We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Nearby Hotels
US$416
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$392
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
US$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel(Venice)
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$305
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$304
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (959)
Filter reviews
959 results
Traveller rating
597
287
51
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
597
287
51
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantgrand canalwater taxiperfect locationlagoon viewcorner roomsan giorgio maggioremark's squarelovely hotelpastriessmall hotelprivate boatst marksdoge's palacebridge of sighstop floorsuperior room
Filter
Updating list...
378 - 383 of 959 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We were recommended this hotel by a friend and stayed for a week in early May 2013. It is well situated, with good views over the lagoon. St Mark's square just a few minutes' walk away.
The buffet breakfast was excellent and we ate on the terrace a couple of times with amazing views across to St Giorgi Maggiore. The room was extremely well appointed, comfortable and spacious.
One could spend much more on a hotel in Venice but we felt the Vivaldi offered great value for money. The staff we more than happy to help us plan our days out.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WonkyHorizons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice.

Have a nice day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We knew we chose well when the water bus dropped us off and we were metres away from the doorstep! Room was great (shame we couldn't get the canal view), but they are limited. Service was exceptional, no request to hard and staff went out of the way to assist. Made use of the courtesy taxi to Murano (that stops at the hotels own launch), and their recommendations on some of the quiter areas of Venice. The terrace dinner was exceptional and the restaurant manager fantastic. Close to...Everything!

Room Tip: Book early and get the canal view
Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon.

Have a nice day,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Everything we could ask for. Great location near St Marks, on the waterfront with it's own taxi dock on the side canal. Great staff and good food. The rooftop restaurant was an excellent place for sundowners and dinner. Our room was tastefully decorated, very comfortable and definitely worth the upgrade to the waterfront room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Thank you for your very nice review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and also our rooftop restaurant.

I hope to welcome you again soon here in Venice. Have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Considering the location, view, quality of room and service – it is still one of the best places in Venice. Even in the city so much oriented towards tourists as Venice it is hard to find a hotel so strategically located, close to main attractions and with the view of the lagoon and entrance to Canale Grande. And friendly and professional staff makes every our visit as reunion with friends. This year change is own restaurant open daily for dinners. Locanda Vivaldi belongs to the chain of three hotels (Santa Chiara and Palazzo Stern, all located in different parts of the city but always at the water), there is a cooperation with benefits to the guests. For instance the chain makes own, homemade, fresh food, including bread, pasta and other products. There is a 60 years old, beautifully restored Venation motorboat, which – on certain conditions allowed by local regulations – might serve hotel clients. And the May-new is the new web page (www.locandavivaldi.it). See photos there, the views are also part of explanation of our returns to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piotr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review!
Once again, it has been a real pleasure to have you here in Venice. I look forward to welcome you again here!

Have a great day,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Hotel location: Perfect! The best in Venice. Close to the main sites (San Marco) and all water buses (including water bus to the airport) and gondolas – literally on your doorstep.

Room: We booked a standard room. Standard rooms overlook either side canal (Rio dei Greci) or the internal courtyard. I asked for the canal view (side view) and was told it was not guaranteed. I asked 2 months before the visit, so if a standard room can have the canal view for the same price I was expecting that the hotel would make more effort to give us this room. However, I do understand that this could not be guaranteed. Overall, the room was clean and pleasant. Pretty smelly when we got there but after opening a window it was well aired and no smell at all. Really small window so the room was pretty dark.

Sockets!!! European plug but it has to be really narrow, otherwise it will not fit, some adapters to UK plug have a wide plug so you would have a problem.

Bathroom: We got the room with the shower with sauna and hydro massages, but unfortunately it didn’t work. We didn’t report it as we were not that bother to use it.

Breakfast: Varied, however it was lacking some tomatoes or cucumber. Scrambled eggs and bacon a bit cold when you have a breakfast after 9:00. Nice service.

Hotel: nice service, clean, nice lobby, remember that you will be charged the local tax after your stay which is €4 per person per night. Overall: would recommend it to friends and family.

From the airport to the hotel: we took the bus ATVO (€6 per person) to Piazzale Roma and then nr 1 water bus (€7 per person). Nr 1 is a great route for sightseeing so highly recommended. Your stop would be called San Marco (San Zaccaria).

From the hotel to the airport: we took a water bus from San Marco (San Zaccaria) straight to the airport, called Alilaguna, route Blue. The cost is €15 per person. It takes about 75 minutes, pretty long, but pretty unusual way to get to the airport, so well worth it.

Water taxi from/to the airport: €110 for up to 4 people.

Gondolas: short trip (approx 40 min) costs €80 (you can negotiate to €60 but will last shorter), longer trip costs €100-€120. Just be prepared that your trip will not last long if you negotiate.

Restaurants: Some restaurants make you pay a service charge plus coperto (approx €2.5 per person) and they expect you to give a tip on top of that. Some restaurants offer ‘No service charge’ dinner.

Masks: there are loads of cheap staff. Made in China masks are plastic and cost below €10. You also can find Made in Venice masks, two types: 1. Hand made and hand painted, made from paper, you can see it is hand made as the back is pretty dirty, usually with the sticker of the venetian manufacturer (around €30); 2. Hand painted and paper machine made, cheaper than hand made.

We stayed 3 nights in Venice so if you have enough time we would recommend Lido Di Venezia. Nice, relaxing place. Drink bar on the beach, nice restaurants. So much different than busy Venice. It was a nice break to relax on the beach. You can have a nice walk in a quiet environment.


Enjoy lovely Venice!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kamila0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Buongiorno!

What a great and detailed review!!!
Thanks a lot for taking the time to write it.

A couple of notes in top of what you wrote:

1) May is one of the busiest period in Venice. That's why we have not been able to give a room on the Canal Side: all were already booked!

2) Sockets: your socket was too big because was a "shuck" plug, not european! They are not the same dimension unfortunately. Anyway we have some adapters at the reception.

3) Cucumber in may? No way!!! I will buy "plastic" for my guests!!! :o) I'm kiddin'. we don't buy them now because we are too off-season and they will not be good enough. But we have tomatoes in the kitchen, just ask the waiter!!!

4) Transfer: we now have a private boat (FREE OF CHARGE!!!) for all the guests who book directly with us. We are not allowed to go anywhere in Venice (we don't have all the license unfortunately), but maybe we will be able to fit your needs.

I think this is everything! Thanks again for your very nice review. I look forward to welcome you soon again here, have a great day!!!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews