We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad to worse!”
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Florida
Ranked #237 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 28 June 2013

So, we arrived at Hotel Florida yesterday afternoon. The only good thing about this hotel is the close proximity to the train station. The lady who greeted us, appeared to be friendly enough- however, before she could actually check us in the hotel phone rang- she said she had to take the call as it was 'very important' she said it would be no more than 5 minutes and for us to wait upstairs. We waited upstairs for over 10 minutes and after we heard her hang up- we went back down. Just as we got to the counter she proceeded to make more 'important' phone calls- so 25 minutes later we were checked in. The hotel had a very strange smell- it may have been from the woman mopping the carpet! The room was tiny and in awful condition. There was apparently air conditioning but it only made a loud noise and appeared to put more hot air into the room, rather than cool it down. The shower took a good 5 minutes of running it to Warm up- and then it just trickled out. In the room there was barely enough room for us and our 2 suitcases. We couldn't possibly imagine spending a second night in this hotel so we cut our stay in venice short and only stayed 1 night. We also chose this hotel originally as we wanted somewhere close to the train staton- which it was and also as it had WIFI- however the wifi was not working and they could not fix it. When we finally checked out of the hotel their eftpos facilities were also not working- after urging us to then get cash (which we refused) they took an imprint of our card. Overall, this hotel was awful- however Venice was lovely.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Roseforster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
floridaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Dear guest,
We are sorry you didn't appreciate our hotel , probably wasn't what you were supposing to have or probably wasn't what your agency sold to you.
As you can see in all the review we do have a very helpful and friendly staff, so i can truly say that the timing you report in your note for the check in was distorted from your tiredness , the smell you perfectly described it's part of the low tide, Venice is a city over the lagoon, we do have channels everywhere and sometimes a bad smell cames up.
The room you booked was a budget one ( and we do have only one budged room in all the hotel ) , not as big as a classic but perfectly confortable for three people...
Internet ..... well we had a problem with the provider and there was a service hiccups , due to some undefined problems ( very frustrating ) but in the lobby as well as in the breakfast room the service was always guaranteed.

All in all we are a two star hotel and we can say ( just because our guests says that ) we do are over the average of the same range !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Florida
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

This hotel is really good value, very cheap by Venice standards.
Here are the pros:
- extremely close to train station (this is very helpful, not to carry luggage through all the streets of Venice and on vaporetto)
- very cheap
- close to main vaporetto
- good staff (very helpful in everything)
- clean rooms

cons:
- poor wifi connectivity (when we were there, we were never able to get wifi to work)
- tiny outdated bathroom (my wife did not like the bidet being in the shower area, thought it was unhygenic)

Overall I would recommend as a very good value, with excellent location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
floridaVenezia, Direttore at Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear Guest,

on behalf of the whole staff let me thank you for your nice review about our hotel.

We are always glad to know that our guests enjoyed their stay.

We really wish to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

If you want to be close to all transport, this is the hotel.I think this hotel is the closest one to the railway station and main bus terminus. If you walk from bus terminus past the train station, it is the first alley you will find.± 20m past railway station.
There are no lifts and know one is going to help with your suitcases.Rooms are neat and clean. But the location is terrific, very glad we used this hotel. The water ferry is ± 50m away.Shops the same.Breakfast was also very nice.Staff helpful.

Room Tip: If you are not strong enough to carry suitcases. First floor.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
floridaVenezia, Direttore at Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear Guest,

all the staff would like to thank to you for your good review about our hotel.

We really feel glad that you enjoyed your stay in Venice and that you liked our Hotel's location, room and staff.

We really wish to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed 2 nights and back again for another 2 nights after cruising. Great location, everything are within walking distance. Staff are very helpful and very nice. Breakfast was very nice, choice of coffee, cappuccino, cafe latte, tea and we won't forget the wonderful croissants. The nice woman who serves breakfast always has a smile even when one guest dropped his bowl of cereal. She cleaned up the mess with a smile.
Thank you Martina and Emmanuel for your help during our stay.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank venice2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
floridaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for your appreciation, we are proud our clients have good memories of Venice and our hotel.
We hope to welcome you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed with friends earlier this month. It was my first visit to Venice.
I found the hotel rather cramped, it was a good job that we had left our big suitcases at our main hotel in Torbole, as we would never have got them up the second flight of stairs. There is a sign saying "Bar" right by reception and pointing into the dining room. Despite this, there was no bar. When we queried it, the Receptionist said they had no barman, but he did offer us a bottle of wine (very dry white wine) from behind where the bar would have been. There was wifi in our room, the password to which was given when we arrived.
There is very little space in the dining room at breakfast, and the hotel seemed to have more guests that they are used to as there was not enough space to fit every one in - one group took one look at the full dining hall, and decided to go out for breakfast instead.
The bath had to be run for nigh on 10 minutes before any hint of hot water came through. There was no pressure behind it, so we never even tried using the shower.
The breakfast was plentiful, and stood you in good stead for a day exploring Venice. The Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and gave us clear directions to places (along with a small mini map of Venice).
Would I stay here again? That would depend on who I was with. As stated previously, there is no Bar, so nowhere to sit, relax with a drink (be it a lemonade, Coke or even a tea/coffee) after exploring Venice all day. There arent even any tea/coffee making facilities in the room, so you cant relax there either, and our room only had a single chair, which meant sitting on the bed.

Room Tip: The stairs up to the second floor are narrow and steep, not easy to negotiate if you have more than...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jakx1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
floridaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Dear Sir,
what should i have to say...you're complaining about the BAR in a city like Venice, you choose to stay in a two star hotel, you should have come in the Danieli, over there there is a wonderful roof garden with a bar with a large variety of scotch, long drink any kind of alcool you need....your rating is inappropriate .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We just back from stay at this hotel, which is in a brilliant location, so close to train station, and so easy to find. Staff were very helpfull and efficient, and spoke english, and were extremely informative and genuinely interested in their guests requests.
All sights in Venice are easily within walking distance from this hotel, so are the water taxis. Our room was lovely, very spacious and in keeping with Venice. Breakfast was a lovely feast of beautiful Italian meats, cheese, bread and the most wonderful croissants and jam, with the usual cereals, yhogurt, fruit. I preferred this being served, than the usual "self service" line up.

Room Tip: our room was no 16
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane4pat1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
floridaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Thank you very much for your appreciation, we all work to let you have a memorable stay in our Hotel in the most beautiful city of the world.
Hope to welcome back you soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon for two nights. The hotel was simple and in a good location to the train station and water taxis.

The room was VERY tiny and had the worst bed of our entire 3 week honeymoon. It felt like we were sleeping on a cot. The hotel sits on an alley which can get very loud at night and a church is very close by where bells ring at 700 am. I think I would have been 20x happier if a better bed would have been placed in the room.

The service of the hotel was marginal. When we had a question the front desk attendant was on his phone and never got off. We asked the front desk to help us make a phone call about one of our tours and he said he couldn't do that for us that we needed to go use our room phone with a service fee.

The breakfast was marginal with fruit, cereal, and bread.

I would not stay here again or recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
floridaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Dear Clients,
Thank you for your review, we are sorry you found our room tiny and the bed inside the worst of your honeymoon, we change mattresses every year or at maximum every two year, the room in which you were had the change this year, but i can understand that in honeymoon you would like to have something simply astonishing....the room is a normal size, if you check what our guest use to say, they're usually happy...then ther's the one like you .
Breakfast it's absolutely not marginal but plenty of food except you came after breakfast time, in this case you have to settle of what you find .
Our staff is our strength , we take very much care of the kindness, courtesy and education of our employers , an answer like the one you described it's unacceptable except if the applicant doesn't use the same courtesy and politeness....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#264 of 384 in Venice
814 reviews
Cannaregio
Dolomiti Hotel
Dolomiti Hotel
#263 of 384 in Venice
308 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#318 of 384 in Venice
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#197 of 384 in Venice
952 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Hotel Atlantide
Hotel Atlantide
#342 of 384 in Venice
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Address: Calle Priuli Ai Cavaleti Cannaregio 106, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £51 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Florida 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Venice
Florida Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing