We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing in so many ways”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Ranked #55 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing in so many ways”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We spent a weekend in Venice and like most we spent a considerable amount of time trawling the myriad of hotels in Venice. As soon as we arrived at Locanda Vivaldi we knew we made the right choice - it was perfect for us from the get-go. There was a friendly porter who helped us with our luggage as soon as we were dropped of by our water-taxi. Our check-in was quick and when we got to our room (Rm 102) - the best view awaited us from our balcony (this is really hard to top).

The breakfast spread was large and really scrumptious. Also really appreciated the warm welcome from the gentleman who worked in the breakfast room - truly service with a smile.

I loved the smell of fresh flowers and the Venetian decor of the hotel. The hotel is also very-well positioned for exploring Venice.

The concierge helped with arranging a baby-sitter for our 2 year old as well as making our dinner reservations for that evening for us with absolutely no hassle. We were also told about the free boat trip to Murano island - which we unfortunately could not take them up on as we already had a full weekend itinerary.

When we had to regrettably leave, the concierge who despite being very busy with check-outs ensured that he got our information for arranging a water taxi to the airport and stowing our luggage for when we returned later that afternoon. I also particularly appreciated that check-out was at noon - we needed the extra time to enjoy the amazing view:).

Room Tip: Room 102 has a balcony with a one in a million view over the Grand Canal - hard to top this!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vierah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcome you again soon here in Venice.
Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    257
    45
    11
    10
See reviews for
183
536
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We were here to celebrate our 25rh Anniversary... and having waded thru dozens of hotels, picked it up after reading positive reviews about this hotel in TripAdvisor. Glad that we visited Venice, and glad that we stayed in the Locanda Vivaldi with it's gorgeous view and classic Venetian ambiance.
This was undoubtedly a great choice!

Stayed : 6 wonderful Nights
Location : Not many can compare to Locanda Vivaldi. Walking distance to Bridge of Sighs and St. Marks Square and to most highlights of the city.
Connectivity : Airport - Hotel : Alilaguna water bus stops 100 yards from it ( It takes about 1 hour one way). Also very convenient to vaporetto stops.
Room : Very ornate and luxurious....with a fantastic lagoon view (Ask for Room 102). Extremely clean and well taken care of. Complimentary bottle of Prosecco waiting for us with a thoughtful note ... much appreciated after a long flight.
Breakfast buffet: There were many choices of pastries, eggs and bacon, yogurt, fruits, cheeses, cold cuts and cereal . Juice, tea and coffee. A great way to start your day before venturing out into the streets of Venice.
Service: No tea/coffee facility in the room...but whenever we ordered room - service, it appeared like magic...with a smile. Order the official Venetian drink - Spritz after a long day of sightseeing, you’d just love it. The view from the roof top restaurant ( its closed during winter... a pity ) is spectacular and very good for photography specially during the blue hour.
Fantastic housekeeping - When we returned every evening the beds were ready with chocolates on the pillows and next days weather report waiting for us. Wow.
Murano Trip : Hotel provided free water taxi to Murano.
The staff : Extremely professional, friendly, helpful and spoke English. Special mention goes to Danielle. A wonderful person always ready to help with directions or assistance... completing a perfect boutique hotel holiday. Keep up the good work!

We will definitely recommend a stay at the Locanda Vivaldi.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Ranajit7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
What a great review!!!

Thanks a lot for taking the time to write so many details. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon.
Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

For many years we have visited Venice and for a hotel location not many can compare to Locanda Vivaldi. When we last reviewed this establishment we rated it very highly, and we have no reason to feel different about this place now. Our favourite room still has the most stunning (and reasonably priced) views in the venice basin. The staff remain the same and are both excellent and attentive to clients. I would not stop anywhere else in the city.

Room Tip: Find your own favourite room and leave ours alone!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us (again!!!), and I look forward to welcome you here in vEnice in the near future.

Have a nice day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This hotel is in a great location - water bus stops 100 yards from it - it is then 3 mins from Doge's Palace, St Marks Sq, Basillica etc. Rialto area 5-10 mins away. We had a room overlooking the lagoon - rooms a bit on the small side but to be expected in Venice - breakfast lovely - gentleman looking after the kitchen a gent - beds comfy - rooftop bar looked nice but closed due to time of year - no tea\coffee facility in the room the only gripe - staff very helpful & informative - you will have no issues with this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room with Lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcome you again soon here in Venice.

Have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed at the Locanda Vivaldi for 3 nights and it was lovely. Lovely room and great breakfast. It was a pity the Restaurant was closed, this was due to it being Low season, but everything else was perfect. The staff are really helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review.
Yes the restaurant is closed during winter, unfortunately it's too cold to eat outside in the terrace! But the terrace is always open, also now.

I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice, have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We had the room with a view of the lagoon and it was so perfect! Beautiful set-up and decor and what an amazing view of the water. Overall the hotel was terrific - comfy beds, very decent-sized bathroom, great location, and excellent service. They even brought up boiling pots of water every time we wanted to make some tea for ourselves. I also highly recommend the roof even when the restaurant is not open - dad and I enjoyed some wine up there and it was beautiful at night.

Room Tip: ask for a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us, the view and the service. I hope to have the chance to welcome you again soon here in Venice.
Have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at the Vivaldi for 3 nights and have nothing but praise for this hotel. It's situation is perfect being close to St. Marks square, the water bus stops and some nice restaurants and it is within easy walking distance of the Rialto area. The rooms are large and comfortable, the breakfast offers a very good selection of hot and cold food and the staff are friendly and helpful. We would happily stay here again and would recommend it to anyone visiting Venice. Truly a delightful hotel!

Room Tip: Room 206 is on a corner and has wonderful views in more than one direction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave_shand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Buongiorno!

Thank you for this very nice review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again here.

Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#22 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#53 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#61 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#86 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#27 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bucintoro
Hotel Bucintoro
#24 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Locanda Vivaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda Vivaldi

Property: Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Address: Riva degli Schiavoni, 4152-53, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#41 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#74 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Locanda Vivaldi 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Vivaldi is a small boutique hotel facing the lagoon, just few steps from Saint Mark's Square. The location is just perfect, the view from the rooms and the rooftop terrace is simply amazing. The atmosphere of the hotel is intimate, we are the right choice for a romantic escape to Venice! And don't forget to enjoy our rooftop Bar & restaurant, you will enjoy a unique view on Saint MArk's Basin, on the Lagoon of Venice and on the life going on in Riva degli Schiavoni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Lastminute, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Locanda Vivaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Vivaldi Venice
Locanda Vivaldi Hotel Venice
Vivaldi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing