We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical, Extremely Friendly, Great Location - will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magical, Extremely Friendly, Great Location - will be back”
Reviewed 15 March 2011

In addition to a great location, fantastic breakfast room and excellent service, get used to the (at first) slightly offbeat experience of everyone in the hotel calling you by your first name. It's superb. We have not been to a hotel with more personal, genuine, friendly and top class service. Any requests for information are dealt with immaculately. And as for the location....

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair_Alex_Fraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,130
    76
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
182
905
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2011

I booked this hotel for my wifes 40th Birthday as a result of the Trip Advisor Reports. I was determined not to book somewhere we could be let down on our first visit to Venice and all our expectations were surpassed. Not a big Hotel but loads of personality and right close to where everything is going on but quiet at the same time. We stayed in the Junior Suite with double doors opening straight out onto the Grand Canal - amazing - if you like the water and want to watch the Venice world go by on the Grand Canal whilst sitting back in totally comfortable surroundings you will love this room and hotel. The staff - Mattheo, Bruno and all others were fantastic and you could not ask for better service. The hotel is very personal and the staff do greet you by your names all the time but it is not "in your face" or without sincerity. Also, if you have not been before you must arrive in Venice by the water taxi - drops you right to the Hotel! Genuinely the best hotel experience we have had.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teeee4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
179 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Thanks to all the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor we booked a stay at this hotel (room 109 also based on reviews) during Carnival last weekend. What can I say except that I can't imagine ever staying at a hotel I like better.

The hotel staff we spoke with including Oliver, Thomas and the owner, Matteo, were all extremely courteous, gracious and helpful.

Our room was on the ground level and overlooked the Grand Canal right next to the Rialto Bridge. Since I have not yet come across a more beautiful place in all of my travels, the perfection of this hotel location, the staff, and room allowed me to enjoy Venice to it's fullest. My husband and I spent a sunny Saturday afternoon drinking wine on a patio off room 109, looking at the Rialto bridge and watching gondolas pass by with all the Carnival crowds. Life does not get better.

Although there was quite a bit of nightlife the thick windows and shutters blocked out noise and made it easy to get a good nights sleep. The room was very spacious (although we spent most of our time on the patio) and the bathroom was luxurious.

When I return to Venice, I will be staying at the Al Ponte Antico.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmcareer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Our room opened up on the canal which was truly amazing. Everything with the room was perfect. The bathroom is a little small which didn't bother us. What really sets this hotel apart from others is the amazing service. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zepfville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for part of our vacation in Italy. The breakfast was very good, and the hospitality was fantastic! All of the hotel employee's on all of the shifts were great. The fact the know your name's makes you feel even more welcome. We would definitely stay here again, and we plan to!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bergerman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

This was the last stop on my honeymoon, and I booked primarily because of the wonderful reviews here. Those reviews were definitely accurate!

Our trip was a bit of a hoot because it was in the midst of the acqua alta season in Venice, and, indeed, we experienced a bit of it at the hotel, since our room was on the ground floor. On the evening when the waters had risen high enough to flood the floor adjacent to our room (please note that our actual room NEVER flooded, as it was ramped approximately 8-14 inches above the floor of the corridor leading to the patio by the Grand Canal beyond), the absolutely WONDERFULLY gracious evening doorman (bellman?) had set up a platform (akin to those set up in St. Mark's for the high water) so that we didn't have to wade into our room. He even insisted on taking a picture of us on the platform!

Everyone at the hotel really is incredibly nice. And they do make a point of knowing your name! (Though, with only a few rooms in the former palazzo, that's not such an extraordinary feat.)

But it is precisely the level of care that is afforded to the staff by virtue of the palazzo being so small that creates the wonderfully homey environment that many here have raved about. Everyone really DOES seem invested in making sure you have the trip that you'd like to have!

For our part, we asked for a restaurant recommendation every evening (almost all of which were excellent) and asked the evening doorman/bellman to prepare at least 1 "spritz" for both of us every night. We enjoyed these each day on the lovely patio (these are VERY hard to come be in Venice!) overlooking the Grand Canal, and were photographed CONSTANTLY by folks in water taxis, shuttles and gondollas going past. Definitely a fun experience!

One thing that's particularly nice about the location of the hotel, apart from being centrally located by the Rialto bridge, of course, is that it is in an alley off of the INCREDIBLY crowded street that bounds the Coin department store -- the only department store in Venice. It's an incredible relief to leave that crowded thoroughfare and enter the tiny alley (smelling delightfully of the bakery that is apparently located therein) leading to the hotel at the Canal's edge.

Truly, this hotel deserves all of the accolades it's received on this site.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IreneMarried2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sale
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

We have just returned from a fantastic stay in Venice. From the minute we arrived by water taxi at this hotel we were made to feel that we had arrived to stay with friends in a very special place. There is not one thing that is too much trouble for anyone here. We have travelled to many hotels in many places but have never encountered such nice people.
We had read all of the reviews and were sure it couldn't be that good but believe me it is.
We were fortunate enough to have room 108 , the suite overlooking The Grand Canal. I still can not believe the view and the atmosphere you can feel from the canal.
Breakfast is everything you have read from reviews and more.
We are definitely going back to Venice and would only ever stay here,
Many thanks again to all at the hotel for a trip of a lifetime!!.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meotin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Hotel Canal Grande
#12 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#3 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Property: Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing