We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Phenomenal!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Started our trip here and it couldn't have been better! The location on the Grand Canal very near Rialto Bridge is the best. Grab a bottle of wine, sit on the balcony in the evening and watch the gondolas and boats on the Grand Canal...magical! Matteo and the whole team made our stay extra special with their lovely welcome, tremendous hospitality and terrific service! Just wish we had been there longer...guess there is always next time!

Room Tip: Suite on water level, open window and take in view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melliott1418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

835 - 841 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2011

thanks again to all the team at Al Ponte Antico. The warm welcome, (water taxi to private dock at the hotel and then welcomed by the team), and the excellent service (thanks for looking after us so well from wonderful breakfast on the balcony, to pre dinner drinks and of course your recommendations and bookings for dinner - all three restaurants were wonderful)
This hotel is in an excellent location, with a picturesque balcony over looking the grand canal right - excellent base to explore this beautiful city.
And the staff feel like friends.
thanks again - hopefully we will be back soon (and definately looking forward to visiting your new hotel in Tuscany next year.) x

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hermionemccullough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I'll just add my accolades to all the others piled up here on TA. I have to thank previous reviewers for their input, or we never would have found this small gem. The location right on the grand canal is awesome, and the Rialto bridge location is just the icing on the cake. If you're a light sleeper, make sure to request a garden view room toward the back, as the grand canal is kind of like Bourbon Street in New Orleans.... it never really quiets down. The staff could not possibly have been nicer or more helpful.... the one thing we wanted was some great spaghetti alle vongole (clams), and they sent us to Antico Dolo, a small, 12 table restaurant nearby. We were the only tourists there!!! Gotta love chowing down with the locals on some killer Napoli clams!!

Room Tip: get a garden view if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pcdfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

where to begin,
this hotel has captured the essence of its surroundings through impeccable service. customized guest experience is its strength. if you plan a trip to venice this is it look no further.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrBBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Wonderful experience, beginning with directions to the hotel's location from Rialto Vaparreto stop through the cobblestone, winding streets, up and over a bridge or two! Thank you, Oliver, for warm welcome! Beautiful, spacious room with large bathroom, comfortable bed. Only down-side was interior view without adequate sunlight. However, that was easily remedied by enjoying breakfast and leisure afternoons on the terrace with full view of the Rialto Bridge and all the activity on the Grand Canal. Delicious breakfast, outstanding service throughout. Location is convenient to pastry shops, gelato, restaurants, and a very old pink church! Walk anywhere from here. Magical!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelforFun17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

I was at Al Ponte Antico Hotel with my husband for Easter Holidays a couple of years ago and I just can not forget the great there. Mateo and his crew were just great! Giving hints on where to go and where to eat, we got the most out of Venice. In the end of the stay I wonder how I could live without Mateo´s breakfast! Can not praise it enough!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fkmaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

This boutique hotel is in a great location, has great spacious rooms with views of the grand canal, provides a great balcony overlooking the rialto bridge where you can have breakfast and enjoy a late afternoon drink. However, what really stands it apart is the level of service provided by the staff. Every member of staff was extremely attentive and friendly. Nothing was too much effort for them. I spend a lot of time in hotels, but have never received better service.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanS68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 384 in Venice
1,947 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#4 of 384 in Venice
803 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
3,783 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#12 of 384 in Venice
2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £220 - £441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing