We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - great staff, nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Abbazia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Abbazia
Ranked #75 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The hotel is an old abbey near the train station and Piazzale Roma, which means it's an easy walk from one of those places (remember this is Venice so no taxis). There is plenty of actions around the hotel and it's within walking distance to most tourist sites. The hotel itself is clean and the staff very helpful. As other have mentioned, they don't have elevators, but the staff will carry the luggage up for you. I booked a bigger room, and its size was convenient for three people.
All in all, I will happily go back to this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sheetah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

406 - 412 of 1,993 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Pros:
Hotel is an old monk monastery, so it's interesting to look at.
2 minute walk from train station and 5 minutes walk from roma station.
So location is great. All city boat lines stop in front of train station or roma. So getting anywhere in venice is super easy.
Personnel were extremely nice and helpful.
Safe in the room.

Cons: because the hotel is an old monk monastery the rooms are tiny.
Our room had the closets added and when they did that they blocked half the air conditioner. Our room was super hot for most of the stay. We opened the windows and because it was cool at night it got nice, but the bugs ate us alive.
The hotel is back to back with a church and Sunday and Tuesday morning at 8am the bell rings. And when it rings you jump.
Our room had no desk, chair, iron or place by the sink to put anything.
The glass shower doors didn't work properly and the shower head just sprayed everywhere. The shower also had nowhere to put soap or shampoo, no shelf or anything.
No clock in the room. Tiny tv with 2 English channels.
Beds are as European and European can get.
Bathroom door is part of the closet that was installed after. So whoever is in the room when someone is in the bathroom will hear and smell everything.
No elevator, but they will happily carry your baggage up and down.

Bottom line. Good price, great location, just livable rooms.



Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank NYC507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel. Breakfast each morning in the courtyard was great and there was more than a sufficient amount of fruit, pasty and cereals to choose from. Even the morning church bells had an added charm. We had the four person room as we had two teens traveling with us and it was spacious and comfortable. The location is great after a long flight as it's a short walk from the Piazzale Roma where the buses stop from the airport. Also convenient if you're renting a car after your Venice trip. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank chims99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

My 2nd visit in 2 years did not disappoint. Convenience for railway station and vaporretto stop unbeatable. Also if you walk 5 minutes you find yourself in the Jewish ghetto which is lovely and quiet compared to the main drag to San Marco but still very picturesque. Only gripe is a small one - exactly that : the rooms are a bit small but that is the curse of many city hotels.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Taralulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

After flying all night and lugging suitcases through the rain, this hotel and ALVISE (with his positive sense of humor)were a delight. Our first floor room was charming overlooking a courtyard and the lobby was a huge, air conditioned room with lots of seating (hotel was formerly a monastery). The hotel is situated close to the train station, vaporetto lines and shopping-on a quiet alleyway.
Breakfast was not as abundant as in some Italian hotels, but it was good and definitely sufficient. The staff was very helpful, funny and spoke English well. It was a most enjoyable stay!

SM-Lincoln, CA

Room Tip: I liked my room on the first floor overlooking the courtyard-very charming and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank smerklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great staff experience in particular Alvise, Matthew & Raffaele
Location was also great as there were no bridges to go over from the train station
When my wife and I revisit Venezia we will not consider any other hotels and simply book Hotel Abbazia, Venezia Italy

Room Tip: Room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Domenico_Rosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Hotel Abbazia is in perfect location right next to train, bus and airport departures, Hotel is in converted Abby so has all the charm of an Abby allowing for a very relaxing time. Close to amazing restaurants and shopping areas. Staff are very friendly and helpful, breakfast and or an end of day drink in gardens is a bonus

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Helen552259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Venice Times Hotel
Venice Times Hotel
#82 of 387 in Venice
110 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#7 of 387 in Venice
3,959 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#106 of 387 in Venice
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#89 of 387 in Venice
1,121 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 387 in Venice
2,214 reviews
Cannaregio
Foscari Palace
Foscari Palace
#80 of 387 in Venice
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abbazia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbazia

Address: Calle Priuli dei Cavaletti 68 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Venice
#67 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £103 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abbazia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Abbazia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbazia Hotel Venice
Hotel Abbazia Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing