfasts were fantastic, so many choices. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and I would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This was our third trip to Venice, and this has been the best stay by far.
A converted abbey, the rooms are scattered around the hotel, which has a glorious courtyard, inviting bar and lounge, and lovely breakfast room.
The rooms are small, but certainly not by Venice standards. The bathroom is clean and works well - very hot and powerful shower!
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast food is fantastic, with a good variety. No hot food, if that's what you're expecting, but this is Italy! When in Venice...!
The location is excellent, and very easy to find. If arriving from the airport, take the ATVO coach (6€ pp), and trundle your suitcases towards the train station, over the new bridge and take the first Calle on your left after the station. If catching the train to Venice, it's even shorter and easier.
The cruise terminal is also easy to get to via the new People Mover. There is a laundromat nearby - ask staff for directions, but be very careful at the laundromat and read the many instructions thoroughly.
Excellent hotel, we would definitely stay here again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank OzKaren80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,538 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#109 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#35 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#191 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#165 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#233 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abbazia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbazia

Property: Hotel Abbazia
Address: Calle Priuli dei Cavaletti 68 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Venice
#50 Family Hotel in Venice
#68 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abbazia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Abbazia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbazia Hotel Venice
Hotel Abbazia Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing