We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than exceeded my expecations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Ranked #54 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Southern California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“More than exceeded my expecations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

My husband, my two teens and I stayed here for three nights in early June and found the hotel to be charming, very well located and a comfortable place to find refuge from the huge crowds in Venice. We had connecting rooms with a view of the canal and a terrace with a view of the open water. Our terrace was a shady and relaxing place to enjoy a bottle of Proseco or to just watch the world go by.
The rooms were very clean and well cared for and the bathrooms spacious and modern. The a/c worked well.
Views from the rooftop terrace were breathtaking and the bartender very friendly and attentive.
Breakfast was served in two cute rooms crammed with too many small tables that made the already hot room seem way too crowded. The food was fresh and delicious with the best hot chocolate I've ever had.
The Vivaldi has its own private dock for water taxis that made it very convenient for arrivals and departures.
My only criticism was that the two concierges were impatient and seemed bored when answering our many questions.
We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ochw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, 6 July 2009
Thank you for your kind feedback!
I'm sure that we will improve those smaller details befero you will be back again here in Venice!

Should you have any other suggestion do not hesitate to contact me, warmest regards!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    256
    44
    11
    10
See reviews for
182
535
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
211 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

Yes, you can stay off the Grand Canal for less but also for a whole lot more. This is a old standard, small hotel right smack on the Grand Canal. Your front door is right across the walkway from a Vaporetto stop, very close to the Bridge of Sighs, 1/2 "block" to San Marco, etc etc.
Typically small-ish rooms but not matchbook size and very well appointed. The breakfast was terrific and the staff, for the most part, was very attentive and helpful.
I'm VERY picky and this hotel was perfect for me and my teenage daughter.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, 6 July 2009
Thank you for your feedback!
I hope to see you soon again here.

Have a nice day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

Wow- what more can I say except thankyou Locanda Vivaldi for making our anniversary perfect. We had a corner room wih a lagoon view it was superb. The terrace for evening drinks "what a view." Breakfasts lovely. All the staff we met were friendly and polite. so I would hihgly reccommend this hotel. We will be back.

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ThewrightsManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, 24 June 2009
Dear Friend,

thanks a lot for your feedback. I'm really happy to know that you are so enthusiastic of your stay with us! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

Warmest regards,


Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2009

Stayed here for our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. It was very easy to find arriving at the San Zaccaria stop just down from St Marks Square, not far to walk with the cases.
Staff were very good,room was nice but bathroom a bit small.It was very expensive but so is everything in Venice. Would love to come back to Venice and to this hotel but not sure that we would spend that money again. It is a good choice for a special occassion.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilesopito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, 24 June 2009
Dear Friend,

first of all congratulation for your Ruby Wedding Anniversary!!! I'm proud that you choosed our hotel to celebrate it.

You are right when you say that Venice is expensive, that's for everybody (venetian also!!!).

I give you a suggestion for your next trip here. If you choose to travel during the winter (or also during July - August) you will save A LOT of money! During those periods we have several special offers.

I hope to see you soon again here, thanks again and have a nice day!


Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encino, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2009

I have stayed at this property twice. The first time was with a friend and the whole time I was wishing I was here with my significant other. The second time I came was with my husband.
There is absolutely not one thing I could find about this place that would be negative. The rooms are gorgeous, the views remarkable and location can't be beat. The breakfast in the morning is delicious and the staff there is friendly and very accomodating. (especially to visitors from USA). I have also stayed at the Danieli and I didn't enjoy it as much as I did there. Danieli is just too touristy and pricey.

I don't suggest this hotel if you are traveling with children. Its just too beautiful and romantic and the whole time you will be wishing that you had left them at hom

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2Travel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, 3 June 2009
Dear Friend,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel!
I'm very happy to know that you enjoyed the time you spent with us.
I'm just a little sad for those children you want to leave home...

:o)))

I'm kiddin'! You don't need to leave them home, we can find a babysitter!!!

I hope to see you soon again, warmest regards.

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

My family and I recently spent 2 nights at this warm and welcoming hotel in Venice. We reserved one standard double room and the Junior Suite with the large terrace. From the moment of our arrival at the hotel, the staff was gracious and helpful. They provided excellent recommendations for off-the-beaten path dining and shopping options. The rooms were clean and elegantly furnished. The hotel itself was also clean and well-appointed. Breakfast was served in two charming rooms located near the back of the hotel. There was a good selection of food and the staff was always quick to serve beverages and re-fill empty plates. The hotel's location is also perfect. It is close enough to St Mark's Square while still being far enough away to avoid some of the crowds right around the square. Two added benefits of this hotel are the rooftop terrace which overlooks the lagoon and the beautiful walkway in front of the hotel which is particularly nice in the evening when most of the day-time tourists have left the area for the day.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveljunkieFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, 29 May 2009
Dear Friend,

thank you for your kind feedback! I'm happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We always try to do our best to accomplish any request of our guest. Should you have any suggestion to improve our service please send me an email!

You are right when you say that our terrace is a big plus! It's quite unique in that area because from there you can see everything from Saint Mark Square Columns to San Giorno Island, Giardini della Biennale and even Lido!!!
I inform you also that now we have a restaurant on the terrace, Prete Rosso. It's an exclusive service for the guests of the hotel!!!
The restaurant is seasonal and offers a good selection of fish based traditional dishes, made just with the fresh things that come from the market. You need to try it!

I hope to see you soon again, have a nice day!


Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Mids, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

We have stayed in Venice several times and this is one of the nicest hotels we have been fortunate to stay in. We visited for the New Year festivites and were not disappointed.

Prior to the check in the staff were extremely helpful, happy to correspond by telephone. The hotel is ideally located with stunning views of San Giorgio Maggiore and minutes from St Mark's Square. The bedroom was lovely - furnishings that were typically Venetian and extremely clean and well tended. My only small criticism would be that we couldn't order coffee or food after a certain time in the evening and the breakfast room was rather small and cold. But those features really did not affect our stay.

Venice is a wonderful place and this hotel fits the culture, ambience and history of the surrounding area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially those looking for a memorable, romantic and cultural excursion.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiksagoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, 29 May 2009
Dear Friend,

thank you for your feedback. I'm ahappy that you enjoyed your holiday!

I'm sorry if you find that our Breakfast Room was too small and cold. We can't make it bigger but for sure we will increase the temperature of the heating next winter!!!

Concerning the room service, it usually works from 7:00 in the morning until 23:30 in the evening. We will try to extend it a little bit.

Should you have any other suggestion please do not hesitate to contact me, warmest regards!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#21 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#49 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#57 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#87 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#23 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bucintoro
Hotel Bucintoro
#20 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Locanda Vivaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda Vivaldi

Property: Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Address: Riva degli Schiavoni, 4152-53, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#41 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#74 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Locanda Vivaldi 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Vivaldi is a small boutique hotel facing the lagoon, just few steps from Saint Mark's Square. The location is just perfect, the view from the rooms and the rooftop terrace is simply amazing. The atmosphere of the hotel is intimate, we are the right choice for a romantic escape to Venice! And don't forget to enjoy our rooftop Bar & restaurant, you will enjoy a unique view on Saint MArk's Basin, on the Lagoon of Venice and on the life going on in Riva degli Schiavoni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Lastminute, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Locanda Vivaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Vivaldi Venice
Locanda Vivaldi Hotel Venice
Vivaldi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing