We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Nearby Hotels
US$1,146
US$923
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
US$379
US$370
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Albergo Marin(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$342
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$522
US$390
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$419
US$373
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Rialto(Venice)
US$727
US$701
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$426
US$365
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Boscolo Venezia, Autograph Collection(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$418
US$407
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sant'Antonin(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$375
US$277
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$647
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (948)
Filter reviews
948 results
Traveller rating
588
285
51
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
588
285
51
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantgrand canalwater taxiperfect locationlagoon viewcorner roomsan giorgio maggioremark's squarelovely hotelpastriessmall hotelprivate boatst marksdoge's palacebridge of sighstop floorsuperior room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 948 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was our seventh visit to Venice and the first time we stayed in Castello. The reception staff was very helpful in making dinner bookings for us in advance of our arrival -- and very friendly and helpful while we were there.

The Locanda Vivaldi’s website says public transport stops only few meters away from its entrance. But the #1 boat, the one that goes up and down the Grand Canal and tourists take most often, stops at dock A and the hotel is at dock E. And they fail to mention that there are two bridges on the way, each with about 15 steps up and 15 steps down. Try that with heavy rolling luggage and after each day of sightseeing!

We had requested a Standard room (at only $433/about 310 Euros per night, including taxes and service!) at the back of the building and it was odd -- a bedroom and, separated by the bathroom (fanless), a small room with a couch and a closet. There were two TVs, and the one in the couch room didn’t work.

We awoke the first morning with daylight streaming onto our faces. We had closed the shutters, but there was a large space between the shutter’s edge and the window frame and there were no blackout draperies. We were here for five more nights and this couldn’t be tolerated. After a good breakfast, I went to reception and told them that I couldn’t sleep because of the light. They showed me another room, on the ground floor but across a small courtyard and up about 10 steps -- larger, with a closet, a fan in the bathroom -- much nicer! The only other room in the main building was much smaller. We discussed it and decided to take the courtyard room. It was a good decision -- it was better in every way.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chandolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Buongiorno!

Thanks a lot for your very kind review.

The boat stops are several, some closer than others. Line number 1 is not the only one who come to San Marco, and not the only one who travel through the Grand Canal! I'm sorry but this information is not correct.
In any case, please keep in mind that we now have our own private boat, free of charge for all the guest who book directly with us. The service has some limitation, let us know if you need all the details!

The room we gave you at the beginning was a Classic Suite, way bigger than the standard you booked. Yes it has a separate dining room and the view is on the private courtyard.
I'm sorry for the not working TV and the shutters, it' s the first time they report us this trouble. We will fix both things asap.

I happy anyway we have been able to find a second option for you!

I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice, have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We loved this hotel, which definitely was quite a splurge for us, but worth it. The location cannot be beat, as you can walk to St Marks Square in 5 minutes, and the vaporetto stop is outside the hotel. The hotel has a private boat which they can send for you, and they did, but they did not tell us that the boat does not operate on Mondays until we tried to reserve it to check out, so we had to get a water taxi, which was 70 Euros. We could have taken the vaporetto but it is hard with luggage and I was injured (see my review of our gondola ride).

The room (302) was spacious and gorgeous - our was all red. The bathroom was nice, and the bed not quite as hard as the rest of our Italy beds. But the best part was the private balcony - I wish I was there right now! It was so amazing to have the Grand Canal right outside your door. You can get up in the morning and watch Venice come to life- incredible! The staff was pleasant, and there is a very nice small restaurant with great views as well. It is right next to room 302. They had a chilled bottle of Prosecco waiting for us, and an appetizer our first night with a Bellini or Prosecco in the restaurant. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Loved the balcony in room 302.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crimlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review! I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here for 1 night, the hotel was easy to find and from check in we knew we would have a great stay. The bedroom was beautiful and very authentic. We had a great view out of our window over the canal.
We were treated to free Apperitifs in the terrace on arrival, which was a nice touch. :)
Breakfast was enjoyable and set us up for an early morning trying to cram in seeing as much as we possibly could,
We also ate in the terraced restaurant. We were the only ones in the restaurant which gave us the waiters full attention, It was incredibly romantic having dinner with candlelight over looking the canal, just the 2 of us.
We did regret only staying for 1 night, but will definately return again.

One negative - The smell from the boats is quite strong at times, leaving an unpleasent smell when entering the room.

Note - Remember to ask for your passport on check out!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jadeSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your kind review, I'm happy you enjoyed your stay!
And I'm happy you enjoyed our restaurant.

Please remember for your next stay that we now have a private boat, FREE OF CHARGE for all those who book directly with us! This is a big plus, even if the service have some limitation.

I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice, have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This small hotel in Venice was perfect for our two night stay. We booked one room that accommodated two adults and two children. It was a tight squeeze but manageable for two nights.
The best part of the room was the small balcony that looked straight out to San Giorgio Maggiore. We sat on our balcony and could watch cruise ships, small boats and people arriving and departing via the nearby dock. It was fantastic.
The concierge/front desk in the hotel was very friendly and made everything absolutely painless.
Would we stay here again - YES!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sclemada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Buongiorno!

Thank you for this very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice!
Please remember that we now have a private boat FREE OF CHARGE for all those who book us directly. Don't miss this opportunity!

Warmest regards,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is the actual house that Vivaldi lived in, the walls are padded and covered in silk, the bedrooms are very nice with plenty of Murano glass. The location is superb but it does not really feel like a Hotel.
Breakfast is minimalistic in a covered courtyard, the bar was closed as was the small rooftop restaurant, apparently out of season yet at the same time as Venice Carnival.
Even though the few staff were friendly and helpful there was no room service.

Room Tip: Ask for front facing or one of the side rooms towards the front
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter745_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Buongiorno,

Thank you for your very nice review.
The breakfast is served in two connecting rooms, one is the one you mentioned and the other one has the view on the small canal. Both of them have a buffet with different things.

The room service is always available during the year.

Also the rooftop is always open (also during Carnival which is winter). If you want to have something served there you just have to ask.

During the wintertime the bar move downstair (due to the weather). It's always open, we never close even one day.

I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice.

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews