We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for a family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Ranked #54 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good option for a family”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed in a double family room, and by Venice standards it was palatial, large rooms and two bathrooms. It is hard to find rooms in Europe that accomodate four or hotels that will guarantee interconnecting rooms hence why I chose this hotel.

Hotel is well located, a five minute walk from St Marks square, and has its own little pontoon which is great for water taxi drop off. They also offer a free taxi ride to Murano which I thougt was great.

Reception staff were pleasant and helpful on all counts.

Breakfast was a bit disappointing, probably a 6-7 out of 10. Food was spread over two rooms which was a bit awkward, staff were slow to come and offer coffee or water, and slow to collect used plates and replenish supplies. Coffee was watery American style and not proper Italian coffee.

Overall it was pleasant enough but can't agree with all the other rave reviews.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelleCose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Good morning!

I'm sorry that the breakfast was not as good as you wanted. Our coffee is actually the best one you can find in the Italian market, sometime it's hard to find the same product you have in the states (as difficult as find a good spaghetti in the US!!!).
But we have a very good italian coffee! If you want an espresso (I could not begin my day without it!) you just have to ask the waiter.

I hope to have you here soon again, have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    262
    46
    11
    10
See reviews for
187
549
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We loved our room and hotel. It was a perfect location right on the Grand Canal. The only problem we had was that our A/C was not cooling off the room enough. However, I think that is more of a Italy issue then a hotel issue! Views were great from rooftop area and our room. Need to keep the blinds shut in order for the room to stay cool. So the view we had of the Grand Canal didn't get seen all that much. We had room 203. The corner room that our friends had was even more beautiful and a/c was cooler. Breakfast was good. We loved that we could call down in the morning and have coffee brought up to our room at no additional cost. They have the best coffee with steamed milk. I really miss that. The staff was very helpful with reservations to restaurants. The only other issue is that the sheets were sort of like sand paper. I like soft sheets so not sure again if that was an Italy thing or just the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gratefulmoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Buongiorno!

I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The air conditioning turn off when you open a window, this is a standard procedure (it's a non-sense to keep it on) to save the energy and preserve the environment.

I hope to have you here soon again, have a great day in the Windy City!!!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Traveling with two of my daughters, we were accommodated in the Locanda Vivaldi apartment.
As we first followed our hotel guide through a few, very close, tiny, winding passages, we happened upon our ultra charming and extraordinarily well-maintained Venetian two bedroom, two bath apartment. Everything from fabric upholstered walls to bed comfort to well-appointed bathrooms surpassed our expectations. One bedroom opened onto a canal for picturesque viewing. Air-conditioning was fantastic and very welcome in the heat of Venice in June. Hotel staff was very kind and helpful. Breakfast lovely. Would absolutely return and hope for another apartment adventure at the Locanda Vivaldi!

Room Tip: Two-bedroom apartment life is fantastic here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Buongiorno!

thanks a lot for this very kind review!
I'm very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our Apartment.

I hope to welcome you soon again, have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Amazing room with a amazing amazing view of the grand canal...we stayed there for 2 nites..n then we extended our stay by one more nite...the room is pretty cozy n nice...n if you get the room facing the main canal, u r gonna fall in love with that view...cool breeze flowing in the room all time...serene view of the canal and moon ...huge ships crossing by all time..and lot of amazing things happening around around the hotel to keep u busy and attracted all time...a definite definte stay here !!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Thank you for your very nice review!!!

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed for 6 nights at the Locada Vivaldi in May and I can't say enough about the hotel, location and staff. We were in room 302, a Junior Suite, with easy access to a wonderful terrance that, depending on the time, is a bar or restaurant. The staff is very gracious and helpful in learning about water taxis, vaporetto stops, etc. The bathroon was large and modern with plenty of room to put toiletry items out. The location of the hotel is right on the Venice Lagoon and just a short walk (over 3 bridges) to San Marco........the included breakfast is offered in 2 wonderful saloons and had some of the best scrambled eggs and fresh fruit, cereal, coldcuts, breads and pastries.....this is a lovely 27 room boutique hotel with a great Venice location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edw1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you for the great review!

I hope to see you soon again, have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Having just married, we arrived in Venice for our honeymoon and the Locanda Vivaldi did not disappoint. The hotel is perfectly located for sightseeing and our room had an amazing view across the lagoon. Staff were friendly and helpful and we very much enjoyed a meal in the Terrace Restaurant on the first evening. We hope to return again one day...

Room Tip: The superior rooms have wonderful views across the lagoon which is beautiful at any time of the day.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Suziesmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Buongiorno and Congratulation again!

I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I look forward to welcome you again soon, have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We have just returned home from our 8 day vacation in Venice at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi. We are very happy to know such an excellent address in Venice. The staff is very friendly and we felt home. The breakfast is excellent and the food in the restaurant also. The hotel is very clean. If you enter the front door from outside, you feel like coming home. The hotel suggests the genteel life in Venice. And vice versa, one step from inside through the door surrounds you with the very active life of the people working and visiting Venice. Do not forget to buy tickets for the vaporettos - the transportation ships. If you feel hot - you can for example choose line 4 to go around Venice and enjoy the windy feeling standing on the boat and watching the Venetian backdrop or line 1 or 2 to go through Canal Grande.

Room Tip: We had always front rooms with view to the Laguna with its ships and the 'tourist-river' jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiduPeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review.
I'm happy to know that you enjoy our hotel!
I hope to have you here soon again, have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,249 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#17 of 385 in Venice
1,545 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#79 of 385 in Venice
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#63 of 385 in Venice
714 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bucintoro
Hotel Bucintoro
#20 of 385 in Venice
1,324 reviews
Castello
Liassidi Palace Hotel
Liassidi Palace Hotel
#66 of 385 in Venice
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Locanda Vivaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda Vivaldi

Property: Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Address: Riva degli Schiavoni, 4152-53, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#41 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#74 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Locanda Vivaldi 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Vivaldi is a small boutique hotel facing the lagoon, just few steps from Saint Mark's Square. The location is just perfect, the view from the rooms and the rooftop terrace is simply amazing. The atmosphere of the hotel is intimate, we are the right choice for a romantic escape to Venice! And don't forget to enjoy our rooftop Bar & restaurant, you will enjoy a unique view on Saint MArk's Basin, on the Lagoon of Venice and on the life going on in Riva degli Schiavoni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Locanda Vivaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Vivaldi Venice
Locanda Vivaldi Hotel Venice
Vivaldi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing