We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Nearby Hotels
US$416
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$392
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
US$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$400
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$373
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal(Venice)
US$509
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$328
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$305
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$304
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (959)
Filter reviews
959 results
Traveller rating
597
287
51
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
597
287
51
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantgrand canalwater taxiperfect locationlagoon viewcorner roomsan giorgio maggioremark's squarelovely hotelpastriessmall hotelprivate boatst marksdoge's palacebridge of sighstop floorsuperior room
Filter
Updating list...
278 - 283 of 959 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Be sure to book through hotel site (they include private water taxi transfer from train station - a huge savings). Visit the top floor patio/restaurant, it's covered and spectacular! walking distance to everywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for superior rooms facing the grand canal. Room 102 (quad) has a charming mini balcony perfect for standing and watching the world go by!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToddinFlemington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Buongiorno!

Thank you for the very kind review. I confirm that if you book directly with us you can use our boat free of charge!

I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice, have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The room we had at this hotel was one of my favorites in Europe. We had a spectacular view of the canals and a balcony that was very nice. The service was good, but the staff at the front desk seemed a little stuck up and too uptight about everything. The restaurant on the rooftop is excellent, I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Meelimoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Buongiorno!

thank you for your very nice review.
I'm happy you enjoyed the room and the view. I'm sorry if the staff behavior has not been as you expected. We will look into this matter.

Have a nice day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a well located and very comfortable hotel, well worth staying in particularly if you manage to get a room with a view. It is also a more affordable option then some of the other hotels in the area so a good choice if you want to be close to st marks square but not pay for 5 stars. The staff are helpful and breakfast although basic is good. The room itself was clean and the hotel had some nice touches such as a bottle of processco on my husbands birthday which was a lovely surprise. Everyone at the hotel makes you feel welcomed and do their best to make your stay in this beautiful city memorable. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Request one with a view of the lagoon and you will feel like you are in a movie - spectacular!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotel008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice. Have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a wonderful room in this perfectly located hotel. It's right on the Grand Canal and within steps of everything you want to see. Lovely outdoor patio on the 3rd floor with a nice view of everything. Nice large bathroom. I would give this 5 stars except that I agree with some of the comments about the staff at the reception desk. The 2 men we encountered during our stay were very aloof and standoffish. One of the men looked as if he had never cracked a smile in his life. So that's unfortunate. Also, we made the mistake of eating dinner there one night because we didn't feel like fighting the crowds and because the view really is lovely. The food, however, is pretty bad. So don't eat here if you can help it.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back, which was probably quieter than one in the front.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NCTravelerPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your review!

I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us, despite the behavior of a couple of person at the front desk.
And I'm sorry also if you didn't find the food good enough, We will double check the issue with the chef.

I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice, have a nice day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Another hotel recommended through our travel agent using Classic Collections. Oh wow.... where to start. Well I'll start by saying the New Yorker review is unfair and basically daft!!!.. read on for why.

We travelled to Venice by cruise ship and were met by CCs representative Julia who was a delight and full of useful stuff for our 3 nights stay in Venice. This was to be a highlight of our holiday and my wife was so excited to visit Venice for the first time. The budget had been extended to stay at a quality hotel in Venice to make it special. Our transfer was by private water taxi and it was a brilliant way to start our trip. We pulled up at the hotels private landing feeling much like Lord and Lady Muck to be escorted into the magnificent front area.

Greeted by the staff and provided with refreshments we awaited our room (it was early in the morning so only to be expected) but our luggage was looked after by the porter service and then brought to the room later.

Our room was a suite really, and this is where I think the NYer is daft, it had a bedroom, good!, a nice airy bathroom, good, (even if it didn't have a fan) and a DRESSING ROOM, excellent!! Now I have travelled in the US so the layout might be a little quirky but COME ON the hotel was built in the 17th Century and they can't knock it down and build a modern monstrosity just to please Grumpy from New York.....oh please. The air con was more than adequate, so heaven knows what a fan would be used for! The toiletries were replaced every day and the soap is in my travel bag for future use. Shower plenty warm enough and a nicely designed space for our visit throughout. OK the tele was a bit duff with limited channels, but I had come to see Venice not watch the box!

The terrace has views over the Grand Canal which are fantastic and the complementary cocktail a great way to unwind looking at the sunset....remember closed on Monday!

One thing to mention is the Wifi - yes it was free, good, but there are issues with with the connection in the room. It was sorted, but you need a bit of patience to log on the first time. Again reception were very helpful in sorting it out. Actually the staff were all very helpful and would go out of their way to arrange stuff for all the guests.

They do have a free private taxi service to Murano, just remember there is no such thing as a free ride.... you alight by the shop and factory that cover the cost of the taxi, but an hour in the shop seeing how the glass is made is a small price to pay......you don't have to buy and there was no pressure to either, which was nice. I think if you spend enough they'll even get you a taxi back, but then you'll miss what else goes on in Murano and a ride on the Vaporretto (the public water taxis).

Breakfast was continental although eggs and bacon were available, so a bacon butty was a good start to the day. What more could you want, after all why visit Italy and not enjoy Italian cuisine at the (very)many restaurants and eateries available. I think we even found a McDonalds for NYer Grump walking round, but there were far better places to eat as we found.

The public water buses stop outside the hotel - NOT EVERY WATER TAXI - but enough to get to most places. Yes the No1 is over 2 bridges but then it does stop at St Marks square, so that's how close you are to the main bits of Venice. Use your intelligence and look at their routes and you can land outside. Or spend a bit more and have a water taxi to yourself and be Lord and Lady of the Manor, if only in your mind.

Loved it and would recommend.

Room Tip: Back rooms are quiet with limited views over the interior courtyard. Front rooms overlook the bridge and canals, so use the shutters if you're shy!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OriginalMazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review!

I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to have the chance to welcome you again here in Venice. Have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews