We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful beautiful place”
Review of Hotel Abbazia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Abbazia
Ranked #80 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2010

We arrived in Venice from Rome and turned left out of the train station and walked no more than 100 mtrs and saw the Hotel sign on the laneway so couldn't miss it. If you know to look up as you walk you will not miss it I guarentee you. You then turn left and walk another 100mtrs and the hotel entrance is on your left. Oh my god were the words that came out of my mouth. It looked like we were in the wrong hotel. This looks to expensive to be staying here. Our room was a quad and the gentleman at the desk said to leave our bags and a guy will bring them up which he did in no time and of course we gave him a small tip. Our room was huge. The bathroom was huge too. The bells did ring at 7:15 and were loud and the dogs joined in and there were 130 tolls but hey you're on holiday so you shouldn't be asleep wasting your day. We had a beautiful brekafast pastries, mini toasts, jams, cornflakes, museli, meats and cheese, torta, flans, a coffee machine all so yummy. The vaporetti is just back up the lane and a short trip to St Marco's Square. Venice was under water but had boardwalks set up to walk on so no problem. The cafe just out of the laneway charges a heap to sit down so don't sit - stand. Food is pretty expensive but we did go to the restaurant recommended by another trip advisor which is left out of the hotel laneway and walk to the bridge and turn left again and find a bar/pizzeria on the left about 200 mtrs up. Thanks for a wonderful stay Hotel Abbazia we will recommend this hotel to everyone who will listen. Internet was free.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crab67tkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,957)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

959 - 965 of 1,957 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2010

I loved this hotel very classy , good location , not long to walk around Venice !! Good service, very friendly at the desk, easy to get to the buss and train station just 5 min walk, very clean, rooms are smaller than you might think but that didnt matter at all the fact is you were in Venice and it felt like you were in Venice. The air conditioning wasnt very good, the room had to be very hot b4 it came on!! Then again maybe we didnt use it right not sure ! Any way all toghether though lovely hotel and lovely place, if I go to venice again I would go to that hotel again, the garden was so cute and breakfast was very nice :)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bell44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

My husband and young adult children stayed at this hotel from December 24 through December 27. The three rooms we were given were very nice and rather spacious for a European hotel. However, I should note that we were given a free upgrade to some of the larger rooms. The hotel is a little hard to find because, like many Venice hotels, it is hidden down a somewhat narrow alley. Nonetheless, it is worth finding. The hotel used to be a monastery and still has that look and feel. Most importantly, the staff were wonderful. They helped us select and get reservations at two delicious restaurants for Christmas Eve and Christmas dinner, helped with tours and were just absolutely great. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoeysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Wonderful, friendly and great location. We took the train from Rome...walked down the station steps - turned left, walked past the church and in between two cafes' is a small walkway with the hotel name...and within 5 minutes of getting off the train we were checking in (so easy compared to others we saw halling their luggage onto the water taxi). The gentelman at the front desk couldn't have been any nicer. Lovely greeting with a warm Italian style...our luggage was taken to our room (no lift - but don't worry there are only 3 floors). Breakfast is included and is well stocked with pastry, fruit, and cheese - and all the coffee you can drink. The room was lovely. And yes - the church next door rings it's bells at 7:30 (the time breakfast opens) and at 8:30...that's part of the charm. The water metro is right down the walkway - which makes it very easy to get anywhere you want to go. The nice part is staying away from the big crouds and coming back to a welcoming atmospher with plenty of resturants in the local area (try the Chinese resturant across from the hotel - it's good). There is a nice bar in a spacious lobby and you can really see that this is a converted abby. We loved this hotel. Fair warning - the beds are very hard...but I didn't notice too much I was exhausted every night. Very easy the morning of our return to Rome...we were relaxed. ate breakfast - and it took us 5 minutes to walk to the station and hop on our train. This is a great place to stay - and you will love the staff (very helpful, nice (smiles and laughter) and very accomidating...even lending us their laptop so we (especially my daughter) could send emails and update our facebook status.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tech&NAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

Great location: Walking distance from the railway station and bus stop.
Rooms were large and very clean. Good value by Venice standards.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank msr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2009

We travelled to Venice with 2 friends who had done all the booking. We arrived in pouring rain but fortunatelt the hotel was very easy to find, a five minute walk from the bus station. The Vaporetto was also within a two minute walk. The hotel was wonderful, the staff extremely friendly/helpful. Our room was large and very clean with most facilities you could wish for - the only thing it lacked was hot drink facilities - how we longed for a cup of tea after walking afar!
Venice is VERY expensive but a marvellous place to visit - I wold certqainly return to Venice and the Hotel - even the bells each morning from the church next door (which is a must to visit) are in keeping and the dog barks in tune with them!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2009

We stayed for 4 nights between 2-6th December. The Hotel has a great location, we took a bus from the airport, by far the cheapest option at just 2.50 Euros. The hotel is a short walk from the bus station, ideal for the train station if you will arrive by train. It took us about 25 minuites to get to St Marks, the walk is easily negotiated and there is plenty to look at on route. Everywhere in Venice is an easily reached on foot.

We had a double superior room, the bathroom was very clean, though only a bathtub and hand held over tub shower head. The room spotless and overlooking the garden so very nice room. Lots of people have commented on the 'quality of the breakfast' neither I nor my husband would share the opinions that the breakfast is that good. We have both travelled throughout Europe a lot, we felt that breakfast was of a poor quality in terms of the food and drink it self and choice, 3 meats and two cheeses???!! Bread wasn't nice and croissants cold with no facility to warm them. Comparitivley to other Hotels I have stayed in breakfast was just OK,it did the job. It was also a bit hap hazard, you often had to find your own cutlery and plates, as this is a hotel not a bed and breakfast one would expect better service.

Reception staff were very helpful, friendly and we would recomed this hotel. In terms of VFM overall it is good.It doesn't have facilities for evening meals,not a problem as there are loads of good places to eat in Venice. There is a bar though we didn't use it so can't comment.

We went to the museums and if you plan to do that get a museum pass, it will save you money they can be purchased cheaper in adavance of your trip which we hadn't appreciated. Hope to return to Venice will use this Hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#110 of 385 in Venice
1,626 reviews
Cannaregio
Venice Times Hotel
Venice Times Hotel
#116 of 385 in Venice
66 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 385 in Venice
3,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#33 of 385 in Venice
2,237 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#86 of 385 in Venice
1,021 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#26 of 385 in Venice
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abbazia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbazia

Address: Calle Priuli dei Cavaletti 68 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Venice
#50 Family Hotel in Venice
#67 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £74 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abbazia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Abbazia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbazia Hotel Venice
Hotel Abbazia Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing