We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect boutique hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect boutique hotel!”
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Beautiful boutique hotel with outstanding service. Quiet rooms and great location. This is the first small boutique hotel my wife has ever loved. The bar stayed open until 3am just for us to talk with our friends! Can't wait for their new Tuscany property to open!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bookcruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,161
    77
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
187
928
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We just returned from our trip and had an amazing time. We DID NOT want to leave. Thank you to everyone at Al Ponte Antico. Their service was superb. The rooms were very comfortable. There was absolutely nothing to complain about. We had a complimentary breakfast on our balcony every morning. Our dinner arrangements were also made by the staff at the front desk. We are planning our next getaway there for 2012 and we want to bring our entire family this time. Thank you again for a great vacation.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KKgrundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This little jewel can be seen from the Grand Canal as you head toward the Bridge of Sighs. And sigh you will when you stay here. The staff, including both owner/manager brothers of the family, are charming and welcoming beyond words. They ALL know your name by the time you have walked in the door. I spent more time on the balcony of this hotel watching the canal traffic with a glass of wine than I did exploring Venice during the day. What a beautiful hotel and worth every penny of the price.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deb194960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Al Ponte Antico was the first place my husband and I stayed during our honeymoon in Italy. It was the perfect choice! The view of the grand canal and Rialto Bridge was unbeatable, and we spent almost every evening in Venice sitting on the balcony outside watching the boats go by. The decor of the Al Ponte is also breathtaking - from the restored ancient wooden ceilings, to the Murano glass chandeliers, to the fine art on the walls - no expense was spared. Between the buffet and the made-to-order eggs and crepes, the breakfasts we had at Al Ponte were the best we had during our honeymoon. The bar was complementary and open 24/7. The service at Al Ponte was also exceptional, providing recommendations and helping us make reservations whenever we wanted. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Venice, especially those on their honeymoon or looking to make their stay extra memorable.
And a word to the wise for anyone going to Venice for the first time - you need to wander down some of the smaller alleys to find the entrance to the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Krissy042911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Started our trip here and it couldn't have been better! The location on the Grand Canal very near Rialto Bridge is the best. Grab a bottle of wine, sit on the balcony in the evening and watch the gondolas and boats on the Grand Canal...magical! Matteo and the whole team made our stay extra special with their lovely welcome, tremendous hospitality and terrific service! Just wish we had been there longer...guess there is always next time!

Room Tip: Suite on water level, open window and take in view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melliott1418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

thanks again to all the team at Al Ponte Antico. The warm welcome, (water taxi to private dock at the hotel and then welcomed by the team), and the excellent service (thanks for looking after us so well from wonderful breakfast on the balcony, to pre dinner drinks and of course your recommendations and bookings for dinner - all three restaurants were wonderful)
This hotel is in an excellent location, with a picturesque balcony over looking the grand canal right - excellent base to explore this beautiful city.
And the staff feel like friends.
thanks again - hopefully we will be back soon (and definately looking forward to visiting your new hotel in Tuscany next year.) x

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hermionemccullough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I'll just add my accolades to all the others piled up here on TA. I have to thank previous reviewers for their input, or we never would have found this small gem. The location right on the grand canal is awesome, and the Rialto bridge location is just the icing on the cake. If you're a light sleeper, make sure to request a garden view room toward the back, as the grand canal is kind of like Bourbon Street in New Orleans.... it never really quiets down. The staff could not possibly have been nicer or more helpful.... the one thing we wanted was some great spaghetti alle vongole (clams), and they sent us to Antico Dolo, a small, 12 table restaurant nearby. We were the only tourists there!!! Gotta love chowing down with the locals on some killer Napoli clams!!

Room Tip: get a garden view if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pcdfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,886 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 385 in Venice
3,637 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#4 of 385 in Venice
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Property: Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing